North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Part Eight: Other Provisions

Notes

1. Article 201 (Definitions of General Application) : A good of a Party may include materials of other countries.

2. Article 301 (Market Access - National Treatment) : "goods of the Party" as used in paragraph 2 includes goods produced in the state or province of that Party.

3. Article 302(1) (Tariff Elimination) : this paragraph is not intended to prevent any Party from modifying its non-NAFTA tariffs on originating goods for which no NAFTA tariff preference is claimed.

4. Article 302(1) : this paragraph does not prohibit a Party from raising a tariff back to an agreed level in accordance with the NAFTA's phase-out schedule following a unilateral reduction.

5. Article 302(1) and (2) : paragraphs 1 and 2 are not intended to prevent a Party from maintaining or increasing a customs duty as may be authorized by any dispute settlement provision of the GATT or any agreement negotiated under the GATT.

6. Article 303 (Restriction on Drawback and Duty Deferral) : in applying the definition of "used" in Article 415 to this Article, the definition of "consumed" in Article 318 shall not apply.

7. Article 305(2) (d) (Temporary Admission of Goods) : where another form of monetary security is used, it shall not be more burdensome than the bonding requirement referred to in this subparagraph. Where a Party uses a non-monetary form of security, it shall not be more burdensome than existing forms of security used by that Party.

8. Article 307(1) (Goods Re-Entered after Repair or Alteration) : this paragraph does not cover goods imported in bond, into foreign-trade zones or in similar status, that are exported for repairs and are not re-imported in bond, into foreign-trade zones or in similar status.

9. Article 307(1) : for purposes of this paragraph, alteration includes laundering used textile and apparel goods and sterilizing previously sterilized textile and apparel goods.

10. Article 318 (Market Access - Definitions) : 10-digit items set out in the Tariff Schedule of Canada are included for statistical purposes only.

11. Article 318 : with respect to the definition of "repair or alteration", an operation or process that is part of the production or assembly of an unfinished good into a finished good is not a repair or alteration of the unfinished good; a component of a good is a good that may be subject to repair or alteration.

12. Annex 300-A (Trade and Investment in the Automotive Sector) , Appendix 300-A.1 - Canada : paragraphs 1 and 2 shall not be construed to modify the rights and obligations set out in Chapter Ten of the Canada - United States Free Trade Agreement , except that the NAFTA rules of origin shall replace the Canada - United States Free Trade Agreement rules of origin for purposes of Article 1005(1).

13. Annex 300-A , Appendix 300-A.2 - Mexico : citations to the Auto Decree and the Auto Decree Implementing Regulations included in parentheses are provided for purposes of reference only.

14. Annex 300-B (Textile and Apparel Goods) , Section 1 (Scope and Coverage) : the general provisions of Chapter Two (Definitions), Chapter Three (Market Access), Chapter Four (Rules of Origin) and Chapter Eight (Emergency Action) are subject to the specific rules for textiles and apparel goods set out in the Annex.

15. Annex 300-B , Section 2 (Tariff Elimination) : with respect to paragraph 1, "as otherwise provided in this Agreement" refers to such provisions as Section 4, Article 802 (Global Actions) and Chapter 22 (General Exceptions).

16. Annex 300-B, Sections 4 (Bilateral Emergency Actions (Tariff Actions) ) and 5 (Bilateral Emergency Actions (Quantitative Restrictions) ) : for purposes of Sections 4 and 5:

17. Annex 300-B , Section 5 : in paragraph 5(c), the term "equitable treatment" is intended to have the same meaning as it has in customary practice under the Multifiber Arrangement.

18. Annex 300-B , Section 7, paragraph 1(c) (Review and Revision of Rules of Origin) : for subheading 6212.10, the rule and paragraph 1 shall not be applied if the Parties agree, prior to entry into force of this Agreement, on measures to ease the administrative burden and reduce costs associated with the application of the rule for headings 62.06 through 62.11 to the apparel in subheading 6212.10.

19. Annex 300-B, Section 7, paragraph (2) (d) (ii) : with respect to provisions (a) through (i) of the rule for subheadings 6205.20 through 6205.30, prior to the entry into force of this Agreement the Parties will extend cooperation as necessary in an effort to encourage production in the free trade area of shirting fabrics specifically identified in the rule.

20. Annex 300-B, Appendix 3.1, paragraph 17 (Administration of Import and Export Prohibitions, Restrictions and Consultation Levels) : for purposes of applying paragraph 17, the determination of the component that determines the tariff classification of the good shall be based on GRI 3(b) of the Harmonized System, and if the component cannot be determined on the basis of GRI 3(b), then the determination will be based on GRI 3(c) or, if GRI 3(c) is inapplicable, GRI 4. When the component that determines the tariff classification is a blend of two or more yarns or fibers, all yarns and, where applicable, fibers, in that component are to be considered.

21. Annex 300-B, Schedule 3.1.3. (Conversion Factors) : the conversion factors in this Schedule are those used for imports into the United States. Canada and Mexico may by mutual agreement develop their own conversion factors for trade between them.

22. Article 401 (Originating Goods) : the phrase "specifically describes" is intended solely to prevent Article 401(d) from being used to qualify a part of another part, where the heading or subheading covers the final good, the part made from the other part and the other part.

23. Article 402 (Regional Value Content) :

24. Article 403 (Automotive Goods) :

25. Article 405(6) (De Minimis) : for purposes of applying paragraph 6, the determination of the component that determines the tariff classification of the good shall be based on GRI 3(b) of the Harmonized System. If the component cannot be determined on the basis of GRI 3(b), then the determination will be based on GRI 3(c) or, if GRI 3(c) is inapplicable, GRI 4. When the component that determines the tariff classification is a blend of two or more yarns or fibers, all yarns and, where applicable, fibers, in that component are to be taken into account.

26. Article 413 (Interpretation and Application) : the rules of origin under Chapter Four are based on the 1992 Harmonized System, amended by the new tariff items created for rules of origin purposes.

27. Article 415 (Rules of Origin - Definitions) : the phrase "except for the application of Article 403(1) or 403(2) (a) " in the definition of "transaction value" is intended solely to ensure that the determination of transaction value in the context of Article 403(1) or (2) (a) shall not be limited to the transaction of the producer of the good.

28. Article 514 (Customs Procedures - Definitions) : the Uniform Regulations will clarify that "determination of origin" includes a denial of preferential tariff treatment under Article 506(4), and that such denial is subject to review and appeal.

29. Article 603, paragraphs 1 through 5 (Energy - Import and Export Restrictions) : these paragraphs shall be interpreted consistently with Article 309 (Import and Export Restrictions).

30. Article 703 (Agriculture - Market Access) : the most-favored-nation rate as of July 1, 1991 is the over-quota tariff rate specified in Annex 302.2.

31. Annex 703.2, Section A (Mexico and the United States) : this quota replaces Mexico's current access under the "first tier" of the U.S. tariff rate quota as described in Additional
Note 3(b)(i) of Chapter 17 of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States prior to the date of entry into force of this Agreement.

32. Annex 703.2 , Section A (Mexico and the United States) : the United States operates a re-export program under Additional U.S. Note 3 to Chapter 17 of the U.S. Harmonized Tariff Schedule and under 7 C.F.R. Part 1530 (subparts A and B).

33. Annex 703.2 , Section B (Canada and Mexico) : the incorporation in paragraph 6 is not intended to override the exceptions to Articles 301 and 309 set out in Canada's and Mexico's respective Schedules to Annex 301.3.

34. Article 906(4) and (6) (Compatibility and Equivalence) : these paragraphs are not intended to restrict the right of the importing Party to revise its measures.

35. Article 908(2) (Conformity Assessment) : this paragraph does not treat the issue of membership in the Parties' respective conformity assessment bodies.

36. Article 915 (Standards-Related Measures - Definitions) : the definition of "standard" shall be interpreted to mean --

for common and repeated use, including explanatory and other related provisions, set out in a document approved by a standardizing body, with which compliance is not mandatory.

37. Article 915 : the definition of "technical regulation" shall be interpreted to mean --

38. Annex 1001.2c (Country Specific Thresholds) : Canada and the United States will consult regarding this Annex before the entry into force of this Agreement.

39. Article 1101 (Investment - Scope and Coverage) : this Chapter covers investments existing on the date of entry into force of this Agreement as well as investments made or acquired thereafter.

40. Article 1101(2) and Annex 602.3 : to the extent that a Party allows an investment to be made in an activity set out in Annex III or Annex 602.3, the investment shall be entitled to the protection of Chapter Eleven (Investment).

41. Article 1106 (Performance Requirements) : Article 1106 does not preclude enforcement of any commitment, undertaking or requirement between private parties.

42. Article 1305 (Monopolies) : for purposes of this Article, "monopoly" means an entity, including a consortium or government agency, that in any relevant market in the territory of a Party is maintained or designated as the sole provider of public telecommunications transport networks or services.

43. Article 1501 (Competition Law) : no investor may have recourse to investor-state arbitration under the Investment Chapter for any matter arising under this Article.

44. Article 1502 (Monopolies and State Enterprises) : nothing in this Article shall be construed to prevent a monopoly from charging different prices in different geographic markets, where such differences are based on normal commercial considerations, such as taking account of supply and demand conditions in those markets.

45. Article 1502(3) : a "delegation" includes a legislative grant, and a government order, directive or other act transferring to the monopoly, or authorizing the exercise by the monopoly of, governmental authority.

46. Article 1502(3) (b) : differences in pricing between classes of customers, between affiliated and non-affiliated firms, and cross-subsidization are not in themselves inconsistent with this provision; rather, they are subject to this subparagraph when they are used as instruments of anticompetitive behavior by the monopoly firm.

47. Article 2005(2) (GATT Dispute Settlement) : this obligation is not intended to be subject to dispute settlement under this Chapter.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

Partie VIII : Autres dispositions

Notes

1. Article 201 (Définitions d'application générale) : un produit d'une Partie peut renfermer des matières en provenance d'autres pays.

2. Article 301 (Accès aux marchés - Traitement national) : «produits de la Partie», au sens du paragraphe 2, comprend les produits qui sont produits dans un État ou une province de ladite Partie.

3. Paragraphe 302 (1) : ce paragraphe ne vise pas à empêcher une Partie de modifier ses droits de douane hors ALENA à l'égard de produits originaires pour lesquels aucune préférence tarifaire n'est réclamée en vertu de l'ALENA.

4. Paragraphe 302 (1) : ce paragraphe n'empêche pas une Partie de rehausser un droit à un niveau convenu conformément au calendrier d'élimination de l'ALENA, après une réduction unilatérale.

5. Paragraphes 302 (1) et (2) : ces paragraphes ne visent pas à empêcher une Partie de maintenir ou d'augmenter un droit de douane selon qu'il pourra être autorisé par une disposition de l'Accord général relative au règlement des différends ou par tout autre accord négocié dans le cadre du GATT.

6. Article 303 (Restrictions quant aux programmes de drawback et de report des droits) : la définition du terme «consommé» à l'article 318 ne s'appliquera pas lorsqu'il s'agira d'appliquer la définition du terme «utilisé» à l'article 415.

7. Alinéa 305 (2) d (Admission temporaire de produits) : lorsqu'une autre forme de garantie est utilisée, elle ne pourra constituer un fardeau plus lourd que le cautionnement mentionné dans cet alinéa. Les formes de garantie non monétaire auxquelles une Partie aura recours ne pourront constituer un fardeau plus lourd que les formes de garantie existantes utilisées par cette Partie.

8. Paragraphe 307 (1) (Produits réadmis après des réparations ou des modifications) : ce paragraphe ne porte pas sur les produits importés sous douane, à destination d'une zone franche ou en vertu d'un régime analogue, qui sont exportés pour réparation et ne sont pas réimportés sous douane, dans une zone franche ou en vertu d'un régime analogue.

9. Paragraphe 307 (1) : aux fins de ce paragraphe, le terme «modifications» englobe le blanchissage de textiles et de vêtements usagés ainsi que la stérilisation de textiles et de vêtements déjà stérilisés auparavant.

10. Article 318 (Accès aux marchés - Définitions) : les numéros de dix chiffres présentés dans la liste tarifaire du Canada sont inclus uniquement à des fins statistiques.

11. Article 318 : «réparations ou modifications» - une opération ou un procédé qui entre dans la production ou l'assemblage d'un produit non fini pour en faire un produit fini neconstitue pas une réparation ou une modification d'un produit non fini; un élément d'un produit est un produit qui peut faire l'objet d'une réparation ou d'une modification.

12. Annexe 300A, (Commerce et investissement dans le secteur de l'automobile) Appendice 300A.1 - Canada : les paragraphes 1 et 2 ne seront pas interprétés comme modifiant les droits et obligations établis au chapitre 10 de l'Accord de libreéchange entre le Canada et les États-Unis, sauf en ce qui concerne l'application des règles d'origine de l'ALENA, qui remplaceront, aux fins de l'article 1005(1) les règles d'origine de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

13. Annexe 300A, Appendice 300A.2 - Mexique : les citations entre parenthèses tirées du Décret de l'automobile et du Règlement d'application du Décret de l'automobile ne sont incluses que pour la commodité du lecteur.

14. Annexe 300B (Produits textiles et vêtements), Section 1 (Portée et champ d'application) : les dispositions générales du chapitre 2 (Définitions), du chapitre 3 (Accès aux marchés), du chapitre 4 (Règles d'origine) et du chapitre 8 (Mesures d'urgence) sont assujetties aux règles spécifiques concernant les produits textiles et les vêtements établies dans l'annexe.

15. Annexe 300-B, Section 2 (Élimination des droits de douane) : l'expression «disposition contraire du présent accord» figurant au paragraphe 1 s'entend de dispositions telles que la section 4, l'article 802 (Mesures globales) et le chapitre 22 (Exceptions générales).

16. Annexe 300-B, Sections 4 (Mesures d'urgence bilatérales (Mesures tarifaires) ) et 5 (Mesures d'urgence bilatérales (Restrictions quantitatives) ) : pour l'application des sections 4 et 5 :

17. Annexe 300-B, Section 5 : à l'alinéa 5(c), l'expression «traitement équitable» est censée avoir le sens qu'elle a couramment sous le régime de l'Arrangement multifibres.

18. Annexe 300-B, Section 7, alinéa 1(c) (Examen et révision des règles d'origine) : dans le cas de la sous-position 6212.10, la règle et le paragraphe 1 ne seront pas appliqués si les Parties s'entendent, avant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, sur des mesures destinées à réduire le fardeau administratif et les coûts découlant de l'application de la règle concernant les positions 62.06 à 62.11 au vêtement visé à la sous-position 6212.10.

19. Annexe 300-B, Section 7, sousalinéa (2) d) (ii) : avant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, les Parties coopéreront au besoin relativement aux dispositions a) à i) de la règle concernant les sous-positions 6205.20 à 6205.30, afin d'encourager la production dans la zone de libre-échange des tissus utilisés dans la chemiserie visés expressément par la règle.

20. Annexe 300-B, appendice 3.1, paragraphe 17 (Application des interdictions, restrictions et niveaux de consultation applicables à l'importation et à l'exportation) : pour l'application du paragraphe 17, la détermination de l'élément qui détermine la classification tarifaire du produit sera fonction de la RGI 3b) du Système harmonisé, et si l'élément ne peut être déterminé en fonction de la RGI 3b), alors la détermination sera fonction de la RGI 3c) ou, si la RGI 3c) est inapplicable, elle sera fonction de la RGI 4. Si l'élément qui détermine la classification tarifaire est un mélange de deux ou plusieurs filés ou fibres, tous les filés et, le cas échéant, toutes les fibres contenus dans cet élément doivent être pris en considération.

21. Annexe 300-B, Liste 3.1.3. (Facteurs de conversion) : les facteurs de conversion de la liste correspondent à ceux qui sont utilisés pour les importations aux États-Unis. Le Canada et le Mexique peuvent élaborer leurs propres facteurs de conversion au moyen d'ententes commerciales mutuelles.

22. Article 401 (Produits originaires) : l'expression «décrit expressément» vise seulement à empêcher que l'alinéa 401(d) ne soit utilisé pour rendre admissible une partie d'une partie, lorsque la position ou la sous-position vise le produit final, la partie faite à partir de l'autre partie et l'autre partie.

23. Article 402 (Teneur en valeur régionale) :

24.Article 403 (Produits automobiles) :

25. Paragraphe 405(6) (De minimis) : pour l'application du paragraphe 6, la détermination du composant qui détermine la classification tarifaire du produit est basée sur la RGI 3b) du Système harmonisé. Si le composant ne peut pas être déterminé sur la base de la RGI 3b), la détermination doit alors être basée sur la RGI 3c) ou, si la RGI 3c) ne peut s'appliquer, sur la RGI 4. Lorsque le composant qui détermine la classification tarifaire est composé de deux fils ou plus ou de deux fibres ou plus, tous les fils et, le cas échéant, toutes les fibres de ce composant doivent être pris en compte.

26. Article 413 (Interprétation et application) : les règles d'origine du chapitre 4 sont basées sur le Système harmonisé de 1992, modifié par les nouveaux numéros tarifaires créés pour les fins des règles d'origine.

27. Article 415 (Définitions) : dans la définition de «valeur transactionnelle», l'expression «sauf dans l'application de l'alinéa 403(2) a) » a pour seul but de faire en sorte que la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle dans le contexte du paragraphe 403 (1) ou de l'alinéa 403(2) a) ne soit pas limitée à la transaction du producteur du produit.

28. Article 514 (Procédure douanière - Définitions) : la Réglementation uniforme stipulera clairement que la «détermination de l'origine» comprend un refus du traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu du paragraphe 506(4) et qu'un tel refus peut faire l'objet d'un examen et d'un appel.

29. Article 603, paragraphes 1 à 5 (Énergie - Restrictions à l'importation et à l'exportation) : ces paragraphes doivent être interprétés en conformité avec l'article 309 (Restrictions à l'importation et à l'exportation).

30. Article 703 (Agriculture - Accès aux marchés) : le taux de la nation la plus favorisée au 1er juillet 1991 est le taux de droit hors contingent spécifié à l'annexe 302.2.

31. Annexe 703.2, Section A (Mexique et États-Unis) : ce contingent remplace l'accès actuel du Mexique en vertu du «premier palier» du contingent tarifaire des États-Unis tel qu'il est décrit dans la Note supplémentaire 3(b) (i) du chapitre 17 du Tarif douanier harmonisé des États-Unis avant la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

32. Annexe 703.2, Section A (Mexique et États-Unis) : les États-Unis appliquent un programme de réexportation en vertu de la Note supplémentaire 3 du chapitre 17 du Tarif douanier harmonisé des États-Unis et de «7 C.F.R. Part 1530 (sub-parts A et B) ».

33. Annexe 703.2, Section B (Canada et Mexique) : l'inclusion au paragraphe 6 n'est pas censée annuler les exceptions aux articles 301 et 309 énoncées dans les listes respectives du Canada et du Mexique à l'annexe 301.3.

34. Article 906, paragraphes 4 et 6 (Compatibilité et équivalence) : ces paragraphes ne restreignent pas le droit de la Partie importatrice de réviser ses mesures.

35. Paragraphe 908 (2) (Évaluation de la conformité) : ce paragraphe ne traite pas de la question de la composition des organismes d'évaluation de la conformité de chacune des Parties.

36. Article 915 (Mesures normatives - Définitions) : la définition de «norme» doit être interprétée comme désignant :

à des fins courantes et répétées, y compris des dispositions explicatives ou autres dispositions connexes, contenues dans un document approuvé par un organisme de normalisation, qui n'ont pas de caractère obligatoire.

37. Article 915 : la définition de l'expression «règlement technique» doit être interprétée comme désignant :

38. Annexe 1001.2c (Seuils propres à chaque pays) : le Canada et les États-Unis tiendront des consultations au sujet de cette annexe avant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

39. Article 1101 (Investissement - Portée et champ d'application) : ce chapitre vise les investissements existants à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, ainsi que les investissements faits ou acquis après cette date.

40. Article 1101(2) et annexe 602.3 : dans la mesure où une Partie permet un investissement dans un secteur d'activité figurant à l'annexe III ou à l'annexe 602.3, cet investissement pourra recevoir la protection du chapitre 11 (Investissement).

41. Article 1106 (Prescriptions de résultats) : l'article 1106 n'empêche pas l'exécution des engagements pris ou le respect des exigences souscrites par des parties privées.

42. Article 1305 (Monopoles) : aux fins de cet article, le terme «monopole» dE9‚signe une entité, y compris un consortium ou un organisme gouvernemental, qui, sur tout marché pertinent sur le territoire d'une Partie, est maintenue ou désignée comme fournisseur exclusif de réseaux ou de services publics de transport des télécommunications.

43. Article 1501 (Lois sur la concurrence) : aucun investisseur ne peut se prévaloir de l'arbitrage investisseur-État prévu par le chapitre sur l'investissement à l'égard d'une question découlant de l'application de cet article.

44. Article 1502 (Monopoles et entreprises d'État) : cet article n'a pas pour effet d'empêcher un monopole de pratiquer des prix différents dans différents marchés géographiques, lorsque la différence repose sur des considérations commerciales normales, par exemple la situation de l'offre et de la demande sur ces marchés.

45. Paragraphe 1502(3) : la «délégation» comprend la délégation au monopole de pouvoirs gouvernementaux, par voie législative, par voie de décrets ou de directives du gouvernement ou par d'autres moyens.

46. Alinéa 1502(3) b) : l'établissement de prix différents selon les catégories de clients et selon qu'il s'agit d'entreprises affiliées ou non affiliées ainsi que l'interfinancement ne sont pas en eux-mêmes incompatibles avec la présente disposition; ces opérations y sont plutôt assujetties lorsque l'entreprise monopolistique s'en sert comme moyens anti-concurrentiels.

47. Paragraphe 2005(2) (Mécanisme de règlement des différends prévu par l'Accord général) : cette obligation n'est pas censée être assujettie au mécanisme de règlement des différends prévu dans ce chapitre.

Date de modification: