North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Annexes

Annex III: Activities Reserved to the State

Schedule of Mexico

Section A - Activities Reserved to the Mexican State

Mexico reserves the right to perform exclusively, and to refuse to permit the establishment of investments in, the following activities:

1. Petroleum, Other Hydrocarbons and Basic Petrochemicals

2. Electricity

3. Nuclear Power and Treatment of Radioactive Minerals

4. Satellite Communications

5. Telegraph Services

Measures:

6. Radiotelegraph Services

Measures:

7. Postal Services

8. Railroads

9. Issuance of Bills (currency) and Minting of Coinage

Measures:

10. Control, Inspection and Surveillance of Maritime and Inland Ports

Measures:

11. Control, Inspection and Surveillance of Airports and Heliports

Measures :

The measures referred to are provided for transparency purposes and include any subordinate measure adopted or maintained under the authority of and consistent with such measures.

Section B - Deregulation of Activities Reserved to the State

1. The activities set out in Section A are reserved to the Mexican State, and private equity investment is prohibited under Mexican Law. Where Mexico allows private investment to participate in such activities through service contracts, concessions, lending arrangements or any other type of contractual arrangement, such participation shall not be construed to affect the State's reservation of those activities.

2. If Mexican law is amended to allow private equity investment in an activity set out in Section A, Mexico may impose restrictions on foreign investment participation notwithstanding Article 1102, and describe them in Annex I. Mexico may also impose derogations from Article 1102 on foreign equity investment participation when selling an asset or ownership interest in an enterprise engaged in activities set out in Section A, and describe them in Annex I.

Section C - Activities Formerly Reserved to the Mexican State

Where an activity was reserved to the Mexican State on January 1, 1992 and is not reserved to the Mexican State on the date of entry into force of this Agreement, Mexico may restrict the initial sale of a stateowned asset or an ownership interest in a state enterprise that performs that activity to enterprises with majority ownership by Mexican nationals, as defined by the Mexican Constitution. For a period not to exceed three years from the initial sale, Mexico may restrict the transfer of such asset or ownership interest to other enterprises with majority ownership by Mexican nationals, as defined by the Mexican Constitution. On expiration of the three-year period, the obligations of national treatment set out in Article 1102 apply. This provision is subject to Article 1108.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

Annexes

Annexe III : Activités réservées à l'État

Liste du Mexique

Section A - Activités réservées au Mexique

Le Mexique se réserve l'exclusivité des activités et le droit d'interdire tout investissement dans les secteurs suivants :

1. Pétrole, autres hydrocarbures et produits pétrochimiques de base

2. Électricité

3. Énergie nucléaire et traitement des minéraux radioactifs

4. Communications par satellite

5. Services télégraphiques

Mesures :

6. Services radiotélégraphiques

Mesures :

7. Services postaux

8. Chemins de fer

9. Émission de papier monnaie et frappe de la monnaie

Mesures :

10. Contrôle, inspection et surveillance des ports maritimes et intérieurs (lacustres et fluviaux)

Mesures :

11. Contrôle, inspection et surveillance des aéroports et des héliports

Mesures :

Les textes juridiques sont mentionnés à des fins de transparence. Les mesures citées comprennent toute mesure subordonnée adoptée ou maintenue conformément à celles-ci.

Section B - Déréglementation des activités réservées à l'État 

1. Les activités énumérées à la section A sont réservées à l'État du Mexique; la loi mexicaine y interdit tout investissement privé sous forme de participation au capital. Dans les cas où le Mexique autorise le secteur privé à prendre part à ces activités dans le cadre de contrats de service, de concessions, d'ententes de prêts ou d'autres types d'accords contractuels, une telle participation n'affecte pas l'exclusivité réservée à l'État en ce qui concerne ces activités.

2. Dans l'éventualité où le Mexique modifierait ses lois afin de permettre l'investissement privé sous forme de participation au capital dans les activités énumérées à la section A, il pourrait imposer des restrictions à l'investissement étranger, nonobstant l'article 1102, et les décrire à l'annexe I. Le Mexique peut également, au moment de vendre un actif ou une participation au capital dans une société oeuvrant dans les secteurs d'activités énumérés à la section A, imposer des dérogations à l'article 1102 sur l'investissement étranger sous forme de participation au capital et les décrire à l'annexe I.

Section C - Activités auparavant réservées au Mexique

Dans le cas des activités qui étaient réservées au Mexique au 1 er janvier 1992 et qui ne lui sont plus réservées à la date de l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, le Mexique peut restreindre aux entreprises appartenant en majorité à des ressortissants mexicains, tel que les définit la Constitution du Mexique, la vente initiale d'un actif de l'État ou d'une participation au capital d'une société d'État oeuvrant dans ces secteurs d'activité. Durant une période qui ne dépassera pas les trois années qui suivront la vente initiale, le Mexique pourra restreindre à d'autres entreprises appartenant en majorité à des citoyens mexicains, tel que les définit la Constitution du Mexique, le transfert des actifs et des participations au capital en question. Au terme de cette période de trois ans, les obligations relatives au traitement national figurant à l'article 1102 s'appliqueront. La présente disposition est formulée sous réserve de l'article 1108.

Date de modification: