Cross Border Movement of Business Persons

Temporary Entry into the United States and Mexico under the North American Free Trade Agreement

A Guide for Canadian Businesspersons

Published by Global Affairs Canada

3. Professionals

Under the NAFTA, certain Canadian Professionals may enter the United States and Mexico to carry out professional activities for an employer or on contract to an enterprise located
in a member country. This includes performing training functions or conducting seminars related to your profession.

Professionals are exempt from the job-validation process normally required of individuals seeking to work in another country.

Your profession must be one of the 63 listed below (also refer to the interpretive notes below).

General
Medical/Allied Professionals
Scientists

Teachers

Key to Number Symbols

1 = Baccalaureate Degree
2 = Provincial License
3 = Post-secondary Diploma or Certificate
4 = Three Years Relevant Experience

Interpretive Notes

Certification requirements for Health-Care Workers

Certain health-care workers must meet specific certification requirements to enter and work in the United States. On July 25, 2003, the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS) issued a final rule amending the interim regulations affecting certification requirements for certain health-care workers entering the U.S. to provide health-care services.

The regulations cover workers in seven health-care occupations: Registered nurses; physical therapists; occupational therapists; speech language pathologists; medical technologists; medical technicians; and physician assistants.

To enter the U.S. to perform labour as a health-care worker in these occupations, you must first have your credentials evaluated and certified.

If you are a member of one of these professions, you should contact your professional association. If you have a job offer or are currently working in the U.S., you may wish to contact your U.S. employer.

How do I qualify as a NAFTA Professional?

You may qualify as a NAFTA Professional if:

What documentation do I need at the border?

At a U.S. or Mexican port of entry, you must establish that you qualify as a NAFTA Professional.

You should carry with you Proof of Canadian Citizenship (ideally, your Canadian passport) and a letter from your prospective employer, or signed contract, outlining the purpose of your entry. This will assist in your inspection by U.S. and Mexican immigration officials.

The letter or contract should include:

United States

How can I apply as a Professional?

You may apply for entry to the U.S. as a NAFTA Professional at major land border ports of entry or airports handling international flights with pre-flight inspection stations. There is no written application, and no prior petition, labour certification or prior approval required for Canadians applying for admission to the U.S. under the TN classification status. However, you will need to provide evidence that you meet the requirements of the category, as outlined in the above section, “What documentation do I need at the border?”.

You will be issued an I-94 (Record of Entry Document) indicating the TN classification code, which serves as your employment authorization. You should present the I-94 to the U.S. Social Security Administration to receive a social security number. Please note that there is a processing fee for the TN employment authorization.

Professionals must comply with all applicable state and local certification, registration or licensing requirements before starting work. You should contact the state where you wish to
work for additional information on certification requirements.

Self-employed businesspersons may not enter the united states to be self-employed or to establish a professional practice. Professionals must have a pre-arranged contract with a u.s. enterprise. Businesspersons looking to establish a business in the u.s. may wish to apply for temporary entry in either the intra-company transferee or trader and investor category.

How can I change or renew my status?

TN status is generally issued for one year and may be renewed indefinitely provided that you are able to demonstrate that you have no intention of pursuing full-time employment in the United States.

You may change or add employers while in the U.S. by filing Form I-129 (Petition for Temporary Worker) at:

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services
Nebraska Service Center
P.O. Box 87129
Lincoln, NE 68501-7129

Please keep in mind that there is a fee associated with filing an I-129 and that applications take up to three months to process. You can find up-to-date information regarding forms and fees on the USCIS Web site.

You should remain in the U.S. while your application is being processed. Leaving the country at this time may negatively affect the successful completion of your application. You may not work for a different or an additional employer until United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) approves the petition.

Alternatively, you may depart the U.S. and apply for re- entry to obtain an employment authorization with a new or additional employer. For more information, including on premium processing, please visit the USCIS Web site.

Mexico

How can I apply as a Professional?

To work in Mexico as a Professional, you will require an approved FM-3 Form, which you can obtain from a Mexican embassy or consulate in Canada, from a National Migration Institute office within Mexico.

You can also enter Mexico with a Multiple Migratory Form (FMN), which you can obtain at no charge from most travel agencies and airlines or at a Mexican port of entry. (The FM-3 form is not issued at Mexican ports of entry.) The FMN is valid for up to 30 days. However, before starting work in Mexico you must obtain an FM-3 form. You will also need to obtain a professional identity card from the Directorate General of Professions of the Ministry of Education before engaging in your profession.

When applying for an FM-3 form you must demonstrate that you meet the qualifying criteria as a NAFTA Professional. FM-3 forms are valid for one year but you may request up to four extensions of one year each before you need to get a new form. Please keep in mind that there is a processing fee for the FM-3 form.

Regardless of where you apply for the FM-3, the following information will be required:

The letter from the company in Mexico must contain your full name and address, request an FM-3 Visa, and refer to the attached documentation. In addition, it should explain the purpose of your trip, the arrangements for payment, and the location(s) of work within Mexico. Also, make sure that you provide the information required to demonstrate you meet the requirements of a NAFTA Professional as outlined in the above section, “What documentation do I need at the border?”. If applying from Canada, you must forward four copies of each document. An immigration office must validate your visa within 45 days of your arrival in Mexico.

How can I change or renew my status?

If you wish to change your temporary residency status, you can apply in Mexico at a National Migration Institute office. If you are seeking an extension, you must make a declaration that there has been no change in the purpose or circumstances of your original entry.

Return to Guide for Canadian Businesspersons table of contents

Date Modified:

Mouvements transfrontaliers de gens d'affaires

L’Admission temporaire aux États-Unis et au Mexique aux termes de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain

Guide à l’intention des gens d’affaires canadiens

Publié par Affaires mondiales Canada

3. Professionnels

En vertu de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), certains professionnels canadiens peuvent se rendre aux États-Unis et au Mexique pour y mener leurs activités pour un employeur ou dans le cadre d’un contrat signé avec une entreprise du pays hôte. De telles activités incluent notamment les fonctions de formation ou la tenue de séminaires dans le cadre de la profession.

Les professionnels n’ont pas à se soumettre au processus de validation des offres d’emploi normalement applicable aux personnes qui veulent s’intégrer au marché du travail du pays hôte.

Votre profession doit figurer parmi les 63 professions répertoriées ci-dessous (veuillez référer également aux notes interprétatives ci-dessous).

Divers
Médecine et services professionnels connexes
Sciences
Enseignement
Explication de la notation chiffrée

1 = Baccalauréat
2 = Permis d’une province
3 = Diplôme ou certificat d’études postsecondaires
4 = Trois années d’expérience pertinente

Notes explicatives

Reconnaissance professionnelle des travailleurs de la santé

Certains travailleurs de la santé doivent répondre à des critères précis pour être admis aux États-Unis dans le but d’y travailler. Le 25 juillet 2003, les Services de la citoyenneté et de l’immigration, Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS), ont adopté un nouveau règlement modifiant le règlement provisoire en vigueur et touchant notamment la reconnaissance professionnelle dans le cas de certains travailleurs de la santé admis aux États-Unis pour fournir des services dans leur domaine.

Le nouveau règlement couvre sept catégories de travailleurs de la santé : Infirmiers- Infirmières, physiothérapeutes-kinésithérapeutes, ergothérapeutes, orthophonistes, technologues médicaux, techniciens médicaux et auxiliaires médicaux.

Pour être admis aux États-Unis à titre de travailleur de la santé appartenant à une de ces catégories, vous devez d’abord faire évaluer et certifier vos titres de compétences.

Si vous appartenez à une des catégories précitées, vous pouvez communiquer avec votre ordre professionnel. Si vous avez une offre d’emploi ou si vous travaillez déjà aux États-Unis, vous pouvez passer par l’entremise de votre employeur dans ce pays.

Quelles conditions dois-je remplir pour être admis au titre de la catégorie « Professionnels » définie dans l’ALENA?

Vous pourrez être admis au titre de la catégorie « Professionnels » définie dans l’ALENA, si :

De quels documents ai-je besoin à la frontière?

Au poste frontalier des États-Unis ou du Mexique, vous devez établir que vous appartenez à la catégorie « Professionnels » définie dans l’ALENA.

Vous devez avoir votre preuve de citoyenneté canadienne (idéalement, votre passeport canadien) et une lettre de votre futur employeur ou le contrat dûment signé, exposant la raison de votre entrée au pays. Cela vous aidera au moment de l’inspection effectuée par les autorités de l’immigration des États-Unis ou du Mexique.

La lettre, ou le contrat, doit donner :

États-Unis

Que dois-je faire pour être admis au titre de la catégorie « Professionnels »?

Vous pouvez demander à être admis aux États-Unis au titre de la catégorie « Professionnels » définie dans l’ALENA à un poste frontière ou au poste d’inspection avant embarquement d’un aéroport international. Les Canadiens admis aux États-Unis sous la classification TN n’ont pas à présenter une demande écrite ni à faire une requête préalable, ou à obtenir une validation de l’offre d’emploi ou une approbation préalable. Il faut toutefois que vous présentiez une preuve que vous remplissez les exigences de la catégorie « Professionnels », comme il a été exposé précédemment sous la rubrique « De quels documents ai-je besoin à la frontière? ».

On vous remettra alors un formulaire I-94, Record of Entry Document, portant le code de classification TN, qui vous servira de permis de travail. Vous devrez présenter votre formulaire I-94 aux autorités de la sécurité sociale américaine, U.S. Social Security Administration, pour obtenir un numéro de sécurité sociale. Des droits sont exigibles pour le traitement du permis de travail TN. Avant de commencer à travailler, le professionnel doit satisfaire à toutes les exigences de l’État ou de l’administration locale en matière d’accréditation, d’enregistrement ou d’obtention de permis. Pour plus de renseignements sur les exigences liées à la reconnaissance professionnelle, communiquez avec l’État où vous souhaitez travailler.

Les gens d’affaires autonomes ne sont pas admis aux États-Unis dans le but d’y travailler à titre autonome ou d’y établir un cabinet professionnel. Les professionnels doivent avoir signé un contrat avec une entreprise américaine. Les gens d’affaires qui souhaitent établir une entreprise aux États-Unis pourront demander l’admission temporaire au titre de la catégorie « personnes mutées à l’intérieur d’une société » ou de la catégorie « négociants et investisseurs ».

Que dois-je faire si je veux modifier ou renouveler mon statut?

La classification TN est généralement valide pour un an; elle est renouvelable indéfiniment pour autant que le demandeur n’ait pas l’intention de travailler à temps plein aux États-Unis.

Vous pouvez changer l’employeur inscrit ou ajouter d’autres employeurs sur le formulaire alors que vous êtes aux États-Unis; pour cela, vous devez remplir un formulaire I-129, PETITION FOR TEMPORARY WORKER, et l’envoyer à :

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services
Nebraska Service Center
P.O. Box 87129
Lincoln, NE 68501-7129

Des droits sont exigibles pour le traitement d’un formulaire I-129 et il faut compter jusqu’à trois mois pour la délivrance du document. Vous trouverez des renseignements à jour concernant les formulaires et les droits sur le site Web de l’USCIS.

Il est souhaitable que vous restiez aux États-Unis pendant que votre demande est traitée. Si vous quittez le pays, cela pourrait empêcher que votre demande soit acceptée. Vous ne pouvez pas commencer à travailler pour un autre employeur ou pour un employeur supplémentaire tant que les Services de la citoyenneté et de l’immigration, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), n’ont pas répondu positivement à votre requête.

Vous pouvez aussi quitter les États-Unis et demander à y être de nouveau admis pour obtenir un permis de travail associé à un nouvel employeur ou à un nombre accru d’employeurs. Pour plus de renseignements, y compris sur le traitement spécial, consultez le site Web de l'USCIS.

Mexique

Que dois-je faire pour être admis au titre de la catégorie
« Professionnels »?

Pour travailler au Mexique à titre de professionnel, vous devez détenir un formulaire FM-3 dûment approuvé. Vous pouvez obtenir ce formulaire en vous adressant à l’ambassade ou à un consulat du Mexique au Canada, à un bureau de l’Institut national des migrations, Instituto Nacional de Migraciòn, au Mexique, ou par Internet

Vous pouvez également être admis au Mexique avec le formulaire FMN, Forma migratoria multiple, que l’on peut obtenir sans frais auprès de la plupart des compagnies aériennes et agences de voyage ou à n’importe quel point d’entrée au Mexique. (Le formulaire FM-3 n’est pas délivré aux points d’entrée au Mexique.) La durée de validité du formulaire FMN est de 30 jours. Cependant, vous devez obtenir un formulaire FM-3 avant de commencer à travailler au Mexique. Vous devrez également obtenir une carte d’identité de professionnel de la Direction générale des professions du ministère de l’Éducation, avant d’occuper votre emploi.

Lorsque vous faites une demande de formulaire FM-3, vous devez prouver que vous répondez aux critères correspondant à la catégorie « Professionnels » définie dans l’ALENA. La durée de validité du formulaire FM-3 est d’un an, mais vous pouvez demander jusqu’à quatre renouvellements d’un an avant de devoir vous procurer un nouveau formulaire. Des droits sont exigibles pour le traitement d’un formulaire FM-3.

Où que vous vous adressiez pour faire établir un formulaire FM-3, vous devrez fournir les documents suivants :

La lettre de l’employeur au Mexique doit mentionner votre nom et votre adresse au complet, demander un visa FM-3 à votre nom et énumérer les pièces jointes. Elle doit également préciser le but de votre voyage, les modalités de votre rémunération et le (les) endroit(s) où vous travaillerez au Mexique. Ayez soin de fournir les renseignements nécessaires pour prouver que vous répondez aux critères correspondant à la catégorie « Professionnels » définie dans l’ALENA, comme il a été exposé précédemment sous la rubrique « De quels documents ai-je besoin à la frontière? ». Si vous faites la demande à partir du Canada, vous devez envoyer quatre copies de chaque document. Une fois que vous serez au Mexique, un agent d’immigration devra valider votre visa dans les 45 jours.

Que dois-je faire si je veux modifier ou renouveler mon statut?

Si vous voulez modifier votre statut de résident temporaire, vous pouvez en faire la demande au Mexique dans un bureau de l’Institut national des migrations, Instituto Nacional de Migraciòn. Si vous voulez obtenir un renouvellement, vous devez faire une déclaration énonçant que le but et les modalités de votre séjour n’ont pas changé depuis votre admission initiale au pays.

Retournez à la table de matières du Guide à l’intention des gens d’affaires canadiens

Date de modification: