Consulting Canadians on proposed addition of Japan and Mexico to the Automatic Firearms Country Control List (AFCCL)

From Global Affairs Canada

Current status: Open
Written submissions must be received by November 13, 2017

Follow:

Under the Export and Import Permits Act, anyone wishing to export from Canada any items included in the Export Control List is required to obtain, prior to shipment, an export permit (exceptions are made for the export to the United States of certain controlled goods and technology). Applications to export controlled goods or technology are reviewed on a case-by-case basis to ensure that the exports are consistent with Canada’s foreign and defence policies.

What will be the focus of consultations?

The Government of Canada invites industry stakeholders and the general public to provide their views regarding a possible regulatory amendment that could result in the addition of Japan and Mexico to the AFCCL. The proposed regulation, if ultimately approved by the Governor in Council, would allow exporters of certain prohibited firearms, prohibited weapons and prohibited devices to submit permit applications for the export of these items to Japan and Mexico.

How do I participate?

The Government of Canada is seeking the views of industry stakeholders, non-government organizations and all interested Canadian citizens. There are different ways you can participate in these consultations.

  1. Send an email to tieconsultations@international.gc.ca with your ideas or comments.
  2. Send your ideas and input by mail to:
    Attention – AFCCL Consultation
    Export Controls Division (TIE)
    Global Affairs Canada
    125 Sussex Drive
    Ottawa, ON  K1A 0G2

Please read the privacy notice statement carefully prior to sending a written submission.

Date Modified:

Consultations auprès des Canadiens concernant l’ajout possible du Japon et du Mexique à la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) (LPDAA)

D'Affaires mondiales Canada

État actuel : En cours
Les soumissions écrites doivent être reçues d’ici le 13 novembre 2017.

Suivez :

En vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, les personnes qui veulent exporter du Canada des articles inscrits sur la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée doivent obtenir, avant l’expédition des articles, une licence d’exportation (à l’exception de l’exportation de certaines marchandises ou technologies contrôlées vers les États-Unis). Les demandes d’exportation de marchandises ou de technologies contrôlées sont examinées au cas par cas afin de veiller à ce que ces exportations soient conformes à la politique étrangère et à la politique de défense du Canada.

Sur quoi les consultations seront-elles axées?

Le gouvernement du Canada invite les intervenants de l’industrie et le grand public à donner leur opinion concernant une modification réglementaire visant à faire ajouter le Japon et le Mexique sur la LPDAA. Cette modification, si elle est approuvée par le gouverneur en conseil, permettrait aux exportateurs de certaines armes à feu prohibées et armes prohibées et de certains dispositifs prohibés de présenter des demandes de licences d’exportation de ces articles vers le Japon et le Mexique.

Comment participer?

Le Gouvernement du Canada cherche veut connaître l’opinion des intervenants de l’industrie, des organisations non gouvernementales et de tous les citoyens canadiens intéressés. Vous pouvez participer aux consultations de différentes façons :

  1. Envoyez vos idées ou commentaire par courriel à l’adresse tieconsultations@international.gc.ca.
  2. Envoyez le tout par la poste à l’adresse suivante :
    Consultation sur la LPDAA
    Direction des contrôles à l’exportation (TIE)
    Affaires mondiales Canada
    125, promenade Sussex
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2

Veuillez lire attentivement l’énoncé de confidentialité avant de soumettre vos commentaires.

Date de modification: