Canada and Europe

Canada and Europe share a long history, common values and close ties. Canada has developed strong bilateral relationships with the institutions of the European Union (EU), as well as with most European countries.

Shared values

Canada maintains ties with most European countries (both EU and non-EU member states) through shared membership in various international organisations, including:

Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement

The Canada-EU relationship is important to Canada. The EU is Canada’s second largest trade and investment partner, and a central actor on the vast majority of global issues of concern to Canada. On October 30, 2016, Canada and the European Commission signed the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement, also known as CETA and the Strategic Partnership Agreement (SPA), which will deepen and broaden the scope of our bilateral relationship on a wide range of issues.

Security and defence

Canada’s relations with the countries of Eastern Europe and Eurasia have become increasingly important during the past few decades. Canada is a strong voice for democracy and freedom in Eastern Europe and Eurasia, and continues to work closely with partners in resolving the conflicts of this region. Canada is one of the strongest supporters of humanitarian, political and economic assistance to Ukraine in the face of Russia’s continued aggression.

Trade Commissioner offices abroad

The Trade Commissioner Service can assist with export advice and provide guidance to help you achieve your international business goals.

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Europe

Le Canada et l’Europe partagent une longue histoire, des valeurs communes et des liens étroits. Le Canada a établi des relations bilatérales solides avec les institutions de l’Union européenne (UE) et avec la plupart des pays européens.

Valeurs communes

Le Canada entretient des relations avec la plupart des pays européens (aussi bien des États membres que non membres de l’UE) dans le cadre de différentes organisations internationales, notamment :

Accord économique et commercial global Canada-UE

La relation entre le Canada et l’UE est importante pour le Canada. L’UE est le deuxième partenaire en importance du Canada en matière de commerce et d’investissement. Il s’agit aussi d’un acteur central face à la grande majorité des enjeux internationaux qui préoccupent le Canada. Le 30 octobre 2016, le Canada et la Commission européenne ont signé l’Accord économique et commercial global, également appelé « AECG », et l’Accord de partenariat stratégique (APS), qui approfondira et élargira la portée de notre relation bilatérale sur un large éventail de questions.

Sécurité et défense

Ces dernières décennies, l’importance de nos relations avec les pays d'Europe orientale et d’Eurasie s’est accentuée. Le Canada plaide avec force en faveur de la démocratie et de la liberté de la région, et il continue de collaborer étroitement avec des partenaires afin d’y résoudre les conflits. Il est aussi l’un des plus fervents partisans de l’aide humanitaire, politique et économique à l’Ukraine face à l’agression persistante de la Russie.

Bureaux des délégués commerciaux à l’étranger

Le Service des délégués commerciaux peut offrir des conseils sur l’exportation et vous guider afin de réaliser vos objectifs commerciaux à l’étranger.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: