Canadian international assistance in Jordan

As a middle-income country, Jordan has had a relatively stable and well-functioning economy and has demonstrated progressive social development indicators.

In 2015, Jordan ranked 80th out of 188 countries on the Human Development Index of the United Nations Development Programme. Jordan has made some progress in the past in achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).  This is particularly true in the fields of education, environment and health care. However, more remains to be done to achieve targets related to equality, poverty reduction, employment and gender parity.

Challenges in Jordan

An estimated 14% of Jordan’s population continues to live below the national poverty line. The development challenges, particularly for youth and women, continue to persist in Jordan, where unemployment for youth has reached 29%.

Women’s participation in the labour force is only 22% compared with that of men at 87%, and Jordan ranks 102nd out of 188 countries on the UN’s Gender Inequality Index.

Jordan has incorporated the new Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which build on the MDGs, into its national agenda, notably Jordan’s 2025 Vision plan. The country has highlighted the need to address the SDG goals related to climate action. In 2013 Jordan became the first country in the Middle East to develop a national climate change policy.

Jordan is one of the most water-scarce countries in the world. This is coupled with a rapid population increase and urbanization, which has led to additional strains on limited energy resources.

Impact of conflict in Syria

Since 2011, the crisis in neighbouring Syria has had a negative impact on Jordan's economy, fiscal position, public infrastructure, services and social cohesion.

The Government of Jordan is facing extreme pressure as it struggles to address the needs of more than 642,000 registered refugees, 85% of whom are living in host communities.

This rapid increase in population and the strain on Jordan’s resources has led to tensions in host communities. The crisis in Syria has further exacerbated Jordan’s long-standing social development challenges, which include:

Jordan’s relatively secure environment makes it a hub for the delivery of Canada’s programs in the Middle East. It plays a critical role in supporting Canada’s response to the crises in the region.

Our international development assistance

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support development in Jordan

In the beginning of 2016, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced Canada's new strategy to address the ongoing crises in Iraq and Syria, including increases over the period 2016-2019 to Canada's security, stabilization, and humanitarian and development assistance.

Complementing Canada’s international humanitarian assistance, Canada’s bilateral development assistance is helping achieve long-term development objectives in education,sustainable economic growth and municipal governance, while also supporting Jordan in its response to the refugee crisis.

Canada’s development programming is helping to strengthen the resilience of individuals, communities and systems to withstand the crises in the region and contribute to the longer-term development of Jordan.

Inclusive help for women and youth

Our development assistance in Jordan supports a more-resilient education system that provides a quality and inclusive education for all children, including refugee children. Canada provides direct budget support to Jordan’s Ministry of Education to implement its national education plan and strengthen its capacity to deliver services while further supporting improvements to the quality of education through, for example, support for teacher training.

Canada also supports improved, low-carbon economic growth, job creation and entrepreneurship in Jordan, particularly for women, youth, refugees and refugee-hosting communities. Canada’s programs in Jordan support, for example

Supporting needs of citizens and refugees

Canada is supporting the Government of Jordan to respond effectively to the needs of citizens and refugees, particularly in refugee-hosting communities. By adopting a resilience-based approach, Canada is helping to strengthen the capacities of individuals, institutions and systems of the government to withstand the impacts of the ongoing crises in the region. For example, Canada’s programming is supporting municipalities to provide quality basic services to local populations.

Key anticipated results

Achievements

Related Links

Date Modified:

L’aide internationale canadienne en Jordanie

En tant que pays à revenu intermédiaire, la Jordanie jouit d’une économie relativement stable et fonctionnelle, et elle affiche des indicateurs de développement social en croissance.

En 2015, la Jordanie se classait au 80e rang des 188 pays classés selon l’Indice de développement humain du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. La Jordanie a fait des progrès en vue d’atteindre les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD). Ceci est particulièrement vrai dans les domaines de l’éducation, de l’environnement et des soins de santé. Toutefois, il lui reste du chemin à faire pour atteindre les objectifs relatifs à l’égalité, à la réduction de la pauvreté, à l’emploi et à la parité hommes-femmes.

Les défis auxquels est confrontée la Jordanie

On estime que 14 % de la population de la Jordanie continue de vivre sous le seuil national de la pauvreté. Certains défis en matière de développement persistent dans le pays, notamment en ce qui concerne les jeunes et les femmes, alors que le taux de chômage chez les jeunes atteint 29 %.

La participation des femmes au monde du travail se situe à seulement 22 %, comparée à 87 % chez les hommes. La Jordanie, se classe ainsi 102e  rang sur 188 pays classés selon l’Indice d’inégalités de genre de l’ONU.

Dans son plan « Vision 2025 », soit son programme national de développement, la Jordanie a intégré les nouveaux Objectifs de développement durable (ODD), lesquels constituent le prolongement des OMD. Le pays a souligné la nécessité de s’attaquer aux ODD liés aux mesures climatiques. En 2013, la Jordanie est devenue le premier pays du Moyen-Orient à élaborer une politique nationale sur les changements climatiques.

La Jordanie est l’un des pays du monde les plus touchés par la pénurie d’eau. À cela s’ajoutent une croissance démographique et une urbanisation rapides, qui exercent des pressions supplémentaires sur ses ressources énergétiques limitées.

Les répercussions du conflit syrien

Depuis 2011, la crise qui sévit chez son voisin, la Syrie, a des répercussions négatives sur l’économie, la situation budgétaire, les infrastructures publiques, les services et la cohésion sociale du pays.

Le gouvernement de la Jordanie subit des pressions extrêmes alors qu’il s’efforce de répondre aux besoins de plus de 642 000 réfugiés inscrits dont 85 % vivent dans des communautés d’accueil.

Cette soudaine croissance de la population et la pression qu’elle exerce sur les ressources de la Jordanie ont provoqué des tensions intercommunautaires. La crise en Syrie a accentué les défis de longue date de la Jordanie en matière de développement social, notamment :

La situation relativement stable de la Jordanie en fait le centre névralgique pour la mise en œuvre des programmes du Canada au Moyen-Orient. La Jordanie joue donc un rôle essentiel dans l’appui des interventions du Canada en réponse aux crises dans la région.

Notre aide au développement international

Faites une recherche dans la Banque de projets pour découvrir ce que fait le Canada pour aider au développement de la Jordanie.

Au début de 2016, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a annoncé la nouvelle stratégie du Canada pour faire face aux crises en cours en Irak et en Syrie, qui consiste notamment à augmenter la contribution du Canada en matière de sécurité, de stabilisation, d’aide humanitaire et d’aide au développement au cours des trois prochaines années.

Comme complément à son assistance humanitaire internationale, l’aide bilatérale au développement du Canada contribue à renforcer les objectifs de développement à long terme liés à l’éducation, à la croissance économique durable et à la gouvernance municipale, tout en soutenant la Jordanie dans ses interventions en réponse à la crise des réfugiés.

Les programmes de développement du Canada contribue à accroître la résilience des personnes, des communautés et des systèmes pour résister aux crises dans la région et contribueront au développement à long terme de la Jordanie.

L’aide inclusive apportée aux femmes et aux jeunes

Notre aide au développement en Jordanie se manifeste par des investissements dans le secteur de l’éducation, afin de renforcer la résilience de ce secteur et lui permettre d’offrir une éducation inclusive de qualité à tous les enfants, y compris aux jeunes réfugiés. Le Canada fournit un appui budgétaire direct au ministère de l’Éducation de la Jordanie pour qu’il puisse mettre en œuvre son plan national d’éducation et renforcer sa capacité opérationnelle, tout en favorisant l’amélioration de l’enseignement par un soutien à la formation des enseignants, entre autres.

Le Canada appuie le développement d’une économie améliorée à faibles émissions de carbone ainsi que la création d’emplois et l’entrepreneuriat en Jordanie, axés sur les femmes, les jeunes, les réfugiés et les communautés d’accueil. Les programmes du Canada en Jordanie favorisent, par exemple :

Répondre aux besoins des citoyens et des réfugiés

Le Canada soutient le gouvernement de la Jordanie en l’aidant à répondre efficacement aux besoins de ses citoyens et des réfugiés, en particulier dans les communautés d’accueil. En adoptant une approche fondée sur la résilience, le Canada contribue au renforcement des capacités des personnes, des institutions et des systèmes du gouvernement pour qu’ils résistent aux contrecoups des crises dans la région. Par exemple, les programmes du Canada soutiennent les administrations municipales afin qu’elles puissent fournir des services de base de qualité aux populations locales.

Principaux résultats escomptés

Réalisations

Liens connexes

Date de modification: