North American free trade agreement (NAFTA) - Resources

This page serves as a toolkit for Canadians interested in learning more about the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the modernization of the Agreement.

Frequently asked questions

Select the question below to learn more about NAFTA:

Factsheet: NAFTA

NAFTA’s track record is one of economic growth and middle class job creation, both here in Canada and across North America. It also paved the way for unprecedented economic integration between partners, creating a platform where companies from Canada, the U.S. and Mexico make things together rather than simply sell to each other.

Highlights

NAFTA

Canada – United States

Canada – Mexico

Background information

NAFTA came into effect on January 1, 1994, creating the largest free trade region in the world at that time, generating economic growth and helping to raise the standard of living for the people of all three member countries. By strengthening the rules and procedures governing trade and investment, NAFTA has proven to be a solid foundation for building Canada’s prosperity and has set a valuable example of the benefits of trade liberalization for the rest of the world.

Given that the Agreement is over 23 years old, there are many clarifications and technical improvements that could be made in all trade areas covered by NAFTA, such as labour, the environment, or culture, for example. NAFTA would also benefit from the inclusion of new trade areas, such as electronic commerce, that are not currently covered, to ensure the agreement is aligned with today’s economic realities. 

Under NAFTA, total trilateral merchandise trade, as measured by the total of each country’s imports from its other two NAFTA partners, reached nearly USD$ 1 trillion, representing more than a three-fold increase since 1993. Some 77.8 percent of Canada’s total merchandise exports were destined to our NAFTA partners in 2016. Total merchandise trade between Canada and the United States more than doubled since 1993, and grew nine-fold between Canada and Mexico.

Canada is the largest merchandise export market for the U.S. and one of the three largest country merchandise export markets for 48 U.S. states. In 2016, the U.S. exported nearly US$266 billion of merchandise to Canada, and for the same year, the United States was the number one destination for Canadian merchandise exports, and was Canada’s largest supplier of merchandise imports. Almost 9 million jobs in the U.S. depend on trade and investment with Canada, while 1.9 million Canadian jobs are related to Canada exports to the U.S. Canada is the main foreign supplier of energy to United States, and was the fifth largest cumulative source of foreign direct investment (FDI) into the United States.

Canada’s trade and investment relationship with Mexico has seen strong growth since the entry into force of NAFTA. Furthermore, Canada receives approximately 20,000 agricultural workers annually under the Seasonal Agricultural Workers Program, often cited as a model for international labour-mobility arrangements. Mexico’s demographic and economic prospects point toward an even greater growth in commercial exchanges.

The enhanced economic activity and production in the region have contributed to the creation of jobs for Canadians with one in six jobs in Canada related to exports. With the addition of more than 5 million net new jobs since 1993, Canada’s unemployment rate has decreased from 11.4 percent (1993) to 7.0 percent (2015).

NAFTA’s provisions ensure greater certainty and stability for investment decisions and have contributed to enhancing Canada’s attractiveness for foreign investors while providing more opportunities for Canadians to invest in NAFTA partners’ economies. Under NAFTA’s investment-friendly environment, Canada and the U.S. developed one of the world’s largest investment relationships, while the Canada-Mexico relationship increased dramatically since the Agreement entered into force.

North America is home to over 480 million people, and over one quarter of the world’s economic output. Our integration helps maximize our capabilities, making our economies more innovative and competitive, creating a North America where Canadian, American and Mexican companies do more than sell things to each other – now, our companies increasingly make things together.

NAFTA has benefited North American businesses through increased export opportunities resulting from lower tariffs, predictable rules, and reductions in technical barriers to trade. Along with increasing exports and imports, firms have become more specialized and thus more competitive, allowing for them to make things together for customers within and beyond the NAFTA region.

North American Agreement on Labour Cooperation

The North American Agreement on Labour Cooperation (NAALC) came into effect in January 1994. It is one of two parallel accords to NAFTA. The Agreement is administered by the Commission for Labour Cooperation, which consists of a Council of Ministers and a tri-national Secretariat, based in Washington D.C. Currently four provinces (Quebec, Alberta, Manitoba and Prince Edwards Island) are signatories to the NAALC through an Intergovernmental Agreement.

The Commission works in close cooperation with the National Administrative Offices (NAOs) established in each country to implement the Agreement and serve as the national point of contact. In Canada, the Office for Inter-American Labour Cooperation within the Labour Branch of Employment and Social Development Canada acts as the Canadian NAO. The Canadian NAO also provides for the submission and receipt of public communications (complaints) on labour law matters arising in the territory of another Party and serves as the official review agency in Canada.

North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation

The second parallel accord is the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (NAAEC), which established the Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC) in 1994. The CEC is mandated to enhance regional environmental cooperation, reduce potential trade and environmental conflicts and promote the effective enforcement of environmental law. It also facilitates cooperation and public participation in efforts to foster conservation, protection and enhancement of the North American environment. It consists of three principal components: the Council (Environment Ministers), the Joint Public Advisory Committee (JPAC) and Secretariat, headquartered in Montreal.  It has an annual budget of US$9 million, with Canada, Mexico and U.S. contributing US$3 million per year, and is governed by consensus (not majority).

For more information on the Canada-U.S. and Canada-Mexico relationship, including statistics, please visit the following:

Date Modified:

Accord de libre échange nord américain avec les États Unis et le Mexique (ALÉNA) - Ressources

Cette page renferme une trousse d’outils destinée aux Canadiens qui souhaitent en apprendre davantage sur l’ALÉNA ainsi que sur sa renégociation.

Foire aux questions

Veuillez choisir parmi les questions suivantes pour en savoir davantage sur l'ALÉNA. :

Fiche d’information : ALÉNA

Le bilan de l’ALÉNA en est un de croissance économique et de création d’emploi pour la classe moyenne ici au Canada et à travers l’Amérique du nord. L’Accord a également pavé la voie à une intégration économique sans précédent entre les partenaires, créant une véritable plateforme de production où les entreprises du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique fabriquent des biens ensemble plutôt que de simplement se les vendre mutuellement.

Points saillants

ALÉNA

Canada – États-Unis

Canada – Mexique

Renseignements contextuels

L’ALÉNA est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994, créant alors la plus vaste zone de libre-échange du monde, en plus de stimuler la croissance économique et de contribuer à la hausse du niveau de vie de la population des trois pays membres. En renforçant les règles et procédures régissant le commerce et l’investissement, l’ALÉNA s’est révélé un fondement solide pour augmenter la prospérité du Canada, tout en offrant au reste du monde un bel exemple des avantages de la libéralisation du commerce.

Étant donné que l’ALENA a plus de 23 ans, de nombreux éclaircissements et améliorations techniques peuvent être apportés à chacun de ses chapitres et annexes, comme en matière de travail, d’environnement, ou de culture, par exemple. L’ALENA pourrait également profiter de l’ajout de clauses portant sur de nouveaux enjeux commerciaux, comme le commerce électronique, qui n’y figurent pas présentement, de façon à ce que l’Accord soit en phase avec les réalités économiques d’aujourd’hui.

Sous l’ALÉNA, la valeur totale du commerce trilatéral de marchandises, calculée en fonction de la totalité des importations de chaque pays en provenance de ses deux partenaires de l’ALÉNA, a atteint près de 1 billion de dollars américain en 2016 – soit plus du triple de sa valeur en 1993. Quelque 77,8 % des exportations totales de marchandises en provenance du Canada étaient destinées à ses partenaires de l’ALÉNA en 2016. Près de 9 millions d’emplois aux États-Unis dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada. Le commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et les États‑Unis a plus que doublé depuis 1993, alors que les échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et le Mexique sont plus de neuf fois plus élevés.

Le Canada est le plus grand marché d’exportation pour les marchandises des États-Unis et l’un des trois plus important pays de destination des produits de 48 États américains.  En 2016, les États-Unis ont exporté pour près de 266 milliard de dollars américains de biens au Canada, alors que les États‑Unis sont la destination principale des exportations canadiennes de marchandises, ainsi que la plus grande source d’importations de marchandises au Canada. Le Canada est le principal fournisseur étranger d’énergie aux États‑Unis, et la cinquième source cumulative d’investissements étrangers directs (IED) aux États‑Unis.

La relation de commerce et d’investissements entre le Canada et le Mexique a subit une forte croissance depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALÉNA. De plus, le Canada reçoit chaque année environ 20,000 travailleurs agricoles saisonniers en provenance du Mexique en vertu du Programme des travailleurs agricoles saisonniers (PTAS), fréquemment cité comme un modèle de d’accord de mobilité international du travail. L’évolution démographique et économique du Mexique laisse d’ailleurs présager une augmentation encore plus importante des échanges commerciaux avec le Canada.

L’augmentation de l’activité économique et de la production dans la région a contribué à la création d’emplois: un emploi sur six au Canada est lié aux exportations. Grâce à la création de plus de 5 millions d’emplois nets au Canada depuis 1993, le taux de chômage au pays a diminué, passant de 11,4 % en 1993 à 7.0 % en 2015.

Les dispositions de l’ALÉNA assurent une plus grande certitude et une plus grande stabilité pour la prise de décisions en matière d’investissements. Elles ont aussi contribué à renforcer l’attrait du Canada pour les investisseurs étrangers tout en offrant aux Canadiens des possibilités accrues d’investir dans les économies de ses partenaires de l’ALÉNA. Grâce à l’environnement propice aux investissements qu’à créer l’ALÉNA, le Canada et les États-Unis ont développé l’une des plus importantes relations d’investissements au monde, alors que la relation du Canada - Mexique a connu une croissance spectaculaire depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALÉNA.

L’Amérique du Nord compte plus de 480 millions de personnes et pour plus du quart de l’économie mondiale. Notre intégration aide à maximiser nos capacités, ce qui rend nos économies plus novatrices et plus compétitives. Il en résulte une Amérique du Nord dans laquelle les entreprises canadiennes, américaines et mexicaines font davantage que de se vendre des biens mutuellement. En effet, elles unissent de plus en plus leurs efforts pour les produire.

Les entreprises nord-américaines ont tiré profit de l’ALÉNA grâce aux possibilités accrues d’exportation découlant de la baisse des droits de douane, des règles prévisibles et de la réduction des obstacles techniques au commerce. Parallèlement à la hausse des exportations et des importations, les entreprises se sont spécialisées, augmentant ainsi leur compétitivité. Chemin faisant, elles ont appris à collaborer dans la zone de l’ALÉNA et au-delà pour produire ce qu’elles offrent sur le marché.

Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail

L’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail (ANACT) est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994. Il s’agit de l’un des deux accords parallèles liés à l’ALÉNA. L’ANACT est administré par la Commission de coopération dans le domaine du travail, qui est composée d’un conseil des ministres et d’un secrétariat trinational établi à Washington (DC). À l’heure actuelle, quatre provinces (Québec, Alberta, Manitoba et Île-du-Prince-Édouard) sont signataires de l’ANACT dans le cadre d’un accord intergouvernemental.

La Commission collabore étroitement avec les bureaux administratifs nationaux (BAN) établis dans chacun des trois pays pour mettre en œuvre l’Accord et servir de point de contact national. Le Bureau administratif national (BAN) du Canada est le Bureau de coopération interaméricaine dans le domaine du travail au sein de la Direction générale du travail d’Emploi et Développement social Canada. Le BAN du Canada prend les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la présentation et l’acceptation de communications du public (plaintes) sur des questions relatives au droit du travail se posant sur le territoire d’une autre Partie, et il agit à titre d’organisme officiel d’examen au Canada.

Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement (ANACDE)

Le second accord parallèle est l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement (ANACDE), dans le cadre duquel a été établie la Commission de coopération environnementale (CCE) en 1994. La CCE a pour mandat d’accroître la coopération environnementale à l’échelle de la région, de contribuer à la prévention des différends commerciaux et environnementaux et de promouvoir l’application efficace des lois de l’environnement. En outre, elle facilite la collaboration et la participation du public en vue de promouvoir la conservation, la protection et l’amélioration de l’environnement nord-américain. Elle comporte trois composantes principales : le Conseil (ministres de l’Environnement), le Comité consultatif public mixte (CCPM) et le Secrétariat, dont le siège est à Montréal. Elle dispose d’un budget annuel de 9 millions de dollars américains, chaque pays membre y contribuant 3 millions de dollars américains tous les ans. Elle est régie par consensus (et non à la majorité).

Pour de plus amples informations sur la relation Canada - États-Unis et Canada – Mexique, veuillez consulter les liens suivants :

Date de modification: