Cross Border Movement of Business Persons

Temporary Entry into the United States and Mexico under the North American Free Trade Agreement

A Guide for Canadian Business persons

Published by Global Affairs Canada

1. Temporary Entry into the United States and Mexico under the NAFTA

Under Chapter 16 of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), four categories of Canadian businesspersons can enter the United States and Mexico temporarily to conduct business.

Chapter 16 provisions do not change a member country’s general immigration regulations governing public health, safety and national security. They also do not waive the requirement for Canadian temporary workers to comply with a member country’s applicable licensing or certification requirements regarding professions or after-sales service.

For more detailed information about U.S. immigration regulations and applicable forms and fees, consult the Web site of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

For information regarding entry into Mexico as well as applicable forms and fees, please see the Web site of the Embassy of Mexico in Canada.

Am I eligible to enter the United States or Mexico temporarily on business?

Chapter 16 of the NAFTA allows the following categories of businesspersons access to the United States and Mexico:

What is Temporary Entry?

Temporary entry, as defined in the NAFTA, means entry without the intent to establish permanent residence. For example, the United States specifies that the alien must satisfy to the inspecting immigration officer that the proposed stay is temporary. A temporary period has a reasonable, finite end that does not equate to permanent residence. In order to establish that the alien's entry will be temporary, the alien must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the inspecting immigration officer that his or her work assignment in the U.S. will end at a predictable time and that he or she will depart upon completion of the assignment.

Can my family accompany me?

For each of the above four categories, spouses and dependents may accompany you as long as they meet the member country’s existing temporary entry immigration regulations. In other words, spouses and dependents enter a NAFTA member country as visitors. There are no special provisions under the NAFTA to facilitate the issue of employment authorizations for spouses and dependents.

Spouses and dependents wishing to seek employment must also comply with the member country’s regular job validation process for temporary foreign workers. Spouses or dependents
can work in the United States only if they independently qualify under the NAFTA or under the general foreign worker provisions, including a labour certification test.

Spouses of Intra-company Transferees and Traders and Investors may benefit from general U.S. immigration provisions allowing spouses to work while in the United States. They must, however, first obtain an Employment Authorization before beginning work by submitting Form I-765. 

Don’t qualify for temporary entry under the NAFTA?

If you have a job offer or signed contract from an employer in the United States or Mexico, but you do not qualify under the four categories of NAFTA businesspersons, you may still qualify for entry under U.S. or Mexican general immigration provisions.

Occupations not covered under the NAFTA require different types of temporary worker authorizations. These include athletes, agricultural workers, computer programmers, journalists, performers, trades people, trainees, students and volunteers, among others. Information on the various processes for temporary entry into the U.S. is available on the USCIS Web site . (See also VI. Non-NAFTA Temporary Entry Visas in the United States.)

In Mexico, immigration regulations limit the categories to which foreign citizens may apply. Generally, they are only issued work permits in certain sectors or those undergoing labour shortages. More information on working or doing business in Mexico is available on the Embassy of Mexico in Canada web site.

Be prepared!!!

Before You Go, Don’t Forget...

Chapter 16 provisions of the NAFTA:

Expedited Removal

Canadians travelling to the United States should note that U.S. Immigration’s “expedited removal” procedure allows an immigration agent, with the concurrence of a supervisor, to bar non-citizens from the United States for five years if, in their judgment, the individual presented false documentation or misrepresented themselves. Canadians should be aware that lying to a border official is a serious offence. Expedited removal is part of comprehensive reforms intended to control irregular immigration. There is no formal appeal process under expedited removal, but if you believe the law has been misapplied in your case, you can request a supervisory review by writing to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) district director responsible for the port of entry where the decision was made. Cases of possible misapplication should also be brought to the attention of the Consular Affairs Bureau of Foreign Affairs Canada at 1 800-267-6788 or (613) 944-6788 (in Ottawa) or to the attention of the nearest Canadian government office.

Not Eligible to Enter the United States?

Criminal Records

If you have a criminal record, no matter how minor or how long ago the offence occurred, you may be refused entry to the U.S. and there may be problems in transit through U.S. airports. Under U.S. law, a pardon issued by Canadian authorities is not recognized for purposes of entry into the U.S. If you have a criminal record or are unsure if you are eligible to enter the U.S., contact U.S. immigration officials at the relevant port of entry well before travelling to the United States. If you are not eligible, you may apply for a waiver of ineligibility (Form I-192, Advance Permission to Enter the United States, PDF, 40.3 KB). Please keep in mind that there is a fee for this service and that it may take several months to process your application.

Return to Guide for Canadian Businesspersons table of contents

Date Modified:

Mouvements transfrontaliers de gens d'affaires

L’Admission temporaire aux États-Unis et au Mexique aux termes de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain

Guide à l’intention des gens d’affaires canadiens

Publié par Affaires mondiales Canada

1. Admission temporaire aux États-Unis et au Mexique aux termes de l’ALENA

En vertu du chapitre 16 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), quatre catégories de gens d’affaires canadiens peuvent bénéficier d’une admission temporaire aux États-Unis ou au Mexique pour des raisons d’affaires.

Les dispositions du chapitre 16 ne modifient pas l’application de la réglementation en matière d’immigration adoptée par chacun des pays signataires afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité publiques, ainsi que la sécurité nationale. Elles n’évitent pas non plus aux travailleurs temporaires canadiens d’avoir à se conformer aux exigences en matière d’autorisation d’exercer ou de reconnaissance professionnelle relativement à l’exercice d’une profession ou à la fourniture d’un service après-vente.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la réglementation en matière d’immigration des États-Unis, ainsi que sur les formulaires et les droits applicables, consultez le site Web des Services de la citoyenneté et de l’immigration, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’admission au Mexique, ainsi que sur les formulaires et les droits applicables, consultez le site Web de l’ambassade du Mexique (anglais seulement).

Puis-je être admis temporairement aux États-Unis ou au Mexique pour affaires?

Le chapitre 16 de l’ALENA autorise l’admission aux États-Unis et au Mexique pour les gens d’affaires entrant dans une des catégories suivantes :

Qu’entend-on par admission temporaire?

Aux termes de l’ALENA, l’admission temporaire désigne l’admission sur le territoire d’une personne n’ayant pas l’intention d’y établir sa résidence permanente. Par exemple, aux États-Unis, la personne étrangère doit fournir à l’agent d’immigration la preuve que son séjour sera temporaire. La durée d’un séjour temporaire a une fin définie raisonnable qui ne s’apparente pas à la résidence permanente. Pour établir que son séjour sera temporaire, la personne doit démontrer à la satisfaction de l’agent d’immigration que son affectation aux États-Unis prendra fin à une date prévisible et qu’elle quittera alors le pays.

Ma famille peut-elle m’accompagner?

Si vous entrez dans l’une des quatre catégories précitées, votre conjoint et vos personnes à charge peuvent vous accompagner pour autant qu’ils satisfont aux dispositions en matière d’immigration régissant l’admission temporaire dans le pays hôte. En d’autres mots, votre conjoint et vos personnes à charge sont admis dans l’autre pays signataire de l’ALENA avec le statut de visiteur. L’ALENA ne contient pas de dispositions spéciales facilitant l’obtention d’un permis de travail dans le cas des conjoints et des personnes à charge.

Les conjoints et les personnes à charge qui veulent briguer un emploi doivent se soumettre au processus habituel de validation de l’offre d’emploi qui s’applique à tous les travailleurs étrangers temporaires dans le pays hôte. Pour travailler aux États-Unis, ces personnes doivent obtenir en leur propre nom un permis de travail en vertu de l’ALENA ou des dispositions générales visant les travailleurs étrangers, y compris la validation de l’offre d’emploi.

Les conjoints de personnes mutées à l’intérieur d’une société, de négociants ou d’investisseurs peuvent se prévaloir des dispositions générales en matière d’immigration autorisant les conjoints à occuper un emploi durant leur séjour aux États-Unis. Toutefois, ils doivent obtenir un permis de travail avant de commencer à travailler; il faut pour cela remplir un formulaire I-765, disponible sur le site web du United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Qu'arrive-t-il si je ne suis pas admissible en vertu de l'ALENA?

Si vous avez une offre d’emploi ou un contrat signé par un employeur aux États-Unis ou au Mexique, mais que vous n’appartenez pas à l’une des quatre catégories de gens d’affaires définies dans l’ALENA, il se peut que vous soyez admissible en vertu des dispositions générales en matière d’immigration des États-Unis ou du Mexique.

Les professions non couvertes par l’ALENA nécessitent un permis de travail temporaire de type différent selon la profession. C’est le cas notamment pour les athlètes, les travailleurs agricoles, les analystes-programmeurs, les journalistes, les artistes de spectacle, les gens de métier, les stagiaires, les étudiants et les bénévoles. On peut obtenir des renseignements sur les divers processus d’admission temporaire aux États-Unis sur le site Web des Services de la citoyenneté et de l’immigration, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (voir également la section VI, Visas de séjour temporaire aux États-Unis pour les personnes n’appartenant pas à une catégorie définie dans l’ALENA).

Au Mexique, la réglementation en matière d’immigration limite les catégories dont les étrangers peuvent se prévaloir. De façon générale, les permis de travail ne sont délivrés que pour des emplois appartenant à certains secteurs ou pour des emplois touchés par une pénurie de main-d’œuvre. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les possibilités de travailler ou sur les conditions liées à la conduite des affaires au Mexique, consultez le site Web de l’ambassade du Mexique au Canada (anglais seulement). Soyez prêt!!!

Avant de partir, n’oubliez pas...

Les dispositions du chapitre 16 de l’ALENA :

Renvoi accéléré

Les canadiens qui se rendent aux États-Unis doivent savoir que la procédure de « renvoi accéléré » des douanes américaines permet à un agent d’immigration, avec l’accord de son superviseur, d’interdire pour une période de cinq ans l’accès aux États-Unis à une personne qui n’a pas la citoyenneté américaine s’il considère que la personne lui a présenté de faux papiers ou a fait une fausse déclaration. Les Canadiens doivent savoir que le fait de mentir aux autorités frontalières est une infraction grave. Le renvoi accéléré fait partie des mesures prises dans le cadre de vastes réformes visant à contrôler l’immigration irrégulière. Il n’y a pas de procédure d’appel officielle applicable en cas de renvoi accéléré; toutefois, si vous croyez que la loi a été mal appliquée dans votre cas, vous pouvez demander une révision de votre dossier en écrivant au directeur du district, "Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), U.S. Department of Homeland Security", responsable du point d’entrée où la décision a été prise. Ce genre de cas devrait également être porté à l’attention de la Direction générale des affaires consulaires d’Affaires étrangères Canada, que l’on peut joindre au numéro 1 800 267-6788 ou (613) 944-6788 (à Ottawa), ou à l’attention du bureau du gouvernement du Canada le plus proche.

Vous n'êtes pas admissible à entrer aux États-Unis?

Le casier judiciaire

Si vous avez un casier judiciaire, vous n’aurez probablement pas le droit d’entrer aux États-Unis, quelles que soient la nature du délit et la date à laquelle il remonte. Vous pourriez également avoir des difficultés si vous faites escale dans un aéroport américain. En effet, en vertu des lois américaines, un pardon accordé au Canada n’est pas reconnu aux fins de l’entrée aux États-Unis. Si vous avez un casier judiciaire ou si vous n’êtes pas certain d’être admissible à entrer aux États-Unis, communiquez avec les autorités de l’immigration américaine du point d’entrée assez longtemps avant la date de votre voyage aux États-Unis. Si vous ne répondez effectivement pas aux critères d’admissibilité, vous pourrez demander une dispense au moyen du formulaire I-192, Advance Permission to Enter the United States (PDF, 40.3 ko), disponible sur Internet. Des droits sont exigibles pour ce service et le traitement de la demande peut prendre plusieurs mois.

Retournez à la table de matières du Guide à l’intention des gens d’affaires canadiens

Date de modification: