Canada and the Arctic

On December 20, 2016, President Obama and Prime Minister Trudeau announced a new partnership between Canada and the United States to embrace opportunities and confront challenges in the changing Arctic. With the support of the agreement, Canada will work  with indigenous and northern partners and promote responsible, science-based leadership.

Canadian International Arctic Centre

A  dedicated Canadian International Arctic Centre (CIAC) was established in 2009. CIAC is located in the Canadian Embassy in Oslo, Norway. Its objective is to advance Canada’s Arctic interests abroad.

The Centre offers strategic advice to inform Canada’s Arctic advocacy, foreign policy directions and actions. It also strengthens and coordinates regional engagement with Arctic state partners and beyond. With the interest in Arctic growing exponentially,  the Centre supports and works closely with domestic partners, as well as with Canadian missions in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Russia and the United States, throughout Europe and Asia.

The Centre pursues four specific objectives:

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Arctique

Le 20 décembre 2016, le président Obama et le premier ministre Trudeau ont annoncé un nouveau partenariat entre le Canada et les États-Unis visant à saisir les occasions et relever les défis liés à l’évolution de l’Arctique. En vertu de cet accord, le Canada va travailler avec les communautés autochtones et les partenaires du Nord à promouvoir un leadership responsable fondé sur la science.

Le Centre international canadien pour l’Arctique

Le Centre international canadien l’Arctique (CICA) a été créé en 2009. Le CICA est situé dans les locaux de l’ambassade du Canada à Oslo, en Norvège. Il a pour objectif de faire la promotion à l’étranger des intérêts du Canada dans l’Arctique.

Le Centre offre des conseils stratégiques visant à faire connaître les orientations et les actions du Canada en matière de politique étrangère et de promotion de l’Arctique. Il renforce et coordonne aussi la coopération régionale avec les partenaires des États de l’Arctique et au-delà. Face à un intérêt grandissant pour l’Arctique, le Centre apporte son appui et collabore étroitement avec les missions du Canada au Danemark, en Finlande, en Islande, en Norvège, en Suède, en Russie, aux États-Unis ainsi que partout en Europe et en Asie.

Le Centre poursuit quatre objectifs précis:

Liens connexes

Date de modification: