Agriculture and Fishing Sector


If your company is in Canada's agriculture and fishing sector, Canada’s free trade agreements (FTAs) and foreign investment promotion and protection (FIPAs) are creating opportunities for businesses like yours.

The agriculture and fishing sector is broad, encompassing the farm input and service supplier industries, primary agriculture and fishing products.

Canadian agriculture and fishing companies are looking beyond the border for new business opportunities, and they are finding them. In 2011 Canada was the leading exporter of agricultural and fishing products in the world, with exports valued at $21.4 billion. Further, international companies are finding that Canadian agriculture and agri-food companies make great partners.

The agriculture and fishing sector is an important part of the rural Canadian economy, directly employing 305,600 people and accounting for 1.1 percent of total GDP. That is why the Government of Canada is ensuring that the needs of companies in this sector are reflected in government-to-government commercial agreements such as FTAs and FIPAs.

For example:

  • Canadian negotiators on the Canada-European Union comprehensive economic and trade agreement are seeking new and expanded market access for key agricultural exports such as beef, pork, grains and oilseeds, fruits and vegetables and processed foods.
  • Under the Canada-European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Free Trade Agreement (implemented in July 2009), several agricultural exports can enter the EFTA market duty-free, while others receive a preferential rate of duty. For example, tariffs on the import of Canadian frozen french fries into Iceland have been reduced by about 30 percent and into Norway by 15 percent. The agreement also gives preferred access for Canadian exporters of durum wheat, frozen blueberries, canola oil, honey and other products.
  • The Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (implemented in August 2009) eliminates or reduces tariffs (which ranged up to 25 percent) on nearly all agricultural and agri-food products.
  • The Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (implemented in August 2011) eliminates or reduces tariffs (which ranged up to 108 percent) on Canadian exports of nearly all agricultural and agri-food products.
  • The Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement (implemented in October 2012) eliminates or reduces tariffs (which ranged up to 23 percent) on Canadian exports of nearly all agricultural and agri-food products.

For more information about new international business opportunities and how Canada’s FTAs and FIPAs can help your company in a particular market, please contact a trade commissioner or check out the Trade Commissioner Service website.

Secteur des produits de l’agriculture et de la pêche


Si vous menez des activités dans le secteur canadien de l’agriculture et de la pêche, les accords de libre‑échange (ALE) et les accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) du Canada créent des occasions d’affaires pour les entreprises comme la vôtre.

Le secteur de l’agriculture et de la pêche est vaste, comprenant les industries de prestation de services et de fournitures agricoles, l’agriculture primaire et les produits de la pêche.

Les entreprises canadiennes du secteur de l’agriculture et de la pêche cherchent et trouvent de nouveaux débouchés à l’extérieur de nos frontières. En 2011, le Canada a été le principal exportateur mondial de produits de l’agriculture et de la pêche : ces exportations sont chiffrées à 21,4 milliards de dollars. Par ailleurs, les sociétés étrangères découvrent que les entreprises canadiennes du secteur de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire constituent des partenaires de choix.

Le secteur de l’agriculture et de la pêche joue un rôle important au sein de l’économie canadienne rurale, puisqu’il emploie directement 305 600 personnes et représente 1,1 p. 100 du produit intérieur brut (PIB). C’est la raison pour laquelle le gouvernement du Canada veille à ce que les besoins des entreprises de ce secteur soient pris en compte dans les accords commerciaux bilatéraux, comme les ALE et les APIE, qu’il signe avec d’autres gouvernements.

Par exemple :

  • Dans le cadre des négociations en vue de conclure un accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, les négociateurs canadiens cherchent à obtenir un accès nouveau et élargi au marché européen pour les principales exportations agricoles du Canada comme le bœuf, le porc, les céréales et les oléagineux, les fruits et les légumes ainsi que les aliments transformés.
  • En vertu de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE) (en vigueur depuis juillet 2009), plusieurs produits agricoles peuvent entrer sur le marché de l’AELE en franchise de droits, tandis que d’autres bénéficient d’un traitement préférentiel. Par exemple, les droits imposés sur l’importation de frites surgelées en provenance du Canada ont été réduits de près de 30 p. 100 en Islande et de 15 p. 100 en Norvège. L’Accord prévoit aussi un accès préférentiel pour les exportateurs canadiens de blé dur, de bleuets surgelés, d’huile de canola, de miel et d’autres produits.
  • L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou (en vigueur depuis août 2009) prévoit la suppression ou la réduction des droits de douane (qui pouvaient atteindre jusqu’à 25 p. 100) sur presque tous les produits agricoles et agroalimentaires.
  • L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie (en vigueur depuis août 2011) prévoit la suppression ou la réduction des droits de douane (qui pouvaient atteindre jusqu’à 108 p. 100) sur presque toutes les exportations canadiennes de produits agricoles et agroalimentaires.
  • L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie (en vigueur depuis octobre 2012) prévoit la suppression ou la réduction des droits de douane (qui pouvaient atteindre jusqu’à 23 p. 100) sur presque toutes les exportations canadiennes de produits agricoles et agroalimentaires.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les nouvelles occasions d’affaires à l’étranger et sur la manière dont les ALE et les APIE du Canada peuvent aider votre entreprise dans un marché en particulier, veuillez communiquer avec un délégué commercial ou consulter le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux.