Text of the Canada–Ukraine Free trade agreement – Chapter 2: National treatment and market access

Article 2.1: Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

Agreement on Agriculture means the Agreement on Agriculture, contained in Annex-1A of the WTO Agreement;

agricultural good means a product listed in Annex 1 of the Agreement on Agriculture;

export subsidy means an export subsidy as defined in Article 1(e) of the Agreement on Agriculture.

Article 2.2: Scope and Coverage

This Chapter applies to trade in goods of a Party except as otherwise provided in this Agreement.

Section A – National Treatment

Article 2.3 National Treatment

1. Each Party shall accord national treatment to the goods of the other Party in accordance with Article III of the GATT 1994, and to this end Article III of the GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

2. The treatment to be accorded by a Party under paragraph 1 means, with respect to a sub-national government, treatment no less favourable than the most favourable treatment accorded by that sub-national government to a like, directly competitive or substitutable good, as the case may be, of the Party of which it forms a part.

3. This Article does not apply to a measure set out in Annex 2-A (Exceptions to Articles 2.3 and 2.5).

Section B – Tariffs

Article 2.4: Tariff Elimination on Imports

1. Except as otherwise provided in this Agreement, a Party may not increase an existing customs duty, or adopt a customs duty, on an originating good.

2. Except as otherwise provided in this Agreement, each Party shall progressively eliminate its customs duties on originating goods in accordance with its Schedule to Annex 2-B (Tariff Elimination).

3. During the tariff elimination process, each Party shall apply to originating goods traded between the Parties the lesser of the customs duties resulting from a comparison between the rate established in accordance with the Schedule to Annex 2-B (Tariff Elimination) and the applied most-favoured-nation (MFN) rate.

4. At the request of a Party, the Parties shall discuss accelerating the elimination of customs duties set out in their Schedules to Annex 2-B or incorporating into a Party’s Schedule a good that is not subject to tariff elimination. An agreement between the Parties to accelerate the elimination of a customs duty on a good or to include a good in a Party’s Schedule to Annex 2-B shall supersede a duty rate or staging category determined pursuant to a Schedule for that good when approved by each Party in accordance with its applicable internal procedures.

5. For greater certainty, a Party may:

Section C – Non-Tariff Measures

Article 2.5: Import and Export Restrictions

1. Except as otherwise provided in this Agreement, a Party may not adopt or maintain a prohibition or restriction on the importation of a good of the other Party or on the exportation or sale for export of a good destined for the territory of the other Party, except in accordance with Article XI of the GATT 1994, and to this end Article XI of the GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made a part of this Agreement.

2. The rights and obligations of the GATT 1994 incorporated by paragraph 1 prohibit:

3. If a Party adopts or maintains a prohibition or restriction on the importation from or exportation to a non-Party of a good, this Agreement does not prevent the Party from:

4. If a Party adopts or maintains a prohibition or restriction on the importation of a good from a non-Party, at the request of the other Party, the Parties shall discuss with a view to avoiding undue interference with or distortion of pricing, marketing or distribution arrangements in the other Party.

5. This Article does not apply to a measure set out in Annex 2-A (Exceptions to Articles 2.3 and 2.5).

Article 2.6: Customs User Fees and Similar Charges

1. A Party shall not adopt or maintain a fee or charge imposed on or in connection with importation of a good of the other Party, except in accordance with Article VIII of the GATT 1994, and to this end Article VIII of the GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

2. Paragraph 1 does not prevent a Party from imposing a customs duty or a charge set out in paragraphs (a), (b), or (d) of the definition of “customs duty” in Article 1.6 (Definitions of General Application).

Article 2.7: Balance-of Payments Exception

1. The Parties shall endeavour to avoid the imposition of restrictive measures for balance-of-payments purposes.

2. A Party in serious balance-of-payments difficulties, or under imminent threat thereof, may, in accordance with the conditions established under the GATT 1994, the Understanding on the Balance-of-Payments Provisions of the GATT 1994 and the Declaration on Trade Measures Taken for Balance of Payments Purposes, adopt a trade restrictive measure, which shall be of limited duration and non-discriminatory and shall not go beyond what is necessary to remedy the balance-of-payments situation.

3. Before adopting a measure pursuant to paragraph 2, the Party shall notify the other Party.

4. The Party adopting the measure shall immediately consult the other Party and shall make every effort to hold such consultations before adopting the measure.

5. A measure under this Article shall not impair the relative benefits accorded to the other Party under this Agreement.

6. For greater certainty, the balance-of-payments exception contained in this Article applies only to balance-of-payments measures imposed on trade in goods.

Article 2.8: Customs Valuation

The Customs Valuation Agreement governs the customs valuation rules applied by the Parties to their reciprocal trade. A Party shall not make use, in its reciprocal trade, of the options and reservations permitted under Article 20 and paragraphs 2, 3 and 4 of Annex III of the Customs Valuation Agreement.

Article 2.9: Customs Duties on Exports

For greater certainty, each Party may apply export duties, in accordance with their rights and obligations under the WTO.

Article 2.10: Agriculture Export Subsides

A Party shall not adopt or maintain an export subsidy on an agricultural good that is exported, or incorporated in a product that is exported, to the territory of the other Party after the other Party has, immediately or after the transitional period, fully eliminated the tariff, on that agricultural good in accordance with Annex 2-B.

Article 2.11: Special Safeguard on Agricultural Goods

A Party may not apply duties under Article V of the WTO Agreement on Agriculture on goods of the other Party that are subject to tariff elimination under Annex 2-B, including its tariff schedule.

Article 2.12: Distilled Spirits

A Party may not adopt or maintain a measure requiring that distilled spirits imported from the territory of the other Party for bottling be blended with distilled spirits of the Party.

Section D – Institutional Provisions

Article 2.13: Committee on Trade in Goods and Rules of Origin

1. The Parties hereby establish a Committee on Trade in Goods and Rules of Origin, composed of government representatives of each Party.

2. The Committee shall meet at the request of a Party or the Joint Commission to consider any matter arising under this Chapter, Chapter 3 (Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures), Chapter 4 (Trade Facilitation) or Chapter 5 (Emergency Action) but not less than once every two years from the date of entry into force of this Agreement, unless otherwise decided by the Parties.

3. The Committee’s functions shall include:

4. The Parties hereby establish a Sub-Committee on Agriculture that shall:

5. At the request of a Party, the Parties shall convene a meeting of their officials responsible for customs, immigration, inspection of food and agricultural products, border inspection facilities, or regulation of transportation, as appropriate, for the purpose of addressing issues related to movement of goods through the Parties’ ports of entry.

Annex 2-A: Exceptions to Articles 2.3 and 2.5

Canadian Measures

Articles 2.3 and 2.5 do not apply to:

Annex 2-B: Tariff Elimination

1. As provided in each Party’s Schedule attached to this Annex, the following staging categories apply to the elimination or reduction of customs duties by each Party pursuant to Article 2.4(2):

2. Tariff rate quota for pork:

YearAnnual Aggregate Quantity (Metric Tonnes, net weight)
110,000 MT
211,429 MT
312,857 MT
414,286 MT
515,714 MT
617,143 MT
718,571 MT
8 and each subsequent year20,000 MT

3. Administration and implementation of the tariff rate quota:

4. For the purposes of this Annex and each Party’s Schedule:

5. For Canada, the base rate for determining the interim staged rate of customs duty for an item shall be the MFN rate of customs duty applied on January 1, 2010. For Ukraine, the base rate for determining the interim staged rate of customs duty shall be the MFN rate of customs duty applied on January 1, 2011.

6. For the purpose of the elimination of customs duties in accordance with Article 2.4, interim staged rates of customs duty shall be rounded down at least to the nearest tenth of a percentage point or, if the customs rate of duty is expressed in monetary units, at least to the nearest 0.001 of the official monetary unit of the Party.

7. For the purpose of this Agreement:

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada–Ukraine – Chapitre 2 : Traitement national et accès aux marchés

Article 2.1 : Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent chapitre :

Accord sur l’agriculture désigne l’Accord sur l’agriculture, figurant à l’annexe 1A de l’Accord sur l’OMC;

produit agricole désigne un produit énuméré à l’annexe 1 de l’Accord sur l’agriculture;

subvention à l’exportation désigne une subvention à l’exportation au sens de l’article 1e) de l’Accord sur l’agriculture.

Article 2.2 : Portée et champ d’application

Le présent chapitre s’applique au commerce de produits d’une Partie, sauf disposition contraire du présent accord.

Section A – Traitement national

Article 2.3 : Traitement national

1. Chacune des Parties accorde le traitement national aux produits de l’autre Partie en conformité avec l’article III du GATT de 1994 et, à cette fin, l’article III du GATT de 1994 est incorporé au présent accord et en fait partie.

2. Le traitement que doit accorder une Partie au titre du paragraphe 1 est, dans le cas d’un gouvernement infranational, un traitement non moins favorable que le traitement le plus favorable qu’accorde ce gouvernement infranational à tout produit similaire, directement concurrent ou substituable, selon le cas, de la Partie de laquelle il fait partie.

3. Le présent article ne s’applique pas à une mesure énumérée à l’annexe 2-A (Exceptions aux articles 2.3 et 2.5).

Section B – Tarifs

Article 2.4 : Élimination des tarifs sur les importations

1. Sauf disposition contraire du présent accord, une Partie ne peut augmenter un droit de douane existant, ni adopter un droit de douane à l’égard d’un produit originaire.

2. Sauf disposition contraire du présent accord, chacune des Parties élimine progressivement ses droits de douane sur les produits originaires en conformité avec sa liste jointe à l’annexe 2-B (Élimination des tarifs).

3. Au cours du processus d’élimination des tarifs, chacune des Parties applique aux produits originaires faisant l’objet d’un commerce entre les Parties les droits de douane les moins élevés qu’elle obtient après avoir comparé le taux établi conformément à la liste jointe à l’annexe 2-B (Élimination des tarifs) et le taux effectif de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF).

4. À la demande d’une Partie, les Parties tiennent des discussions sur l’accélération de l’élimination des droits de douane prévus à leurs listes jointes à l’annexe 2-B ou l’ajout à la liste d’une Partie d’un produit qui n’est pas visé par l’élimination des tarifs. Un accord entre les Parties sur l’accélération de l’élimination d’un droit de douane sur un produit ou sur l’inclusion d’un produit à une liste d’une Partie jointe à l’annexe 2-B, une fois approuvé par chacune d’elles conformément à ses procédures internes applicables, remplace un taux de droit ou une catégorie d’échelonnement établis relativement à ce produit selon la liste applicable.

5. Il est entendu qu’une Partie peut :

Section C – Mesures non tarifaires

Article 2.5 : Restrictions à l’importation et à l’exportation

1. Sauf disposition contraire du présent accord, une Partie ne peut adopter ou maintenir d’interdiction ou de restriction à l’importation d’un produit de l’autre Partie ou à l’exportation ou à la vente pour exportation d’un produit destiné au territoire de l’autre Partie, sauf en conformité avec l’article XI du GATT de 1994 et, à cette fin, l’article XI du GATT de 1994 est incorporé au présent accord et en fait partie.

2. Les droits et obligations découlant du GATT de 1994 incorporés au présent accord par l’effet du paragraphe 1 interdisent :

3. Le présent accord n’empêche pas une Partie qui adopte ou maintient une interdiction ou une restriction à l’importation d’un produit provenant d’une non-Partie ou à l’exportation d’un produit vers une non-Partie :

4. Si une Partie adopte ou maintient une interdiction ou une restriction à l’importation d’un produit provenant d’une non-Partie, à la demande de l’autre Partie, les Parties tiennent des discussions dans le but d’éviter une ingérence ou une distorsion indues touchant les arrangements relatifs à l’établissement des prix, à la commercialisation ou à la distribution auprès de l’autre Partie.

5. Le présent article ne s’applique pas à une mesure énumérée à l’annexe 2-A (Exceptions aux articles 2.3 et 2.5).

Article 2.6 : Redevances douanières et impositions analogues

1. Une Partie n’adopte pas ou ne maintient pas une redevance ou une imposition perçue à l’importation ou à l’occasion de l’importation d’un produit de l’autre Partie, sauf en conformité avec l’article VIII du GATT de 1994 et, à cette fin l’article VIII du GATT de 1994 est incorporé dans le présent accord et en fait partie.

2. Le paragraphe 1 n’empêche pas une Partie de percevoir un droit de douane ou une imposition prévus au paragraphe a), b) ou d) de la définition de « droit de douane » figurant à l’article 1.6 (Définitions d’application générale).

Article 2.7 : Exception visant la balance des paiements

1. Les Parties s’efforcent d’éviter l’imposition de mesures de restriction à des fins de balance des paiements.

2. Une Partie qui connaît des difficultés sérieuses de balance des paiements ou qui risque de manière imminente d’en connaître peut, en conformité avec les conditions établies au titre du GATT de 1994, du Mémorandum d’accord sur les dispositions du GATT 1994 et de la Déclaration relative à aux mesures commerciales prises à des fins de balance des paiements, adopter une mesure commerciale restrictive d’une durée limitée et non discriminatoire qui ne va pas au-delà de ce qui est nécessaire pour remédier à la situation de la balance des paiements.

3. Avant d’adopter une mesure conformément au paragraphe 2, la Partie en donne notification à l’autre Partie.

4. La Partie qui adopte une mesure consulte immédiatement l’autre Partie et fait tout son possible pour que ces consultations soient tenues avant l’adoption de la mesure.

5. Une mesure adoptée au titre du présent article ne compromet pas les avantages relatifs accordés à l’autre Partie au titre du présent accord.

6. Il est entendu que l’exception visant la balance des paiements contenue dans le présent article s’applique uniquement aux mesures à des fins de balance des paiements imposées sur le commerce de produits.

Article 2.8 : Évaluation en douane

L’Accord sur l’évaluation en douane régit les règles d’évaluation en douane que les Parties appliquent à leurs échanges commerciaux. Une Partie ne recourt pas, à l’égard de ses échanges commerciaux, aux options et aux réserves permises par l’article 20 et les paragraphes 2, 3 et 4 de l’annexe III de l’Accord sur l’évaluation en douane.

Article 2.9 : Droits de douane à l’exportation

Il est entendu que chacune des Parties peut imposer des droits à l’exportation, conformément à ses droits et obligations au titre de l’Accord sur l’OMC.

Article 2.10 : Subvention à l’exportation en agriculture

Une Partie n’adopte pas ou ne maintient pas une subvention à l’exportation sur un produit agricole qui est exporté ou incorporé dans un produit qui est exporté vers le territoire de l’autre Partie après que cette dernière a complètement éliminé les tarifs, immédiatement ou après la période de transition, sur ce produit agricole conformément à l’annexe 2-B.

Article 2.11 : Sauvegarde spéciale pour les produits agricoles

Une Partie ne peut imposer de droits au titre de l’article 5 de l’Accord sur l’agriculture sur les produits de l’autre Partie qui sont assujettis à l’élimination des tarifs prévue à l’annexe 2-B, y compris sa liste tarifaire.

Article 2.12 : Spiritueux distillés

Une Partie ne peut adopter ou maintenir une mesure exigeant que les spiritueux distillés importés pour embouteillage du territoire de l’autre Partie soient mélangés avec des spiritueux distillés de la Partie.

Section D – Dispositions institutionnelles

Article 2.13 : Comité sur le commerce des produits et sur les règles d’origine

1. Les Parties créent par le présent article un Comité sur le commerce des produits et sur les règles d’origine, composé de représentants gouvernementaux de chacune d’elles.

2. Le Comité se réunit à la demande d’une Partie ou de la Commission mixte, dans le but d’examiner toute question soulevée au titre du présent chapitre, du chapitre 3 (Règles d’origine et procédures d’origine), du chapitre 4 (Facilitation des échanges) ou du chapitre 5 (Mesures d’urgence et recours commerciaux) au moins à tous les deux ans à compter de la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, à moins que les Parties n’en décident autrement.

3. Le Comité remplit entre autres les fonctions suivantes :

4. Les Parties établissent par le présent article un Sous-comité sur l’agriculture, lequel :

5. À la demande d’une Partie, les Parties convoquent une réunion de leurs fonctionnaires chargés des douanes, de l’immigration, de l’inspection des produits alimentaires et agricoles, des postes d’inspection frontaliers ou de la réglementation des transports, s’il y a lieu, en vue de traiter des questions relatives à la circulation des produits par leurs ports d’entrée respectifs.

Annexe 2-A : Exceptions aux articles 2.3 et 2.5

Mesures du Canada

Les articles 2.3 et 2.5 ne s’appliquent pas :

Annexe 2-B : Élimination des tarifs

1. Selon ce qui est prévu dans la liste de chacune des Parties jointe à la présente annexe, les catégories d’échelonnement suivantes s’appliquent à l’élimination ou à la réduction par chacune d’elles de ses droits de douane au titre du paragraphe 2.4.2 :

2. Contingent tarifaire pour le porc :

AnnéeQuantité totale annuelle (tonnes métriques – poids net)
110,000 TM
211,429 TM
312,857 TM
414,286 TM
515,714 TM
617,143 TM
718,571 TM
8 et chaque année subséquente20,000 TM

3. Administration et mise en œuvre du contingent tarifaire pour le porc :

4. Aux fins de la présente annexe et de la liste de chacune des Parties :

5. Pour le Canada, le taux de base à utiliser pour déterminer le taux échelonné provisoire du droit de douane applicable à un numéro tarifaire est le taux de droit de douane NPF appliqué le 1er janvier 2010. Pour l’Ukraine, le taux de base à utiliser pour déterminer le taux échelonné provisoire du droit de douane applicable à un numéro tarifaire est le taux de droit de douane NPF appliqué le 1er janvier 2011.

6. Aux fins de l’élimination des droits de douane au titre de l’article 2.4, les taux de droit de douane échelonnés provisoires sont arrondis au moins au dixième de point de pourcentage inférieur ou, si le taux de droit de douane est exprimé en unités monétaires, au moins au 0,001 le plus près de l’unité monétaire officielle de la Partie.

7. Pour l’application du présent accord :

Date de modification: