International Policy Ideas Challenge 2017

2017 Call for proposals

Download the program poster

Past competitions

2016 Policy Ideas Challenge finalists

Competition finalists

Foreign data-driven environmental policy in developing countries: Leveraging citizen science networks to assess natural resource sector impacts

Tyler Carlson

Tyler Carlson is a Master’s student in the School of Resource and Environmental Management at Simon Fraser University (SFU), and a researcher with Living Lakes Canada and SFU’s Adaptation to Climate Change Team. His research explores the potential of citizen science, and in particular, community-based water monitoring, to improve decision-making surrounding Canada’s freshwater resources. During his Master’s studies, Tyler was elected to the SFU Board of Governors and served on the Responsible Investment Committee where he oversaw the development of policies to promote sustainable and low-carbon investments in the university’s endowment fund. Currently, Tyler is interning as a climate policy analyst at Environment and Climate Change Canada and supporting the implementation of Canada’s national strategy on climate change.

Capturing Canadian best-practices for the global compacts and beyond

Tyler Foley

Tyler Foley is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Political Science at Carleton University where he explores the intersection of humanitarianism, development, and forced migration. Previously, he worked for several years in humanitarian operations with Médecins Sans Frontières in Africa and Asia, and as a project coordinator with Aga Khan Foundation Canada in Ottawa. He earned a Master’s degree in International Affairs from Carleton University and a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science from the University of New Brunswick.

The Belt and Road Initiative: A new level of bilateral cooperation between Canada and China

Maha Kamel

Maha Kamel is a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow at the Balsillie School of International Affairs (BSIA), University of Waterloo, Ontario. She works on China’s role in the international monetary and financial system, the Belt and Road initiative (BRI) and the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), and the Renminbi. She has a PhD in Politics and International Studies from the University of Cambridge, and a MA in Political Economy from the University of Essex. Her Ph.D. thesis focused on the international monetary and financial negotiation in the G20 amidst the global financial crisis. She taught graduate and undergraduate level courses on international economics and politics and was a Research Associate at the Centre for Rising Power (CRP), University of Cambridge.

Optimizing Canada’s international assistance efforts with blockchain technology: An assessment of regulatory challenges at home and abroad

Amìr Korhani – Lead Researcher, Laura Garcia – Collaborator

Amìr Korhani is a first-year Ph.D. student in Law at the University of Ottawa. His research is in law and technology, focusing mainly on disruptive technologies’ impact on society. Amìr has conducted research for the Canadian Intellectual Property Office and interned at the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) and Global Affairs. He is currently working as a research assistant at the University of Ottawa.

Laura Garcia is a Ph.D. candidate in Law and co-president of the Graduate Students in Law association (GSLEDD) at the University of Ottawa. Her area of research is law and technology, with focus on privacy and location technologies. She graduated in 2013 from the University of Los Andes in Bogota, Colombia with a degree in Law. In 2014, she obtained a LLM with concentration in Law and Technology from the University of Ottawa.

Blockchain technologies: A survey of potential applications to the Global Affairs Canada mandate

Guillaume Lord

Guillaume Lord is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Economics at McGill University, where he specializes in Environmental Economics. His thesis research focuses on how international agreements on climate change can be better designed to create economic incentives favourable to higher levels of ambition, participation and compliance. The potential avenues of solution he considers include the innovative use of financial instruments and emerging blockchain technologies to commit to emission targets. He was recently a visiting scholar at Columbia University in the City of New York and has previously been a course lecturer in Environmental Economics at McGill University, where he has also obtained a B.Sc. in Physics and Computer Science as well as an MA in Economics. He has been involved in numerous extracurricular and outreach activities, including as the president and co-founder of the McGill Economics Graduate Student Association.

Refugee responsibility sharing through innovative finance and risk-based mechanisms: Opportunities for Canada to lead

Olivia Matthews – Lead Researcher

Olivia is a candidate for the Master of International Public Policy at the Balsillie School of International Affairs. As a recipient of a Centre for International Governance Innovation Graduate Fellowship, Olivia has been researching innovative financing options to improve cooperation for international refugee responsibility-sharing. Olivia completed an Honours Degree in Global Studies and Political Science at Wilfrid Laurier University (WLU). Throughout her undergraduate career, Olivia was involved in WLU’s Response to the Syrian Refugee Crisis and an internship with the Academic Council on the United Nations System. Most recently, Olivia completed a year term as President & CEO of the WLU Students’ Union.

Dani Marcheva – Collaborator

Dani Marcheva is a Master’s student at the Balsillie School of International Affairs in Waterloo, pursuing a Master of Arts in Global Governance. Her research focusses on the issue of energy poverty in Central and Eastern Europe. Dani has international professional experience in research and policy, gained from working in Bulgaria, England and Canada. Currently she works as a Graduate Fellow at the Centre for International Governance Innovation on the Global Leadership and International Cooperation for Refugees project.


Dominique Souris – Collaborator

Dominique Souris is a Master’s student at the Balsillie School of International Affairs and Graduate Fellow at the Centre for International Governance Innovation. Her research explores innovative finance for climate-related loss and damage and refugee responsibility sharing. As one of Canada’s Top 30 under 30 Sustainability Leaders, Dominique is passionate about engaging young people in climate action, policy and social innovation. Dominique actively works with youth across the globe to increase the participation and capacity of young people in UN processes. Dominique has advised and worked for a number of local and international institutions, such as UNEP, UNESCO, IDRC, as well as state governments.

Promoting and supporting transparency and open data as part of post-conflict reconstruction efforts in Colombia

Christian Medina-Ramirez

Christian Medina-Ramirez is a researcher and a free-lance writer based in Montreal, QC. He holds a Master of Arts in Conflict Analysis and Conflict Resolution from Carleton University (Ottawa, Canada) and an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Politics and Philosophy from the University of Hong Kong and the University of Waterloo (Waterloo, Canada). His areas of expertise include the intersections between natural resources, armed conflict, criminal/terrorist networks and development. He is a strong advocate for the democratization of knowledge and data. His current research focuses on ways that access to information and data can help post-conflict societies.

Canada and the governance of outer space

Gregory Sharp

A Ph.D. student in Political Science at the University of British Columbia (UBC) in Vancouver, Greg Sharp’s research focuses on the international relations of frontiers (both physical and otherwise). He holds a Master of Arts in Political Science from UBC, where his work focused on the Arctic, and a Master of International Public Management from Sciences Po Paris, where he majored in Diplomacy and Intelligence studies. In his spare time, Greg is an avid traveler, outdoor enthusiast, and a huge fan of science fiction. Previously Greg has interned and worked in France, Belgium, Iceland, and Canada.

Formulating Canada FTA strategy: Advancing a progressive trade agenda

Fanny Siauw-Soegiarto

Fanny Siauw-Soegiarto is a Ph.D. student in the International Economic Policy stream of the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs (NPSIA) at Carleton University. She is also a Research Associate at Carleton’s Centre for Trade Policy and Law and a Guest Editor for NPSIA’s Canadian Foreign Policy Journal. Her doctoral research employs an interdisciplinary approach to investigate the proliferation and the effects of free trade agreements. She specializes in trade and investment policy analysis using gravity modelling with a regional focus on ASEAN and Indonesia. Her other research interests include Canadian trade policies, international trade negotiations and digital economy. She holds an MA in Economics with a Financial Economics concentration from Carleton University and a BA in Economics from the University of Manitoba.

Inclusive Gender-Based Analysis (GBA)+ in public participation processes

Maïka Sondarjee – Lead Researcher

Maïka Sondarjee is a Ph.D. candidate in Political Science at the University of Toronto. She holds a Master’s degree in Political Science from the University of Montreal and an undergraduate degree in Journalism from UQAM. She studies shifts towards participatory processes in development projects, especially the World Bank poverty reduction strategy. She regularly gives guest lectures on critical gender studies and participated in a dozen international conferences. She contributes to various media on a range of topics, namely the humanitarian crisis in Somalia, Indian politics, the Francophonie, as well as the policies of the IMF and the World Bank. She worked with NGOs on the ground in Bolivia, Burkina Faso and India. Her research is financed by SSHRC.

Nicole Swerhun – Collaborator

Nicole Swerhun holds a BSc in Ecology and Evolution and an MBA in Business and Administration from Wilfrid Laurier University. Twelve years ago she founded Swerhun Inc., a firm dedicated to making complex, often controversial and high profile, multi-stakeholder projects constructive and manageable. She helps connect decision makers to the constituencies they serve. Nicole has led the design and delivery of engagement projects in post-war Bosnia, post-Katrina New Orleans, and in several cities across Canada and the US. The projects she works on deal with a range of public policy issues, from land use, transportation, and community services to growth management and infrastructure investment.

Timeline

Call for proposalsJanuary 2017
Officials of Global Affairs Canada held a virtual session to address questions from interested applicants. Read the question and answer summary.February 22, 2017
Application deadlineMarch 13, 2017
Assessment of applications *March 2017
Selection of the ten winning entriesApril 2017
Joint SSHRC/GAC press release to announce the winnersearly May 2017
A virtual workshop for selected candidates to discuss their projectsMay 2017
Policy briefs dueSeptember 5, 2017
Presentation of final research products to Government of Canada Officials and participation in the Knowledge Summit of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of CanadaNovember 2017
Dissemination of the proceedings of the GAC SymposiumFebruary 2018

* As the final step in the assessment process, shortlisted candidates may be invited to present their proposals virtually to a Global Affairs Canada jury.

Date Modified:

Concours d’idées de politique internationale 2017

Appel de propositions 2017

Téléchargez l’affiche du programme

Concours précédents

Finalistes du Concours d’idées de politique internationale 2016

Les finalists du concours

Favoriser la politique de l’environnement axée sur les données dans les pays en développement : tirer parti des réseaux de la science citoyenne pour évaluer les impacts du secteur des ressources naturelles

Tyler Carlson

Tyler Carlson est étudiant à la maîtrise à la Faculté de la gestion des ressources et de l’environnement de l’Université Simon Fraser (USF), et chercheur auprès de Living Lakes Canada et de l’Équipe sur l’adaptation aux changements climatiques de l’USF. Ses travaux de recherche explorent les possibilités de la science citoyenne et, en particulier, la surveillance communautaire de l’eau en vue d’améliorer le processus décisionnel se rapportant aux ressources en eau douce au Canada. Au cours de ses études de maîtrise, Tyler a été nommé au conseil des gouverneurs de l’USF et a participé au comité d’investissement responsable, où il supervisait l’élaboration de politiques visant à promouvoir les investissements sobres en carbone durable dans le fonds de dotation de l’université. Tyler effectue actuellement un stage à titre d’analyste des politiques sur les changements climatiques auprès d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et appuie la mise en œuvre de la stratégie nationale du Canada sur les changements climatiques.

Capture des pratiques exemplaires canadiennes pour les pactes mondiaux et au-delà

Tyler Foley

Tyler Foley est étudiant au doctorat au département des Sciences politiques à l’Université Carleton, où il explore le rapport entre l’humanitarisme, le développement et la migration forcée. Il a travaillé auparavant pendant plusieurs années à des opérations humanitaires avec Médecins Sans Frontières en Afrique et en Asie, en plus d’agir à titre de coordonnateur de projets auprès de la Fondation Aga Khan Canada à Ottawa. Il a obtenu une maîtrise en affaires internationales de l’Université Carleton ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en sciences politiques de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

L’Initiative de la Ceinture et de la Route : un nouveau niveau de coopération bilatérale entre le Canada et la Chine

Maha Kamel

Maha Kamel est boursière de recherches postdoctorales du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada à l’École Basillie des affaires internationales de l’Université de Waterloo, en Ontario. Ses travaux portent sur le rôle de la Chine dans le système monétaire et financier international, l’Initiative de la Ceinture et de la Route et la Banque asiatique d’investissement pour les infrastructures, et le renminbi. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences politiques et en études internationales de l’Université de Cambridge ainsi que d’une maîtrise en économie politique de l’Université d’Essex. Sa thèse de doctorat portait sur la négociation monétaire et financière internationale dans le cadre du G20 au cœur de la crise financière mondiale. Elle a donné des cours de premier cycle et de deuxième cycle sur l’économie et la politique internationales et a occupé un poste d’associée en recherche auprès du Center for Rising Power de l’Université de Cambridge.

Optimiser les efforts d’assistance internationale du Canada avec la technologie de la chaîne de blocs (blockchain) : une évaluation des défis réglementaires domestiques et internationaux

Amìr Korhani – Chercheur principal, Laura Garcia – Collaboratrice

Amìr Korhani est étudiant de première année au programme de doctorat en droit à l’Université d’Ottawa. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur le droit et la technologie et sont principalement axés sur l’incidence des technologies de rupture sur la société. Amìr a mené des travaux de recherche pour l’Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et a effectué un stage au Conseil de radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes et à Affaires mondiales Canada. Il travaille actuellement à titre d’adjoint de recherche à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Laura Garcia est candidate au doctorat en droit et coprésidente de l’Association des étudiant(e)s aux études supérieures en droit de l’Université d’Ottawa. Son domaine de recherche est le droit et la technologie, avec une attention particulière à la protection de la vie privée et les technologies de localisation. Elle a obtenu en 2013 un diplôme en droit de l’Université des Andes à Bogotá, en Colombie. En 2014, elle a obtenu une maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit et technologie de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Technologies des chaînes de blocs (blockchain) : une revue des applications potentielles en appui au mandat d’Affaires mondiales Canada

Guillaume Lord

Guillaume Lord est candidat au doctorat du Département d’économie de l’Université McGill, où il s’est spécialisé en économie environnementale. Sa thèse est consacrée à la façon dont les accords internationaux sur les changements climatiques pourraient être améliorés pour créer des incitatifs économiques favorables à des niveaux accrus d’ambition, de participation et de conformité. Il examine notamment comme pistes de solution l’utilisation novatrice d’instruments financiers et de technologies émergentes en matière de chaînes de blocs dans l’engagement envers des cibles d’émissions. Il était récemment chercheur invité à la Columbia University à New York, en plus d’avoir agi auparavant comme chargé de cours en économie environnementale à l’Université McGill, où il a également obtenu un B.Sc. en physique et informatique ainsi qu’une maîtrise en économie. Il a participé à de nombreuses activités extrascolaires et de mobilisation, notamment à titre de président et de cofondateur de l’Association des étudiants de cycle supérieur en économie de l’Université McGill.

Partage de Responsabilité envers les réfugiés en matière de financement novateur et des mécanismes axés sur les risques : opportunités pour le Leadership du Canada

Olivia Matthews – Chercheuse principale

Olivia Matthews est candidate à la maîtrise en politiques publiques internationales à l’École Basillie des affaires internationales. À titre de titulaire d’une bourse d’études supérieures du Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale, Olivia examine des options de financement novatrices pour améliorer la coopération dans le partage de la responsabilité envers les réfugiés internationaux. Olivia a réussi un baccalauréat spécialisé en études mondiales et sciences politiques à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier (UWL). Au cours de ses études de premier cycle, Olivia a participé à la réponse de l’UWL à la crise des réfugiés syriens et a effectué un stage auprès du Conseil universitaire pour le système des Nations Unies. Récemment, Olivia a terminé un mandat d’un an à titre de présidente-directrice générale du syndicat des étudiants de l’UWL.

Dani Marcheva – Collaboratrice

Dani Marcheva est étudiante à la maîtrise à l’École Basillie des affaires internationales à Waterloo, où elle fait une maîtrise ès arts en gouvernance mondiale. Ses recherches sont axées sur l’enjeu de la pauvreté énergétique en Europe centrale et de l’Est. Dani a acquis une expérience professionnelle internationale en recherche et politique dans le cadre de son travail en Bulgarie, en Angleterre et au Canada. Elle est actuellement boursière d’études supérieures du Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale au sein du projet Global Leadership and International Cooperation for Refugees.

Dominique Souris – Collaboratrice

Dominique Souris est étudiante à la maîtrise à l’École Basillie des affaires internationales et stagiaire des cycles supérieurs au Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale. Ses travaux de recherche explorent le financement novateur des pertes et dommages liés au climat et le partage de la responsabilité envers les réfugiés. Nommée parmi les 30 principaux leaders du développement durable âgés de moins de 30 ans au Canada, Dominique cherche ardemment à faire participer les jeunes à l’intervention, aux politiques et à l’innovation sociale en matière de changements climatiques. Dominique travaille activement auprès des jeunes à l’échelle de la planète pour accroître leur participation et leur capacité dans les processus des Nations Unies. Dominique a travaillé pour de nombreuses institutions locales et internationales et a conseillé bon nombre d’entre elles, notamment le Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement, l’UNESCO, le Centre de recherches pour le développement international ainsi que des administrations d’États.

Promouvoir et soutenir la transparence et les données ouvertes dans le cadre des efforts de reconstruction après les conflits en Colombie

Christian Medina-Ramirez

Christian Medina-Ramirez est chercheur et écrivain indépendant à Montréal, au Québec. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts en analyse de conflits et résolution de conflits de l’Université Carleton (à Ottawa, au Canada) et d’un baccalauréat ès arts spécialisé en sciences politiques et philosophie de l’Université de Hong Kong et de l’Université de Waterloo (à Waterloo, au Canada). Ses domaines d’expertise comprennent les rapports entre les ressources naturelles, les conflits armés, les réseaux criminels et terroristes et le développement. Il est un ardent défendeur de la démocratisation du savoir et des données. Ses travaux de recherche actuels sont axés sur les façons dont l’accès à l’information et aux données peut aider les sociétés se relevant d’un conflit.

Le Canada et la gouvernance de l’espace extra-atmosphérique

Gregory Sharp

Greg Sharp est étudiant au doctorat en sciences politiques à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), à Vancouver. Ses recherches portent sur les relations internationales des frontières (physiques et autres). Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts en sciences politiques de l’UBC, où ses travaux se concentrent sur l’Arctique, et d’une maîtrise en gestion publique internationale de Sciences Po Paris, où il s’est spécialisé en diplomatie et études du renseignement. Dans ses temps libres, Greg est passionné de voyages, amateur de plein air et un inconditionnel de science-fiction. Auparavant, Greg a effectué des stages et travaillé en France, en Belgique, en Islande et au Canada.

Formuler la stratégie du libre-échange du Canada : faire promouvoir un programme commercial progressiste

Fanny Siauw-Soegiarto

Fanny Siauw-Soegiarto est étudiante en doctorat dans le volet Politiques économiques internationales de l’École d’affaires internationales Norman Paterson (EAINP) à l’Université Carleton. Elle est également adjointe de recherche au Centre de droit et de politique commerciale de l’Université Carleton et éditrice invitée de La politique étrangère du Canada de l’EAINP. Ses travaux de recherche de doctorat reposent sur une approche interdisciplinaire pour examiner la prolifération et les répercussions des accords de libre-échange. Elle se spécialise dans l’analyse de politiques commerciales et d’investissement au moyen de modèles gravitaires et se concentre sur les régions de l’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est et de l’Indonésie. Elle s’intéresse également aux politiques commerciales canadiennes, aux négociations commerciales internationales et à l’économie numérique. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en économie avec concentration en économie financière de l’Université Carleton et d’un baccalauréat en économie de l’Université du Manitoba.

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) inclusif dans les processus de participation publique

Maïka Sondarjee – Chercheuse principale

Maïka Sondarjee est candidate au doctorat en sciences politiques à l’Université de Toronto. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences politiques de l’Université de Montréal et d’un diplôme de premier cycle en journalisme de l’UQAM. Ses études portent principalement sur les processus participatifs dans le cadre de projets de développement, particulièrement la stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté de la Banque mondiale. Elle donne régulièrement, à titre de conférencière, des cours magistraux sur les études essentielles sur le genre et a participé à des dizaines de conférences internationales. Elle contribue à divers médias sur une vaste gamme de sujets, notamment la crise humanitaire en Somalie, les politiques indiennes et la Francophonie ainsi que les politiques du Fonds monétaire international et de la Banque mondiale. Elle a travaillé avec des organismes non gouvernementaux sur le terrain en Bolivie, au Burkina Faso et en Inde. Ses travaux de recherche sont financés par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.

Nicole Swerhun – Collaboratrice

Nicole Swerhun est titulaire d’un B.Sc. en écologie et évolution et d’une MBA en affaires et administration de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier. Il y a douze ans, elle a fondé Swerhun Inc., une firme qui se consacre à rendre constructifs et gérables des projets complexes, parfois controversés et à grande visibilité, regroupant de nombreux intervenants. Elle aide à établir une relation entre les décideurs et les circonscriptions qu’ils servent. Nicole a dirigé la conception et la prestation de projets d’engagement dans le contexte d’après-guerre en Bosnie et à La Nouvelle-Orléans après Katrina, ainsi que dans plusieurs villes du Canada et des États-Unis. Les projets auxquels elle participe portent sur une grande gamme d’enjeux politiques publics, allant de l’utilisation des terres au transport en passant par les services communautaires, la gestion de la croissance et l’investissement dans l’infrastructure.

Échéancier

Appel de propositionsjanvier 2017
Des fonctionnaires d’Affaires mondiales Canada ont tenu une séance virtuelle pour traiter des questions soulevées par les candidats intéressés. Lisez le résumé des questions et réponses.22 février 2017
Date limite de présentation des propositions13 mars 2017
Évaluation des propositions *mars 2017
Sélection des 10 meilleurs candidatsavril 2017
Communiqué conjoint du CRSH/d’AMC pour annoncer les gagnantsdébut mai 2017
Atelier virtuel pour les candidats sélectionnés afin de discuter de leurs projetsmai 2017
Remise de l’énoncé de politique5 septembre 2017
Présentation des produits finaux de leur recherche aux fonctionnaires du gouvernement du Canada et participation au Sommet du savoir du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canadanovembre 2017
Dissémination des travaux du colloque d’AMCfévrier 2018

*Comme il s’agit de l’étape finale du processus d’évaluation, les meilleurs candidats pourraient être invités à présenter leur proposition virtuellement devant un jury d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Date de modification: