About Trade Missions

What does a trade mission include?

Trade missions generally visit one or more countries and spend an average of 1.5 to 2 days in each city within a one week period. Participants will learn about doing business in the host market(s), and gain exposure to the social and business cultures while experiencing first-hand the services offered by Canada’s trade commissioners on the ground.

The structured program can include:

  • business briefings;
  • market and sector presentations/discussions;
  • effective networking events;
  • business-to-business meetings;
  • site visits (when possible);
  • face-time with the minister.

Is there funding available?

Canadian companies looking to participate on a trade mission may benefit from CanExport, a new funding program by the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) that offers small and medium-sized enterprises in Canada, an incentive to diversify in export markets.  CanExport is a cost-shared program that provides eligible companies with the financial support to tackle new business opportunities by engaging in international business development activities, such as participating on trade missions, in trade fairs or conducting market research.

The Government of Canada as well as individual Provincial and Territorial governments also offer a number of programs that help Canadian businesses expand internationally.

More...

How do I find out about upcoming minister-led trade missions organized by Global Affairs Canada?

Make yourself known to our network of Trade Commissioners in Canada and around the world. The more they know about your international business objectives, the better they can identify whether a trade mission or other export initiative is well suited for your company. Also, consider subscribing to the many communications products and social media outlets used by the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) to provide updates and information on upcoming trade missions:

How do I know if I am eligible to participate on a trade mission?

If you are part of the Canadian business community, and contribute to Canada’s economic growth, have a demonstrated capacity for the internationalization and have good potential to add value to the Canadian economy, you can participate on a trade mission and benefit from the services of the Trade Commissioner Service.

More...

Generally, interested companies will be required to register for a specific trade mission and will be screened for suitability based on the objectives of the mission and the organization’s expertise and capacity to provide the needed services and/or goods in the target market.

Au sujet des missions commerciales

En quoi consiste une mission commerciale?

Les missions commerciales se déroulent généralement dans un ou plusieurs pays et durent environ une semaine. Les délégations restent en moyenne 1 jour et demi ou 2 jours dans chaque ville visitée. Les participants se familiarisent avec la conduite des affaires dans le marché ou les marchés d’accueil et ont l’occasion de s’exposer directement à la culture sociale et commerciale ainsi que de faire l’expérience en personne des services offerts par les délégués commerciaux du Canada sur le terrain.

Le programme structuré peut inclure :

  • des séances d'information sur les affaires;    
  • des présentations ou des discussions sur un marché ou un secteur; 
  • des activités de réseautage efficaces;   
  • des rencontres interentreprises;
  • des visites de sites (lorsque c'est possible);    
  • la possibilité d'interagir directement avec le ministre.   

Du financement est-il disponible?

Les entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à participer à une mission commerciale peuvent bénéficier de CanExport, un nouveau programme de financement que le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada (SDC) offre maintenant aux petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes pour les encourager à diversifier leurs marchés d’exportation. CanExport est un programme à frais partagés qui offre aux entreprises admissibles un soutien financier leur permettant de saisir de nouvelles occasions d’affaires, comme la participation à des missions commerciales, des foires commerciales ou la réalisation d’études de marché.

Le gouvernement du Canada ainsi que les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires offrent chacun un certain nombre de programmes pour aider les entreprises canadiennes à étendre leurs activités à l'échelle internationale.

Plus...

Que faut-il faire pour être informé des prochaines missions commerciales dirigées par le ministre et organisées par Affaires mondiales Canada?

Faites-vous connaître auprès de notre réseau des délégués commerciaux au Canada et à l’étranger. Plus ils en savent sur vos objectifs commerciaux à l’étranger, le mieux ils peuvent identifier si une mission commerciale ou une autre initiative d’exportation est bien adaptée pour votre entreprise. De plus, songez à vous inscrire aux nombreux produits de communication et médias sociaux utilisés par le Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC) pour fournir des mises à jour et de l’information sur les missions commerciales à venir :

Comment puis-je savoir si je peux participer à une mission commerciale?

Si vous faites partie du milieu des affaires canadien et que votre entreprise contribue à la croissance économique du Canada, a démontré ses capacités à l’international et présente un bon potentiel de valeur ajoutée pour l’économie canadienne, vous pouvez participer à une mission commerciale et bénéficier de l'appui du Service des délégués commerciaux.

Plus...

Généralement, les entreprises intéressées doivent s'inscrire à une mission commerciale particulière, et la pertinence de leur participation est ensuite évaluée en fonction des objectifs de la mission, de l'expertise de l'organisation et de la capacité de celle-ci de fournir les services ou les biens requis dans le marché ciblé.