The North American relationship

Canada, the United States and Mexico have long collaborated as continental partners in the world’s most prosperous region. The North America region has a combined population of almost 530 million and an economy that represents more than one-quarter of the world’s GDP. The three countries are amongst each other’s largest trading partners and sources of foreign investment. The continent’s abundant natural resources and integrated continental energy markets provide important economic and security benefits for our citizens.

The North American economy has developed as an integrated production platform, which maximizes our capabilities and makes our economies more innovative and competitive. While the majority of Canada’s trade is with the United States, trade and investment with Mexico is growing – both directly and indirectly – as part of regional/continental supply chains, which has opened new global export opportunities for Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises. In 2015, North American trilateral merchandise trade amounted to US$1.0 trillion. Our combined GDP has more than doubled over the past two decades, rising from US$8.0 trillion (in 1993) to $US20.6 trillion today. North American economic integration has also encouraged a steady increase in investment among all three countries. For example, in 2015, Canadian companies invested over C$463 billion into the U.S. and Mexico.

The emergence of new economic powers and trading regions, and the resulting increased global competition, is transforming the dynamics of the global economy and posing new challenges to North America’s future prosperity. Given geographic proximity, all three countries face common issues relating to environmental sustainability, natural disasters and pandemics. Moreover, our shared land borders bring common security risks, such as the flow of illicit drugs, transnational crime and terrorism.

Close collaboration between the governments of Canada, the United States and Mexico is critical to addressing these broader economic, security and environmental challenges. This collaboration rests on shared democratic values, respect for the rule of law and free market principles. Beyond the North American continent, the three countries work together to advance prosperity and security throughout the region and the world. We collaborate together within the Organization of American States, at the Summit of the Americas and at the G20, with the aim of strengthening the effectiveness of these international bodies to address pressing global challenges.

Related links

Date Modified:

La relation nord‑américaine  

En tant que partenaires continentaux, le Canada, les États‑Unis et le Mexique collaborent depuis longtemps dans la zone la plus prospère au monde. La région nord‑américaine compte, au total, près de 530 millions d’habitants, et son économie représente plus du quart du PIB mondial. Chacun de ces trois pays figure parmi les plus grands partenaires commerciaux et les plus importantes sources d’investissement étranger des deux autres. Les abondantes ressources naturelles du continent et ses marchés énergétiques intégrés offrent à nos citoyens d’importants avantages économiques et en matière de sécurité.

L’économie nord‑américaine s’est développée comme une plateforme de production intégrée, qui optimise nos capacités et rend nos économies plus novatrices et plus compétitives. Si la majorité des échanges commerciaux du Canada se font avec les États‑Unis, le commerce et l’investissement avec le Mexique augmentent, à la fois directement et indirectement, dans le contexte de chaînes d’approvisionnement régionales ou continentales, ce qui offre de nouvelles possibilités d’exportations mondiales aux petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes. En 2015, la valeur du commerce trilatéral des marchandises, au sein de la région nord‑américaine, s’élevait à 1,0 billion de dollars américains. Au cours des deux dernières décennies, notre PIB combiné a plus que doublé, passant de 8,0 billions de dollars américains en 1993 à 20,6 billions aujourd’hui. L’intégration de l’économie nord‑américaine a également favorisé une croissance continue des investissements entre les trois pays. Par exemple, en 2015, les entreprises canadiennes ont investi plus de 463 milliards de dollars canadiens aux États‑Unis et au Mexique.

Cela dit, l’émergence de nouvelles puissances économiques et régions commerciales, ainsi que l’intensification de la concurrence mondiale qui en découle, transforment la dynamique de l’économie mondiale et posent de nouveaux défis pour la prospérité future de l’Amérique du Nord. En raison de leur proximité géographique, les trois pays sont également aux prises avec des problèmes communs liés à la durabilité de l’environnement, aux catastrophes naturelles et aux pandémies. En outre, nos frontières terrestres communes nous exposent à des risques communs pour la sécurité, comme le passage de drogues illicites ainsi que la criminalité et le terrorisme transfrontaliers.

Les gouvernements du Canada, des États‑Unis et du Mexique doivent absolument collaborer pour relever ces vastes défis économiques, environnementaux et en matière de sécurité. Cette collaboration repose sur des valeurs démocratiques communes, le respect de la primauté du droit et les principes du marché libre. Au‑delà du continent nord‑américain, nos trois pays travaillent ensemble pour faire progresser la prospérité et la sécurité à l’échelle de toute la région et à l’échelle mondiale. Nous collaborons au sein de l’Organisation des États américains, du Sommet des Amériques et du G20 en vue de renforcer l’efficacité de ces instances internationales, dans le but de remédier aux problèmes mondiaux urgents.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: