Volunteering and internship opportunities

Many Canadians participate in volunteering activities and internships, either in Canada or abroad. Volunteering and internships are great ways to gain professional experience, skills and knowledge that will prepare you for future employment.

Abroad

First, make sure you are well informed as you plan your internship or volunteer placement abroad. Here's what you need know to volunteer abroad.

International Youth Internship Program (IYIP)

Interested in international development? You want to intern or volunteer overseas? IYIP is for Canadians 19 to 30 years old. The program gives post-secondary graduates the opportunity to apply their knowledge, gain international work experience and develop skills in various sectors.

International Aboriginal Youth Internships initiative (IAYI)

You are an Aboriginal youth between the ages of 18 and 35? You are interested in gaining international experience? If you possess a secondary school diploma (or equivalent certification) and/or equivalent work experience related to the internship description, the IAYI may be for you. These internships consist of a four to six-month period spent in a developing country working on issues such as equality between men and women, the environment, health, education, small business development, and agriculture.

Volunteer Cooperation Program

Interested in sharing your expertise, your knowledge and your time with the developing world? The Volunteer Cooperation Program leverages the skills and expertise of thousands of volunteers in support of advancing Canada’s international development priorities.

In Canada

You want to volunteer or intern with an organization working in the field of international development, but do not want to go overseas? Many organizations in Canada welcome volunteers and host interns. Contact a non-governmental organization (NGO) in your area and ask if they need volunteers.

If you are interested in gaining professional experience with the federal government, apply to the Federal Student Work Experience Program which offers full-time students work experience related to their field of study.

The International Development Research Centre (IDRC) offers summer work placements for students at their head office in Ottawa. IDRC also offers competitive research awards to students pursuing master’s or doctoral studies in a field related to international development.

Related links

Date Modified:

Possibilités de stages et de bénévolat

Plusieurs Canadiens participent à des activités de bénévolat et de stages, soit au Canada ou à l'étranger. Le bénévolat et les stages sont d'excellents moyens d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle, ainsi que des compétences et des connaissances qui vous prépareront pour un emploi futur.

À l'étranger

En planifiant votre stage ou bénévolat à l'étranger, assurez-vous que vous êtes bien informé. Voici ce que vous devez savoir pour faire du bénévolat à l'étranger.

Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes (PSIJ)

Le développement international vous intéresse? Vous voulez faire du bénévolat ou des stages outremer? Le PSIJ est destiné aux jeunes Canadiens de 19 à 30 ans. Ce programme offre aux diplômés d'un programme postsecondaire la possibilité de mettre en pratique leurs connaissances, d'acquérir une expérience de travail internationale et des compétences dans divers domaines.

Stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones (SIJA)

Vous êtes un jeune Autochtone âgé de 18 à 35 ans? Le travail en développement international vous intéresse? L'initiative des SIJA est peut-être pour vous. Ces stages consistent en une période de quatre à six mois passée dans un pays en développement à travailler sur des questions telles que l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes, l'environnement, la santé, l'éducation, le développement des petites entreprises, et de l'agriculture.

Programme de coopération volontaire

Vous voulez partager votre expertise, vos connaissances et votre temps avec le monde en développement? Le Programme de coopération volontaire met à profit les compétences et l'expertise de milliers de volontaires à l'appui de l'avancement des priorités en matière de développement international du Canada.

Au Canada

Vous voulez faire du bénévolat ou un stage avec une organisation dans le domaine du développement international, mais vous n'êtes pas encore prêt à le faire à l'étranger? Il existe de nombreuses organisations au Canada qui accueillent les bénévoles et offrent des stages. Il s'agit simplement de trouver la bonne.

Si vous êtes intéressé à acquérir une expérience professionnelle avec le gouvernement fédéral, postulez au Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant, qui offre aux étudiants à temps plein une expérience de travail liée à leur domaine d'études.

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) offre des stages d'été pour les étudiants à leur siège social à Ottawa. Le CRDI offre également des bourses de recherche compétitives aux étudiants qui poursuivent des études de maîtrise ou de doctorat dans un domaine lié au développement international.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: