Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Initial Environmental Assessment on the Trade in Services Agreement (TISA)

The Government of Canada is participating in negotiations of the Trade in Services Agreement (TISA).  Further to the notice of intent to conduct an environmental assessment of the TISA which was published in the Canada Gazette on March 16, 2013, an Initial Environmental Assessment of TISA has now been completed by Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade, investment and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, services negotiators endeavour to consider, when appropriate, potential environmental effects of trade negotiations. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work. This Initial Environmental Assessment seeks to consider the potential effects of new trade in services in Canada that may result from the TISA.

Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are prepared pursuant to the 2010 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

All interested parties are invited to submit their comments on the Initial Environmental Assessment of the TISA by Wednesday July 16, 2014.

Contributions can be sent by email, fax or mail to:

Environmental Assessment Consultations – Trade in Services Agreement
Trade Agreements and NAFTA Secretariat (TAS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-992-9392
Email: EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca

Related Links

Évaluation environnementale initiale de l’Accord sur le commerce des services (ACS)

Le gouvernement du Canada participe aux négociations de l’Accord sur le commerce des services (ACS). Suite à l’avis d’intention de procéder à une évaluation environnementale de l’ACS, publié dans la Gazette du Canada le 16 mars 2013, le Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement a achevé une  Évaluation environnementale initiale l’ACS.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à promouvoir le développement durable. Des politiques en matière de commerce, d’investissement et d’environnement qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à la réalisation de cet objectif. À cette fin, les négociateurs pour les services s’efforcent d’examiner, lorsqu’il est approprié, les effets environnementaux potentiels des négociations commerciales. Les évaluations environnementales des négociations commerciales sont essentielles à ce travail. Cette Évaluation environnementale initiale cherche à prendre en compte les effets au Canada des nouveaux échanges commerciaux de services qui pourraient découler de l’ACS.

Les évaluations environnementales des négociations commerciales sont élaborées en vertu de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010.

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire parvenir leurs commentaires sur l’évaluation environnementale initiale de l’ACS d’ici mercredi le 16 Juillet 2014.

Vous pouvez envoyer votre contribution par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes:

Évaluation environnementale – Accord sur le commerce des Services
Secrétariat des ententes et de l'ALÉNA (TAS)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Téléc. : 613-992-9392
Courriel : EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca

Liens connexes: