North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Part Two: Trade in Goods

Chapter Five: Customs Procedures

Article 501: Certificate of Origin

1. The Parties shall establish by January 1, 1994 a Certificate of Origin for the purpose of certifying that a good being exported from the territory of a Party into the territory of another Party qualifies as an originating good, and may thereafter revise the Certificate by agreement.

2. Each Party may require that a Certificate of Origin for a good imported into its territory be completed in a language required under its law.

3. Each Party shall:

4. Nothing in paragraph 3 shall be construed to require a producer to provide a Certificate of Origin to an exporter.

5. Each Party shall provide that a Certificate of Origin that has been completed and signed by an exporter or a producer in the territory of another Party that is applicable to:

shall be accepted by its customs administration for four years after the date on which the Certificate was signed.

Article 502: Obligations Regarding Importations

1. Except as otherwise provided in this Chapter, each Party shall require an importer in its territory that claims preferential tariff treatment for a good imported into its territory from the territory of another Party to:

2. Each Party shall provide that, where an importer in its territory claims preferential tariff treatment for a good imported into its territory from the territory of another Party:

3. Each Party shall provide that, where a good would have qualified as an originating good when it was imported into the territory of that Party but no claim for preferential tariff treatment was made at that time, the importer of the good may, no later than one year after the date on which the good was imported, apply for a refund of any excess duties paid as the result of the good not having been accorded preferential tariff treatment, on presentation of:

Article 503: Exceptions

Each Party shall provide that a Certificate of Origin shall not be required for:

provided that the importation does not form part of a series of importations that may reasonably be considered to have been undertaken or arranged for the purpose of avoiding the certification requirements of Articles 501 and 502.

Article 504: Obligations Regarding Exportations

1. Each Party shall provide that:

2. Each Party:

3. No Party may impose penalties on an exporter or a producer in its territory that voluntarily provides written notification pursuant to paragraph (1)(b) with respect to the making of an incorrect certification.

Section B - Administration and Enforcement

Article 505: Records

Each Party shall provide that:

Article 506: Origin Verifications

1. For purposes of determining whether a good imported into its territory from the territory of another Party qualifies as an originating good, a Party may, through its customs administration, conduct a verification solely by means of:

2. Prior to conducting a verification visit pursuant to paragraph (1)(b), a Party shall, through its customs administration:

3. The notification referred to in paragraph 2 shall include:

4. Where an exporter or a producer has not given its written consent to a proposed verification visit within 30 days of receipt of notification pursuant to paragraph 2, the notifying Party may deny preferential tariff treatment to the good that would have been the subject of the visit.

5. Each Party shall provide that, where its customs administration receives notification pursuant to paragraph 2, the customs administration may, within 15 days of receipt of the notification, postpone the proposed verification visit for a period not exceeding 60 days from the date of such receipt, or for such longer period as the Parties may agree.

6. A Party shall not deny preferential tariff treatment to a good based solely on the postponement of a verification visit pursuant to paragraph 5.

7. Each Party shall permit an exporter or a producer whose good is the subject of a verification visit by another Party to designate two observers to be present during the visit, provided that:

8. Each Party shall, through its customs administration, conduct a verification of a regional value-content requirement in accordance with the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles applied in the territory of the Party from which the good was exported.

9. The Party conducting a verification shall provide the exporter or producer whose good is the subject of the verification with a written determination of whether the good qualifies as an originating good, including findings of fact and the legal basis for the determination.

10. Where verifications by a Party indicate a pattern of conduct by an exporter or a producer of false or unsupported representations that a good imported into its territory qualifies as an originating good, the Party may withhold preferential tariff treatment to identical goods exported or produced by such person until that person establishes compliance with Chapter Four (Rules of Origin).

11. Each Party shall provide that where it determines that a certain good imported into its territory does not qualify as an originating good based on a tariff classification or a value applied by the Party to one or more materials used in the production of the good, which differs from the tariff classification or value applied to the materials by the Party from whose territory the good was exported, the Party's determination shall not become effective until it notifies in writing both the importer of the good and the person that completed and signed the Certificate of Origin for the good of its determination.

12. A Party shall not apply a determination made under paragraph 11 to an importation made before the effective date of the determination where:

13. If a Party denies preferential tariff treatment to a good pursuant to a determination made under paragraph 11, it shall postpone the effective date of the denial for a period not exceeding 90 days where the importer of the good, or the person who completed and signed the Certificate of Origin for the good, demonstrates that it has relied in good faith to its detriment on the tariff classification or value applied to such materials by the customs administration of the Party from whose territory the good was exported.

Article 507: Confidentiality

1. Each Party shall maintain, in accordance with its law, the confidentiality of confidential business information collected pursuant to this Chapter and shall protect that information from disclosure that could prejudice the competitive position of the persons providing the information.

2. The confidential business information collected pursuant to this Chapter may only be disclosed to those authorities responsible for the administration and enforcement of determinations of origin, and of customs and revenue matters.

Article 508: Penalties

1. Each Party shall maintain measures imposing criminal, civil or administrative penalties for violations of its laws and regulations relating to this Chapter.

2. Nothing in Articles 502(2), 504(3) or 506(6) shall be construed to prevent a Party from applying such measures as the circumstances may warrant.

Section C - Advance Rulings

Article 509: Advance Rulings

1. Each Party shall, through its customs administration, provide for the expeditious issuance of written advance rulings, prior to the importation of a good into its territory, to an importer in its territory or an exporter or a producer in the territory of another Party, on the basis of the facts and circumstances presented by such importer, exporter or producer of the good, concerning:

2. Each Party shall adopt or maintain procedures for the issuance of advance rulings, including a detailed description of the information reasonably required to process an application for a ruling.

3. Each Party shall provide that its customs administration:

4. Subject to paragraph 6, each Party shall apply an advance ruling to importations into its territory of the good for which the ruling was requested, beginning on the date of its issuance or such later date as may be specified in the ruling.

5. Each Party shall provide to any person requesting an advance ruling the same treatment, including the same interpretation and application of provisions of Chapter Four regarding a determination of origin, as it provided to any other person to whom it issued an advance ruling, provided that the facts and circumstances are identical in all material respects.

6. The issuing Party may modify or revoke an advance ruling:

7. Each Party shall provide that any modification or revocation of an advance ruling shall be effective on the date on which the modification or revocation is issued, or on such later date as may be specified therein, and shall not be applied to importations of a good that have occurred prior to that date, unless the person to whom the advance ruling was issued has not acted in accordance with its terms and conditions.

8. Notwithstanding paragraph 7, the issuing Party shall postpone the effective date of such modification or revocation for a period not exceeding 90 days where the person to whom the advance ruling was issued demostrates that it has relied in good faith to its detriment on that ruling.

9. Each Party shall provide that where its customs administration examines the regional value content of a good for which it has issued an advance ruling pursuant to subparagraph 1(c), (d) or f), it shall evaluate whether:

10. Each Party shall provide that where its customs administration determines that any requirement in paragraph 9 has not been satisfied, it may modify or revoke the advance ruling as the circumstances may warrant.

11. Each Party shall provide that, where the person to whom an advance ruling was issued demonstrates that it used reasonable care and acted in good faith in presenting the facts and circumstances on which the ruling was based, and where the customs administration of a Party determines that the ruling was based on incorrect information, the person to whom the ruling was issued shall not be subject to penalties.

12. Each Party shall provide that where it issues an advance ruling to a person that has misrepresented or omitted material facts or circumstances on which the ruling is based or has failed to act in accordance with the terms and conditions of the ruling, the Party may apply such measures as the circumstances may warrant.

Section D - Review and Appeal of Origin Determinations and Advance Rulings

Article 510: Review and Appeal

1. Each Party shall grant substantially the same rights of review and appeal of marking determinations of origin, country of origin determinations and advance rulings by its customs administration as it provides to importers in its territory to any person:

2. Further to Articles 1804 (Administrative Proceedings) and 1805 (Review and Appeal), each Party shall provide that the rights of review and appeal referred to in paragraph 1 shall include access to:

Section E - Uniform Regulations

Article 511: Uniform Regulations

1. The Parties shall establish, and implement through their respective laws or regulations by January 1, 1994, Uniform Regulations regarding the interpretation, application and administration of Chapter Four, this Chapter and other matters as may be agreed by the Parties.

2. Each Party shall implement any modification of or addition to the Uniform Regulations no later than 180 days after the Parties agree on such modification or addition, or such other period as the Parties may agree.

Section F - Cooperation

Article 512: Cooperation

1. Each Party shall notify the other Parties of the following determinations, measures and rulings, including to the greatest extent practicable those that are prospective in application:

2. The Parties shall cooperate:

Article 513: Working Group and Customs Subgroup

1. The Parties hereby establish a Working Group on Rules of Origin, comprising representatives of each Party, to ensure:

2. The Working Group shall meet at least four times each year and on the request of any Party.

3. The Working Group shall:

4. Each Party shall, to the greatest extent practicable, take all necessary measures to implement any modification of or addition to this Agreement within 180 days of the date on which the Commission agrees on the modification or addition.

5. If the Working Group fails to resolve a matter referred to it pursuant to paragraph 3(e) within 30 days of such referral, any Party may request a meeting of the Commission under Article 2007 (Commission Good Offices, Conciliation and Mediation).

6. The Working Group shall establish, and monitor the work of, a Customs Subgroup, comprising representatives of each Party. The Subgroup shall meet at least four times each year and on the request of any Party and shall:

7. Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed to prevent a Party from issuing a determination of origin or an advance ruling relating to a matter under consideration by the Working Group or the Customs Subgroup or from taking such other action as it considers necessary, pending a resolution of the matter under this Agreement.

Article 514: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

commercial importation means the importation of a good into the territory of any Party for the purpose of sale, or any commercial, industrial or other like use;

customs administration means the competent authority that is responsible under the law of a Party for the administration of customs laws and regulations;

determination of origin means a determination as to whether a good qualifies as an originating good in accordance with Chapter Four;

exporter in the territory of a Party means an exporter located in the territory of a Party and an exporter required under this Chapter to maintain records in the territory of that Party regarding exportations of a good;

identical goods means goods that are the same in all respects, including physical characteristics, quality and reputation, irrespective of minor differences in appearance that are not relevant to a determination of origin of those goods under Chapter Four;

importer in the territory of a Party means an importer located in the territory of a Party and an importer required under this Chapter to maintain records in the territory of that Party regarding importations of a good;

intermediate material means "intermediate material" as defined in Article 415; Marking Rules means "Marking Rules" established under Annex 311;

material means "material" as defined in Article 415;

net cost of a good means "net cost of a good" as defined in Article 415;

preferential tariff treatment means the duty rate applicable to an originating good;

producer means "producer" as defined in Article 415;

production means "production" as defined in Article 415;

transaction value means "transaction value" as defined in Article 415;

Uniform Regulations means "Uniform Regulations" established under Article 511;

used means "used" as defined in Article 415; and

value means value of a good or material for purposes of calculating customs duties or for purposes of applying Chapter Four.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

Partie II : Commerce des produits

Chapitre 5 : Procédures douanières

Article 501 : Certificat d'origine

1. Les Parties établiront avant le 1er janvier 1994 un certificat d'origine dont l'objet sera d'attester qu'un produit exporté depuis le territoire d'une Partie vers le territoire d'une autre Partie est un produit originaire, et pourront par la suite réviser ledit certificat d'un commun accord.

2. Chacune des Parties pourra exiger qu'un certificat d'origine visant un produit importé sur son territoire soit rempli dans la langue requise par sa législation.

3. Chacune des Parties :

4. Aucune disposition du paragraphe 3 ne pourra être interprétée comme obligeant un producteur à fournir un certificat d'origine à un exportateur.

5. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte qu'un certificat d'origine qui a été rempli et signé par un exportateur ou un producteur sur le territoire d'une autre Partie, et qui est applicable

soit accepté par son administration douanière pendant quatre années à compter de la date de signature du certificat.

Article 502 : Obligations relatives aux importations

1. Sauf dispositions contraires du présent chapitre, chacune des Parties exigera d'un importateur sur son territoire qui demande un traitement tarifaire préférentiel pour un produit importé sur son territoire à partir du territoire d'une autre Partie

2. Lorsqu'un importateur sur son territoire demande le traitement tarifaire préférentiel pour un produit importé sur son territoire depuis le territoire d'une autre Partie, chacune des Parties

3. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte, lorsqu'un produit aurait été admissible à titre de produit originaire au moment de son importation sur son territoire, mais qu'aucune demande de traitement tarifaire préférentiel n'a été faite à ce moment-là, que l'importateur de ce produit puisse, au plus tard une année après la date à laquelle le produit a été importé, demander le remboursement des droits payés en trop du fait que le produit n'a pas bénéficié du traitement tarifaire préférentiel, sur présentation

Article 503: Exceptions

1. Aucune des Parties ne pourra exiger la présentation d'un certificat d'origine

Article 504 : Obligations relatives aux exportations

1. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte

2. Chacune des Parties

3. Aucune Partie ne pénalisera un exportateur ou un producteur sur son territoire qui adresse volontairement la notification écrite prévue aux termes de l'alinéa (1)b) en ce qui concerne la présentation d'un certificat inexact.

Section B : Administration et application

Article 505: Registres

Chacune des Parties fera en sorte

Article 506 : Vérifications de l'origine

1. Pour déterminer si un produit importé sur son territoire depuis le territoire d'une autre Partie est admissible à titre de produit originaire, une Partie pourra, par l'entremise de son administration douanière, effectuer des vérifications en recourant uniquement aux moyens suivants :

2. Avant d'effectuer une visite de vérification aux termes de l'alinéa (1)b), une Partie devra, par l'entremise de son administration douanière,

3. L'avis visé au paragraphe 2 devra indiquer :

4. Si, dans les 30 jours suivant la réception d'un avis signifié aux termes du paragraphe 2, un exportateur ou un producteur ne donne pas son consentement écrit à la visite projetée, la Partie qui a signifié l'avis pourra refuser le traitement tarifaire préférentiel au produit qui aurait fait l'objet de la visite.

5. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que, dans les 15 jours après avoir reçu l'avis signifié aux termes du paragraphe 2, son administration douanière puisse reporter la visite de vérification projetée pour une période n'excédant pas 60 jours à compter de la date de réception de l'avis, ou pour une période plus longue dont pourront convenir les Parties.

6. Une Partie ne pourra refuser le traitement tarifaire préférentiel à un produit pour le seul motif qu'une visite de vérification a été reportée aux termes du paragraphe 5.

7. Chacune des Parties permettra à un exportateur ou à un producteur dont le produit fait l'objet d'une visite de vérification par une autre Partie de désigner deux observateurs, qui assisteront à la visite, à condition

8. Chacune des Parties, par l'entremise de son administration douanière, effectuera toute vérification d'une prescription de teneur en valeur régionale conformément aux principes de comptabilité généralement admis qui sont appliqués sur le territoire de la Partie depuis lequel le produit a été exporté.

9. La Partie qui effectue une vérification devra remettre à l'exportateur ou au producteur dont le produit fait l'objet de la vérification une détermination écrite indiquant si le produit est ou non admissible à titre de produit originaire, avec mention des constatations de fait et du fondement juridique de la détermination.

10. Toute Partie dont les vérifications font apparaître qu'un exportateur ou un producteur a, de façon répétée, déclaré faussement ou sans justifications qu'un produit importé sur son territoire est admissible à titre de produit originaire, pourra retirer le traitement tarifaire préférentiel à des produits identiques exportés ou produits par ledit exportateur ou producteur, jusqu'à ce que celui-ci ait prouvé qu'il se conforme au chapitre 4 (Règles d'origine).

11. Chacune des Parties, lorsqu'elle détermine qu'un certain produit importé sur son territoire n'est pas admissible à titre de produit originaire en se fondant, pour l'une ou plusieurs des matières utilisées dans la production du produit, sur une classification tarifaire ou une valeur qui diffère de la classification tarifaire ou de la valeur appliquées par la Partie depuis le territoire de laquelle le produit est exporté, fera en sorte que sa détermination ne puisse prendre effet avant qu'elle n'en ait donné notification écrite à l'importateur du produit et à la personne qui a rempli et signé le certificat d'origine pour ce produit.

12. Une Partie ne pourra appliquer une détermination faite en vertu du paragraphe 11 à une importation effectuée avant la date à laquelle la détermination prend effet

13. Toute Partie qui refuse le traitement tarifaire préférentiel à un produit par suite d'une détermination faite en vertu du paragraphe 11, devra reporter la date de prise d'effet du refus pour une période n'excédant pas 90 jours si l'importateur du produit ou la personne qui a rempli et signé le certificat d'origine pour ce produit démontre qu'il s'est fondé en toute bonne foi, à son détriment, sur la classification tarifaire ou la valeur appliquée aux matières par l'administration douanière de la Partie depuis le territoire de laquelle le produit a été exporté.

Article 507 : Caractère confidentiel

1. Chacune des Parties préservera, en conformité avec sa législation, le caractère confidentiel des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels recueillis aux termes du présent chapitre et protégera ces renseignements de toute divulgation qui pourrait porter préjudice à la situation concurrentielle des personnes ayant fourni ces renseignements.

2. Les renseignements commerciaux confidentiels recueillis aux termes du présent chapitre ne pourront être divulgués qu'aux autorités responsables de l'administration et de l'application des déterminations d'origine, ainsi que des questions relatives aux douanes et aux revenus.

Article 508 : Sanctions

1. Chacune des Parties maintiendra des mesures imposant des sanctions pénales, civiles ou administratives pour toute violation de ses lois et règlements se rapportant au présent chapitre.

2. Aucune disposition des paragraphes 502(2), 504(3) ou 506(6) ne sera interprétée comme empêchant une Partie d'appliquer toute mesure justifiée par les circonstances.

Section C - Décisions anticipées

Article 509 : Décisions anticipées

1. Chacune des Parties, par l'entremise de son administration douanière, fera en sorte de fournir rapidement, avant l'importation d'un produit sur son territoire, à un importateur sur son territoire ou à un exportateur ou à un producteur sur le territoire d'une autre Partie, des décisions anticipées écrites se rapportant aux faits et circonstances présentés par l'importateur, l'exportateur ou le producteur en cause et indiquant

2. Chacune des Parties adoptera ou maintiendra des procédures concernant les demandes de décision anticipée, et établira notamment une description détaillée des renseignements pouvant raisonnablement être exigés aux fins du traitement de ces demandes.

3. Chacune des Parties prévoira que son administration douanière

4. Sous réserve du paragraphe 6, chacune des Parties appliquera une décision anticipée aux importations sur son territoire du produit pour lequel la décision a été demandée, à compter de la date à laquelle la décision a été rendue ou de toute date ultérieure indiquée dans cette décision.

5. Chacune des Parties accordera à toute personne qui demande une décision anticipée le même traitement, notamment la même interprétation et la même application des dispositions du chapitre 4 portant sur la détermination de l'origine, que celui accordé à toute autre personne à la demande de laquelle elle a rendu une décision anticipée, à condition que les faits et les circonstances soient identiques à tous égards importants.

6. La Partie qui rend une décision anticipée peut la modifier ou l'annuler

7. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que toute modification ou annulation d'une décision anticipée prenne effet à la date à laquelle cette modification ou annulation sera prononcée, ou à telle date ultérieure pouvant y être indiquée, et qu'elle ne puisse être appliquée aux importations d'un produit ayant eu lieu avant cette date, à moins que la personne ayant bénéficié de la décision anticipée ne se soit pas conformée aux modalités et conditions établies dans la décision.

8. Nonobstant le paragraphe 7, la Partie qui a rendu la décision anticipée reportera la date de prise d'effet de la modification ou de l'annulation pour une période n'excédant pas 90 jours, lorsque la personne ayant bénéficié de la décision démontre qu'elle s'est fondée en toute bonne foi sur cette décision à son détriment.

9. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que son administration douanière, lorsqu'elle examine la teneur en valeur régionale d'un produit pour lequel elle a rendu une décision anticipée en vertu des alinéas c), d) ou f), puisse déterminer

10. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que son administration douanière, lorsqu'elle établit qu'une condition du paragraphe 10 n'a pas été remplie, puisse modifier ou annuler la décision anticipée dans la mesure où les circonstances le justifient.

11. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que toute personne ayant bénéficié d'une décision anticipée qui peut démontrer qu'elle a fait preuve d'une prudence raisonnable et a agi de bonne foi dans la présentation des faits et circonstances sur lesquels repose la décision, ne soit pas pénalisée si l'administration douanière de la Partie établit que la décision était fondée sur des renseignements inexacts.

12. Toute Partie ayant rendu une décision anticipée à la demande d'une personne qui a déformé ou omis des faits ou circonstances importants sur lesquels repose la décision, ou qui ne s'est pas conformée aux modalités et conditions de la décision, pourra appliquer toute mesure justifiée par les circonstances.

Section D - Examen et appel des déterminations d'origine et des décisions anticipées

Article 510 : Examen et appel

1. Chacune des Parties accordera, en ce qui concerne les marquages du pays d'origine, les déterminations du pays d'origine et les décisions anticipées rendues par son administration douanière, des droits d'examen et d'appel qui seront en substance les mêmes que ceux accordés aux importateurs sur son territoire, à toute personne

2. En complément des articles 1804 (Procédures administratives) et 1805 (Examen et appel), chacune des Parties fera en sorte que les droits d'examen et d'appel visés au paragraphe 1 comprennent

Section E - Réglementation uniforme

Article 511 : Réglementation uniforme

1. Les Parties établiront avant le 1er janvier 1994 une Réglementation uniforme portant sur l'interprétation, l'application et l'administration du chapitre 4, du présent chapitre et d'autres questions dont elles pourront convenir, et en assureront la mise en oeuvre dans le cadre de leurs lois et règlements respectifs.

2. Chacune des Parties mettra en oeuvre les modifications ou ajouts apportés à la Réglementation uniforme au plus tard 180 jours après que les Parties se seront entendues sur ces modifications ou ajouts, ou dans tel autre délai convenu entre les Parties.

Section F - Coopération

Article 512 : Coopération

1. Chacune des Parties notifiera aux autres Parties les déterminations, mesures et décisions suivantes, y compris dans toute la mesure où cela sera matériellement possible, celles qui sont d'application prospective :

2. Les Parties coopéreront

Article 513 : Groupe de travail et sous-groupe des questions douanières

1. Les Parties instituent un groupe de travail sur les règles d'origine, qui sera composé de représentants de chacune des Parties et qui veillera

2. Le groupe de travail se réunira au moins quatre fois l'an, ainsi qu'à la demande de l'une quelconque des Parties.

3. Le groupe de travail

4. Dans toute la mesure où cela sera matériellement possible, chacune des Parties prendra toutes les mesures nécessaires pour mettre en oeuvre toute modification ou tout ajout au présent accord dans les 180 jours suivant l'approbation de l'ajout ou de la modification par la Commission.

5. Si le groupe de travail ne règle pas une question dans les 30 jours après en avoir été saisi aux termes de l'alinéa (3)e), toute Partie pourra demander que la Commission se réunisse en vertu de l'article 2007 (Commission - Bons offices, conciliation et médiation).

6. Le groupe de travail établira un sous-groupe des questions douanières, composé de représentants de chacune des Parties, et en suivra les travaux. Le sous-groupe se réunira au moins quatre fois l'an, ainsi qu'à la demande de l'une quelconque des Parties, et

7. Aucune disposition du présent chapitre ne pourra être interprétée comme empêchant une Partie de faire une détermination d'origine ou de rendre une décision anticipée au regard d'une question soumise à l'examen du groupe de travail ou du sous-groupe des questions douanières, ou de prendre les autres mesures qu'elle jugera nécessaire jusqu'à ce que la question soit réglée en vertu du présent accord.

Article 514 : Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

administration douanière désigne l'autorité compétente investie par la législation d'une Partie du pouvoir d'appliquer ses lois et règlements douaniers;

coût net d'un produit a le même sens qu'à l'article 415;

détermination d'origine désigne une décision établissant qu'un produit est ou non admissible à titre de produit originaire conformément au chapitre 4;

exportateur sur le territoire d'une Partie s'entend d'un exportateur situé sur le territoire d'une Partie et d'un exportateur tenu, aux termes du présent chapitre, de conserver sur le territoire de cette Partie des registres se rapportant à l'exportation d'un produit;

importateur sur le territoire d'une Partie s'entend d'un importateur situé sur le territoire d'une Partie et d'un importateur tenu, aux termes du présent chapitre, de conserver sur le territoire de cette Partie des registres se rapportant à l'importation d'un produit;

importation commerciale s'entend de l'importation d'un produit sur le territoire d'une Partie à des fins de vente ou pour utilisation commerciale, industrielle ou autre utilisation similaire;

matière a le même sens qu'à l'article 415;

matière intermédiaire a le même sens qu'à l'article 415;

producteur a le même sens qu'à l'article 415;

production a le même sens qu'à l'article 415;

produits identiques désigne les produits qui sont les mêmes à tous égards, y compris les caractéristiques physiques, la qualité et la réputation, sans égard aux différences d'aspect mineures qui n'influent pas sur une détermination de l'origine de tels produits aux termes du chapitre 4;

Réglementation uniforme s'entend de la «Réglementation uniforme» établie en vertu de l'article 511;

Règles de marquage s'entend des «Règles de marquage» établies en vertu de l'annexe 311;

traitement tarifaire préférentiel désigne le taux de droit applicable à un produit originaire;

utilisé a le même sens qu'à l'article 415;

valeur s'entend de la valeur d'un produit ou d'une matière aux fins du calcul de la valeur en douane ou aux fins de l'application du chapitre 4; et

valeur transactionnelle a le même sens qu'à l'article 415.

Date de modification: