Language selection

Search

Text of the Canada–Ukraine Free trade agreement – Chapter 5: Emergency action and trade remedies

Section A - Definitions

Article 5.1: Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

Agreement on Safeguards means the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, contained in Annex 1A to the WTO Agreement;

Anti-Dumping Agreement means the WTO Agreement on Implementation of Article VI of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, contained in Annex 1A to the WTO Agreement;

competent investigating authority means:

domestic industry means, with respect to an imported good, the producers as a whole of the like or directly competitive good operating in the territory of a Party or those whose collective production of the like or directly competitive good constitutes a major proportion of the total domestic production of that good;

emergency action means an emergency action described in Article 5.3;

SCM Agreement means the WTO Agreement on Subsidies and Countervailing Measures, contained in Annex 1A to the WTO Agreement;

serious injury means a significant overall impairment of a domestic industry;

substantial cause means a cause that is important and not less important than any other cause;

threat of serious injury means serious injury that is clearly imminent based on facts and not based on allegation, conjecture or remote possibility; and

transition period means the 7-year period beginning on the entry into force of this Agreement, except where the tariff elimination for the good against which the action is taken occurs over a longer period of time, in which case the transition period is the period of the staged tariff elimination for that good.

Section B – Emergency Action

Article 5.2: Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards

1. Each Party retains its rights and obligations under Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards, which exclusively govern global safeguard actions including the resolution of a dispute with respect to those matters.

2. A Party shall not adopt or maintain, with respect to the same good, at the same time:

Article 5.3: Bilateral Emergency Actions

1. A Party may adopt an emergency action described in paragraph 2:

2. If the conditions set out in paragraph 1 and Article 5.4 and 5.5 are met, a Party may, to the extent necessary to prevent or remedy serious injury, or threat of serious injury:

3. Any emergency action shall be adopted no later than one year after the date the proceeding is instituted.

Article 5.4: Notification and Discussions

1. A Party shall, in writing, promptly notify and invite the other Party for discussions with respect to:

2. A Party shall, without delay, provide the other Party with a copy of the public version of any notice or any report by a competent investigating authority issued in connection with matters notified pursuant to paragraph 1.

3. If a Party accepts an invitation for discussions made pursuant to paragraph 1, the Parties shall discuss the notification under paragraph 1, or the public version of a document issued by a competent investigating authority in connection with the emergency action proceeding.

Article 5.5: Standards for Emergency Actions

1. A Party shall not maintain an emergency action:

2. A Party shall not apply an emergency action against an originating good more than once.

3. In order to facilitate adjustment in a situation where the expected duration of an emergency action is greater than one year, the Party taking the action shall progressively liberalize the emergency action at annual intervals during the period of application.

4. On the termination of an emergency action, a Party shall set the rate of customs duty at the rate that would have been in effect but for the action according to the Party's Schedule to Annex 2-B (Tariff Elimination) for the staged elimination of the customs duty.

5. A Party taking an emergency action under Article 5.3 shall provide to the exporting Party mutually agreed trade liberalizing compensation in the form of concessions with substantially equivalent trade effects or equivalent to the value of the additional duties expected to result from the action. If the Parties are unable to agree on compensation, the Party whose goods are subject to the action may take tariff action with trade effects substantially equivalent to the emergency action taken under Article 5.3. The Party taking the tariff action shall apply the action only for the minimum period necessary to achieve the substantially equivalent effects and, in any event, only while the emergency action under Article 5.3 is in effect.

Article 5.6: Administration of Emergency Action Proceedings

1. Each Party shall ensure the consistent, impartial and reasonable administration of its legislation, decisions and rulings governing emergency action proceedings.

2. Each Party shall entrust determinations of serious injury, or threat of serious injury, in an emergency action proceeding, to a competent investigating authority. Each Party shall:

3. Each Party shall adopt or maintain equitable, timely, transparent and effective procedures for emergency action proceedings in accordance with the requirements set out in paragraph 4.

4. A Party shall apply an emergency action only following an investigation by the Party’s competent investigating authority in accordance with Articles 3 and 4.2 of the Agreement on Safeguards. To this end, Articles 3 and 4.2 of the Agreement on Safeguards are incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

Article 5.7: Dispute Settlement in Emergency Action Matters

1. A Party shall not request the establishment of a panel under Article 17.7 (Establishment of a Panel) regarding a proposed emergency action.

2. A Party may request the establishment of a panel under Article 17.7 (Establishment of a Panel) regarding an actual emergency action.

Section C – Anti-Dumping and Countervailing Measures

Article 5.8: Relation to Other Agreements

1. Each Party shall apply anti-dumping and countervailing measures in accordance with Article VI of the GATT 1994, the Anti-Dumping Agreement and the SCM Agreement.

2.   This Section is not subject to Chapter 17 (Dispute Settlement).

Article 5.9: Transparency

1. A Party shall ensure, after an imposition of provisional measures, and in any case, before a final determination is made, full and meaningful disclosure of all essential facts under consideration which form the basis for the decision whether to apply final measures. This is without prejudice to Article 6.5 of the Anti-Dumping Agreement and Article 12.4 of the SCM Agreement.

2. Provided that it does not unnecessarily delay the conduct of the investigation, each interested party in an anti-dumping or countervailing investigationFootnote 1 shall be granted a full opportunity to defend its interests.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada–Ukraine – Chapitre 5 : Mesures d’urgence et recours commerciaux

Section A – Définitions

Article 5.1 : Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent chapitre :

Accord antidumping désigne l’Accord sur la mise en œuvre de l’article VI de l’Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994, figurant à l’annexe 1A de l’Accord sur l’OMC;

Accord sur les sauvegardes désigne l’Accord sur les sauvegardes, figurant à l’annexe 1A de l’Accord sur l’OMC;

Accord SMC désigne l’Accord sur les subventions et les mesures compensatoires, figurant à l’annexe 1A de l’Accord sur l’OMC;

branche de production nationale désigne, à l’égard d’un produit importé, l’ensemble des producteurs du produit similaire ou directement concurrent en activité sur le territoire d’une Partie, ou ceux dont les productions additionnées du produit similaire ou directement concurrent constituent une proportion majeure de la production nationale totale de ce produit;

cause substantielle désigne une cause importante et non moins importante que toute autre cause;

dommage grave désigne une dégradation générale notable de la situation d’une branche de production nationale;

menace de dommage grave désigne l’imminence évidente d’un dommage grave, fondée sur des faits et non sur des allégations, des conjectures ou de lointaines possibilités;

mesure d’urgence désigne une mesure d’urgence de la nature visée à l’article 5.3;

organisme d’enquête compétent désigne :

période de transition désigne la période de sept ans commençant à la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, sauf si l’élimination des droits de douane applicables au produit visé par la mesure est prévue sur une plus longue période, auquel cas la période de transition est la période d’élimination progressive des droits pour ce produit.

Section B – Mesure d’urgence

Article 5.2 : Article XIX du GATT de 1994 et Accord sur les sauvegardes

1. Chacune des Parties conserve ses droits et obligations au titre de l’article XIX du GATT de 1994 et de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes, lesquels régissent exclusivement les mesures de sauvegarde globales, y compris le règlement des différends qui s’y rapportent.

2. Une Partie n’adopte pas ou ne maintient pas en même temps à l’égard du même produit :

Article 5.3  : Mesures d’urgence bilatérales

1. Une Partie peut adopter une mesure d’urgence décrite au paragraphe 2 :

2. Si les conditions énoncées au paragraphe 1 et à l’article 5.4 et 5.5 sont remplies, une Partie peut, selon ce qui est nécessaire pour prévenir ou réparer un dommage grave, ou la menace de dommage grave, selon le cas :

3. Une mesure d’urgence est adoptée au plus tard un an après la date de l’engagement de la procédure.

Article 5.4 : Notification et discussions

1. Une Partie, dans les moindres délais, donne par écrit notification à l’autre Partie de ce qui suit et l’invite à des discussions sur :

2. Une Partie transmet sans délai à l’autre Partie un exemplaire de la version publique de tout avis ou de tout rapport d’un organisme d’enquête compétent délivré relativement à des questions qui ont fait l’objet d’une notification prévue au paragraphe 1.

3. Si une Partie accepte l’invitation à des discussions faite en application du paragraphe 1, les Parties tiennent des discussions au sujet de la notification prévue au paragraphe 1, ou de la version publique d’un document établi par un organisme d’enquête compétent relativement à la procédure relative à une mesure d’urgence.

Article 5.5 : Normes applicables aux mesures d’urgence

1. Une Partie ne maintient pas une mesure d’urgence, selon le cas :

2. Une Partie n’applique pas une mesure d’urgence plus d’une fois à l’égard d’un produit originaire.

3. Afin de faciliter l’ajustement dans les cas où la durée prévue d’une mesure d’urgence est de plus d’un an, la Partie qui adopte cette mesure la libéralise progressivement à intervalles annuels pendant la durée de son application.

4. À l’expiration d’une mesure d’urgence, une Partie fixe le taux de droit de douane selon le taux qui, n’eût été la mesure, aurait été appliqué selon l’échéancier d’élimination progressive du droit de douane prévu par la Partie dans sa liste figurant à l’annexe 2‑B (Élimination des tarifs).

5. La Partie qui adopte une mesure d’urgence en application de l’article 5.3 accorde à la Partie exportatrice une compensation mutuellement convenue ayant pour effet de libéraliser le commerce sous forme de concessions ayant des effets commerciaux substantiellement équivalents ou équivalents à la valeur des droits de douane additionnels devant résulter de la mesure considérée. Si les Parties ne peuvent s’entendre sur la compensation, la Partie dont les produits sont visés par la mesure peut prendre une mesure tarifaire ayant des effets commerciaux substantiellement équivalents à ceux de la mesure adoptée en application de l’article 5.3. La Partie qui prend cette mesure tarifaire ne l’applique que durant la période minimale nécessaire pour obtenir des effets substantiellement équivalents et, dans tous les cas, seulement pendant que la mesure d’urgence prise au titre de l’article 5.3 est appliquée.

Article 5.6 : Administration des procédures relatives aux mesures d’urgence

1. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que ses lois, dispositions et décisions régissant les procédures relatives aux mesures d’urgence soient appliquées de manière uniforme, impartiale et raisonnable.

2. Chacune des Parties confie à un organisme d’enquête compétent le soin de faire les déterminations concernant l’existence d’un dommage grave ou d’une menace de dommage grave dans une procédure relative à une mesure d’urgence. Chacune des Parties :

3. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des méthodes équitables, rapides, transparentes et efficaces pour les procédures relatives aux mesures d’urgence, conformément aux exigences énoncées au paragraphe 4.

4. Une Partie n’applique une mesure d’urgence qu’à la suite d’une enquête menée par son organisme d’enquête compétent conformément aux articles 3 et 4.2 de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes. À cette fin, les articles 3 et 4.2 de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes sont incorporés dans le présent accord et en font partie.

Article 5.7 : Règlement des différends dans les affaires relatives aux mesures d’urgence

1. Une Partie ne demande pas l’institution d’un groupe spécial au titre de l’article 17.7 (Institution d’un groupe spécial) à l’égard d’une mesure d’urgence envisagée.

2. Une Partie peut demander l’institution d’un groupe spécial au titre de l’article 17.7 (Institution d’un groupe spécial) à l’égard d’une mesure d’urgence actuelle.

Section C – Mesures antidumping et mesures compensatoires

Article 5.8 : Rapports avec d’autres accords

1. Chacune des Parties applique des mesures antidumping et des mesures compensatoires conformément à l’article VI du GATT de 1994, à l’Accord antidumping et à l’Accord SMC.

2. La présente section n’est pas assujettie au chapitre 17 (Règlement des différends).

Article 5.9 : Transparence

1. Après avoir imposé des mesures provisoires, et dans tous les cas, avant de faire une détermination définitive, une Partie fait en sorte de divulguer complètement et de manière notable tous les faits essentiels examinés sur lesquels elle s’appuie pour appliquer des mesures définitives, et ce, sous réserve de l’article 6.5 de l’Accord antidumping et de l’article 12.4 de l’Accord SMC.

2. À la condition que cela ne retarde pas indûment la conduite de l’enquête, il est accordé à chaque partie intéressée à une enquête sur les mesures antidumping ou les mesures compensatoiresNote de bas de page 1 une entière possibilité de défendre ses intérêts.

Date de modification: