Cross Border Movement of Business Persons

Temporary Entry into the United States and Mexico under the North American Free Trade Agreement

A Guide for Canadian Businesspersons

This guide provides readers with general information on the criteria and procedures for entering the United States and Mexico temporarily for business purposes and the related immigration requirements under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).

The content of this guide is not the actual “legal text” of the NAFTA or a member country’s immigration regulations. Although the guide includes basic information, it is subject to change and should be verified before seeking temporary entry for business purposes.

In addition to this guide, travellers heading to the United States or Mexico are strongly encouraged to read the country-specific guides on travel.gc.ca. These guides contain detailed information not contained in this publication.


Date Modified:

Mouvements transfrontaliers de gens d'affaires

L’Admission temporaire aux États-Unis et au Mexique aux termes de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain

Guide à l’intention des gens d’affaires canadiens

Ce guide fournit aux lecteurs des renseignements généraux sur les critères et les procédures régissant l’admission temporaire des gens d’affaires aux États-Unis et au Mexique aux termes de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), de même que sur les exigences en matière d’immigration.

Le contenu de ce guide ne reproduit pas le « texte légal » de l’ALENA ou des dispositions réglementaires en matière d’immigration des pays signataires. Même si le guide fournit les renseignements de base, ces renseignements peuvent faire l’objet de modifications et il importe de confirmer leur validité avant de faire une demande d’admission temporaire pour affaires.

Outre ce guide, les voyageurs à destination des États-Unis ou du Mexique sont invités à consulter le guide correspondant sur voyage.gc.ca. Ces guides donnent des renseignements plus détaillés que le document que vous avez entre les mains.


Date de modification: