Pacific-Alliance - Background and additional links

This page serves as a toolkit for Canadians interested in learning more about ongoing engagement between the Pacific Alliance and Canada.

Background

The Pacific Alliance is a regional integration initiative created in 2011 by Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru that seeks the free movement of goods, services, capital and people. The purpose of the Alliance is to promote greater competitiveness and economic growth for member countries, as well as to expand economic relations with the Asia-Pacific region.

On June 29, 2017, at its Council of Ministers meeting attended by the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of International Trade, the Pacific Alliance invited certain observer states (Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Singapore), to become Associate Members. While Canada has comprehensive and ambitious free trade agreements (FTAs) with all four Alliance members, Associate Membership would involve a new FTA with the Alliance as a bloc.

Canada also has an important presence in these countries with $49.6 billion of Canadian direct investment abroad (CDIA) in 2016 (approximately 19 percent of the total CDIA in Latin American countries). Canada’s total merchandise trade with the Pacific Alliance member countries reached a value of $48 billion in 2016. The four countries of the Alliance account for more than 75 percent of Canada’s two-way trade with the whole Latin American region.

Related links

Additional information on Canada’s relationship with the Pacific Alliance countries:

Date Modified:

Alliance du Pacifique – Contexte et renseignements additionnels

Cette page sert de trousse d’outils pour les Canadiens souhaitant en apprendre davantage au sujet de l’engagement continu entre l’Alliance du Pacifique et le Canada.

Contexte

L’Alliance du Pacifique est une initiative d’intégration régionale, crée en 2011 par le Chili, la Colombie, le Mexique et le Pérou. Son but est de favoriser la libre circulation des biens, des services, des capitaux et des personnes. L’Alliance vise à promouvoir une compétitivité et une croissance économique plus importantes pour les pays membres, ainsi qu’à étendre les relations économiques avec la région Asie-Pacifique.

Le 29 juin 2017, lors de sa réunion du Conseil des ministres, à laquelle a participé l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne, ministre du Commerce international, l’Alliance a invité certains états observateurs (Canada, Australie, Nouvelle-Zélande et Singapour) à devenir des membres associés. Alors que le Canada possède des accords de libre-échange (ALE) exhaustifs et ambitieux avec les quatre membres de l’Alliance, le fait de devenir un membre associé nécessiterait un nouvel ALE avec l’Alliance en tant que bloc.

Le Canada est également très présent dans ces pays, avec un investissement direct canadien à l’étranger (IDCE) de 49,6 milliards de dollars en 2016 (environ 19 % de l’IDCE dans les pays d’Amérique latine). Le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et les membres de l’Alliance du Pacifique s’est chiffré à 48 milliards de dollars en 2016. Les quatre pays membres de l’Alliance représentent plus de 75 % de la valeur du commerce bilatéral que le Canada effectue avec l’ensemble des pays de l’Amérique latine. 

Liens connexes

Autres renseignements sur la relation du Canada avec les pays de l’Alliance du Pacifique :

 

Date de modification: