Payments on an Ex gratia basis

The 2016 North American Leaders’ Summit (NALS) and parallel events will require the implementation of Extraordinary Security Measures that will impact surrounding businesses, non-profit organizations and individuals.

The Government of Canada is putting in place an Ex gratia program for eligible businesses, non-profit organizations and individuals to compensate for the financial impact of the Extraordinary Security Measures implemented for the 2016 NALS. 

The administration and coordination of all requests for information on Payments on an Ex Gratia Basis to mitigate adverse financial consequences as a result of extraordinary security measures put in place for the NALS is under the responsibility of the Summits and Official Events Office of Global Affairs Canada. All persons concerned are invited to read the relevant Guidelines for Payment on an Ex gratia basisFrequently Asked Questions and to submit the Claim Form within the time-frame stated in the Guidelines. Please read the guidelines attentively, as the Government of Canada does not have a legal obligation to provide compensation and only eligible businesses, non-profit organizations and individuals impacted will be compensated.  Payments will be administered in accordance with Treasury Board Policy on Claims and Ex Gratia Payments and the Financial Administration Act. For any other questions, you are invited to contact Global Affairs Canada’s Enquiries Services at 1-800-267-8367.

Update

In accordance with clauses 8(b) and 2 of the Guidelines for Payment on an Ex Gratia Basis, the Summits Management Office has determined the eligibility period for compensation claims and the security perimeters and external affected areas.

Eligibility period – Wednesday, June 29, 2016. Claims can only be presented for this period, during which the Security Authority prohibited public access inside the security perimeter (fenced area).  However, if eligible beneficiaries can demonstrate that they have suffered losses immediately before or shortly after the duration of the Extraordinary Security Measures of the NALS Summit, they may submit such losses in their claim for consideration.

Security perimeters – Sectors included in the pink coloured areas in the following map. Individuals, non-profit organizations and commercial businesses who were included in the security perimeter (fenced area) and believe they were affected may submit their claims with an explanation as to how they were affected by the extraordinary security measures. This explanation is subject to validation with the appropriate security authority.

Others – Individuals, non-profit organizations and commercial businesses who were not included in the security perimeter (fenced area) nor in the external affected areas but who believe they were affected, may also submit their claims with an explanation as to how they were affected by the extraordinary security measures. This explanation is subject to validation with the appropriate security authority. 

All compensation claims must be submitted by
October 12, 2016 – within 90 days from the day the above-mentioned information is posted on the NALS website.

Date Modified:

Paiements à titre gracieux

Le Sommet des leaders nord-américains de 2016 et les activités connexes nécessiteront l’application de mesures de sécurité extraordinaires qui auront des répercussions sur les organisations à but non lucratif, les personnes et les entreprises dans les environs.

Afin de compenser les répercussions financières des mesures de sécurité extraordinaires afférentes au Sommet des leaders nord-américains de 2016, le gouvernement du Canada mettra sur pied un programme de paiements à titre gracieux pour les organisations à but non lucratif, les personnes et les entreprises admissibles.

Le Bureau des sommets et événements officiels d’Affaires mondiales Canada se chargera de l’administration et de la coordination des demandes d’information sur ces paiements à titre gracieux visant à atténuer les pertes financières attribuables à la prise de mesures de sécurité extraordinaires liées au Sommet. Toute personne concernée est invitée à lire les Lignes directrices sur les paiements à titre gracieux ainsi que la Foire aux questions, et à soumettre un formulaire de demande conformément aux délais indiqués dans les Lignes directrices. Veuillez lire ces directives attentivement comme le gouvernement du Canada n’est pas légalement tenu d’offrir une compensation et que seules les entreprises, les organisations à but non lucratif et les personnes touchées recevront une indemnité. Les paiements seront accordés conformément à la Politique sur les réclamations et paiements à titre gracieux du Conseil du Trésor et à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Pour toute question, communiquez avec le Service des renseignements d’Affaires mondiales Canada, au 1-800-267-8367.

Mise à jour

Conformément aux articles 8(b) et 2 des Lignes directrices concernant les paiements à titre gracieux, le Bureau de gestion des sommets a défini, en consultation avec les autorités en matière de sécurité concernées, la période admissible aux réclamations ainsi que les périmètres de sécurité et les zones extérieures touchées.

Période admissible — Le mercredi 29 juin 2016. Les demandes d’indemnisation couvrent seulement la période pendant laquelle les autorités chargées de la sécurité ont interdit l’accès au public à l’intérieur du périmètre. Toutefois, si les bénéficiaires admissibles peuvent prouver qu’ils ont subi des pertes immédiatement avant ou peu après la période pendant laquelle les mesures de sécurité extraordinaires du Sommet des leaders nord-américains étaient en vigueur, peuvent inclure ces pertes dans leur demande. Les renseignements fournis par les réclamants sont sujets à validation auprès des autorités chargées de la sécurité.

Périmètres de sécurité — Les secteurs en couleur rosée sur la carte. Les entreprises commerciales, les organismes à but non lucratif et les particuliers résidants ou opérants à l’intérieur des périmètres de sécurité (secteurs clôturés) jugeant avoir subi des pertes de profits nets ou de revenus nets en raison de mesures de sécurité extraordinaires pourraient être admissibles à une demande d’indemnisation. Les renseignements fournis par les réclamants sont sujets à validation auprès des autorités chargées de la sécurité.

Autres cas — Les entreprises commerciales, les organismes à but non lucratif et les particuliers résidants ou opérants à l’extérieur des périmètres de sécurité (secteurs clôturés) et des zones extérieures touchées jugeant avoir subi des pertes de profits nets ou de revenus nets en raison de mesures de sécurité extraordinaires pourraient être admissibles à une demande d’indemnisation. Les renseignements fournis par les réclamants sont sujets à validation auprès des autorités chargées de la sécurité.

Toutes les demandes d’indemnisation doivent être soumises au plus tard
le 12 octobre 2016, soit 90 jours à compter de la date d’affichage du présent avis sur le site du SLNA.

Date de modification: