International Youth Internship Program (IYIP)

Global Affairs Canada is currently assessing applications to determine which Canadian organizations will receive funding to implement international internships in the new iteration of the four year program. We encourage you to check this page frequently for a list of available internships.

The International Youth Internship Program (IYIP) is part of the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy, which provides Canadian youth with the tools and experience they need to launch successful careers.

The IYIP is designed to offer Canadian post-secondary graduates the opportunity to gain professional experience through international development work. The objective of the IYIP is to support sustainable international development initiatives proposed, in partnership with local partner organizations, by Canadian professional associations, educational institutions, non-governmental organizations and private companies.

In order to qualify, Canadian youth must be between the ages of 19 to 30, and be post-secondary graduates, graduates of a degree or diploma program in a university, college, post-secondary school of technology, post-secondary institute or a CEGEP (General and Vocational College).

The Program aims to:

  • provide eligible Canadian youth with international experience, skills and knowledge that will prepare them for future employment;
  • increase employment opportunities by promoting awareness among Canadian organizations of the advantages of integrating young Canadian professionals into their structures and programs; and,
  • provide opportunities for Canadian youth to promote Canada’s international development efforts both in Canada and abroad.

International youth internships consist of a minimum six-month period spent in a developing country working on issues such as equality between women and men, the environment, health, education, small business development, and agriculture.

Related links

Date Modified:

Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes (PSIJ)

Affaires Mondiales Canada évalue actuellement les demandes de propositions pour déterminer quelles organisations canadiennes recevront des fonds pour mettre en œuvre des stages internationaux dans la nouvelle itération du programme de quatre ans. Nous vous encourageons à consulter fréquemment cette page pour une liste de stages disponibles.

Le Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes (PSIJ) fait partie de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse du gouvernement du Canada qui offre aux jeunes Canadiens les outils et l'expérience nécessaires pour amorcer leur carrière du bon pied.

Le PSIJ vise à fournir aux jeunes Canadiens détenant un diplôme postsecondaire la possibilité d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle en travaillant dans le domaine du développement international. L'objectif du PSIJ consiste à appuyer des initiatives durables de développement international, proposées par des associations professionnelles canadiennes, des établissements d'enseignement, des organisations non gouvernementales et des entreprises privées, en partenariat avec des organisations partenaires locales.

Pour être admissible, les jeunes Canadiens doivent être âgés entre 19 et 30 ans, et détenir un diplôme d'études postsecondaires, d'une université, d'un collège, d'une école postsecondaire de technologie, d'un institut postsecondaire ou d'un cégep (collège d'enseignement général et professionnel).

Ce programme vise à :

  • fournir aux jeunes Canadiens admissibles une expérience internationale, les compétences et les connaissances qui les prépareront à leur future carrière;
  • accroître les perspectives d'emploi en sensibilisant les organisations canadiennes aux avantages d'intégrer de jeunes professionnels Canadiens dans leurs structures et leurs programmes; et,
  • offrir des occasions aux jeunes Canadiens de promouvoir les efforts du Canada en matière de développement international, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger.

Les stages internationaux pour les jeunes consistent en une période minimale de six mois passée dans un pays en développement à travailler sur des enjeux tels que l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes, l'environnement, la santé, l'éducation, le développement des petites entreprises, et l'agriculture.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: