Language selection

Search

Text of the Canada–Ukraine Free trade agreement – Chapter 18: Exceptions

Article 18.1: Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

competition authority means:

designated authority means:

information protected under its competition laws means:

person engaged in a cultural industry means a person engaged in any of the following activities:

tax convention means a convention for the avoidance of double taxation or other international taxation agreement or arrangement; and

tax and taxation measure do not include:

Article 18.2: General Exceptions

For the purposes of Chapter 2 (National Treatment and Market Access), Chapter 3 (Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures), Chapter 4 (Trade Facilitation), Chapter 5 (Emergency Action), Chapter 6 (Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures), Chapter 7 (Technical Barriers to Trade), and Chapter 8 (Electronic Commerce), GATT 1994 Article XX is incorporated into this Agreement. The Parties understand that the measures referred to in GATT 1994 Article XX (b) include environmental measures necessary to protect human, animal or plant life or health. The Parties further understand that GATT 1994 Article XX (g) applies to measures for the conservation of living and non-living exhaustible natural resources.

Article 18.3: National Security

This Agreement does not:

Article 18.4: Taxation

1. Except as set out in this Article, this Agreement does not apply to a taxation measure.

2. This Agreement does not affect the rights and obligations of a Party under a tax convention. In the event of any inconsistency between this Agreement and a tax convention, the tax convention prevails.

3. If a provision with respect to a taxation measure under this Agreement is similar to a provision under a tax convention, the competent authorities identified in the tax convention shall use the procedural provisions of that tax convention to resolve an issue that may arise under this Agreement.

4. Notwithstanding paragraphs 2 and 3:

5. In order to give effect to paragraphs 1 to 3:

6. The designated authorities seized of an issue under paragraph 5 may modify the time period allowed to decide the issue.

7. This Agreement does not require a Party to furnish or allow access to information the disclosure of which would be contrary to that Party’s law protecting information concerning the taxation affairs of a taxpayer.

Article 18.5: Disclosure of Information

1. This Agreement does not require a Party to furnish or allow access to information that if disclosed would impede law enforcement, or would be contrary to the Party’s law protecting the deliberative and policy-making processes of the executive branch of government at the cabinet level, personal privacy or the financial affairs and accounts of individual customers of financial institutions.

2. In the course of a dispute settlement procedure under this Agreement:

Article 18.6: Cultural Industries

This Agreement does not apply to a measure adopted or maintained by a Party with respect to a person engaged in a cultural industry except as specifically provided in Article 2.4 (Tariff Elimination on Imports).

Article 18.7: World Trade Organization Waivers

If a right or obligation in this Agreement duplicates a right or obligation under the WTO Agreement, a measure adopted by a Party in conformity with a waiver decision adopted by the WTO pursuant to Article IX of the WTO Agreement is deemed to be also in conformity with this Agreement.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada–Ukraine – Chapitre 18 : Exceptions

Article 18.1 : Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent au présent chapitre :

autorité désignée s’entend :

autorité en matière de concurrence s’entend :

convention fiscale s’entend d’une convention visant à éviter la double imposition ou de tout autre accord ou arrangement international en matière fiscale;

personne se livrant à des activités dans une industrie culturelle s’entend d’une personne qui se livre à l’une ou l’autre des activités suivantes :

renseignements protégés par sa législation en matière de concurrence s’entend :

taxes et mesures fiscales excluent :

Article 18.2 : Exceptions générales

Aux fins de l’application du chapitre 2 (Traitement national et accès aux marchés), du chapitre 3 (Règles d’origine et procédures d’origine), du chapitre 4 (Facilitation des échanges), du chapitre 5 (Mesures d’urgence et recours commerciaux), du chapitre 6 (Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires), du chapitre 7 (Obstacles techniques au commerce) et du chapitre 8 (Commerce électronique), l’article XX du GATT de 1994 est incorporé dans le présent accord. Les Parties comprennent que les mesures visées à l’article XXb) du GATT de 1994 incluent les mesures environnementales nécessaires à la protection de la santé et de la vie des personnes et des animaux ou à la préservation des végétaux. Les Parties comprennent en outre que l’article XXg) du GATT de 1994 s’applique aux mesures qui se rapportent à la conservation des ressources naturelles épuisables, qu’elles soient biologiques ou non biologiques.

Article 18.3 : Sécurité nationale

Le présent accord :

Article 18.4 : Fiscalité

1. Sous réserve des dispositions du présent article, le présent accord ne s’applique pas aux mesures fiscales.

2. Le présent accord n’affecte pas les droits et obligations d’une Partie au titre d’une convention fiscale. Les dispositions d’une convention fiscale l’emportent sur les dispositions incompatibles du présent accord.

3. Lorsque le présent accord et une convention fiscale contiennent des dispositions semblables relativement à une mesure fiscale, les autorités compétentes nommées dans la convention fiscale utilisent les clauses procédurales de cette convention fiscale pour régler toute question pouvant se poser dans le cadre du présent accord.

4. Nonobstant les paragraphes 2 et 3 :

5. Les dispositions suivantes s’appliquent pour donner effet aux paragraphes 1 à 3 :

6. Les autorités désignées saisies d’une question au titre du paragraphe 5 peuvent modifier le délai alloué pour trancher la question.

7. Le présent accord n’oblige pas une Partie à communiquer des renseignements ou à permettre accès à des renseignements dont la divulgation serait contraire à son droit protégeant les renseignements relatifs à la situation fiscale d’un contribuable.

Article 18.5 : Divulgation de renseignements

1. Le présent accord n’oblige pas une Partie à communiquer des renseignements ou à permettre l’accès à des renseignements dont la divulgation ferait obstacle à l’application de la loi ou serait contraire à son droit protégeant les processus de délibération et de décision du pouvoir exécutif au niveau du cabinet, la vie privée ou les affaires financières et les comptes des clients, considérés individuellement, des institutions financières.

2. Au cours d’une procédure de règlement des différends au titre du présent accord :

Article 18.6 : Industries culturelles

Le présent accord ne s’applique pas à une mesure adoptée ou maintenue par une Partie relativement à une personne se livrant à des activités dans une industrie culturelle, sauf dispositions contraires expresses de l’article 2.4 (Élimination des droits de douane sur les importations).

Article 18.7 : Dérogations accordées par l’Organisation mondiale du commerce

Dans les cas où un droit ou une obligation découlant du présent accord fait double emploi avec un droit ou une obligation au titre de l’Accord sur l’OMC, une mesure adoptée par une Partie conformément à une décision concernant une dérogation accordée par l’OMC au titre de l’article IX de l’Accord sur l’OMC est réputée conforme également au présent accord.

Date de modification: