Forestry Sector


If your business is in Canada’s forest sector, Canada’s free trade agreements (FTAs) and foreign investment promotion and protection (FIPAs) are creating opportunities for firms like yours. This sector encompasses forestry and logging, as well as support activities for forestry and wood products manufacturing.

Canadian forest products companies are looking beyond the border for new business opportunities, and they are finding them. The United States and Western Europe have long been the major markets for Canadian forest products. In recent years, however, Canada has been transforming its export focus through product innovation and by developing new export markets. Today, for example, China, India and other Asian countries are becoming increasingly significant new markets for Canada’s forest products.

The foresty sector is an important part of the Canadian economy. As an $11.8-billion industry, it represents 7.1 percent of Canada’s manufacturing GDP. The industry is an important employer across rural Canada operating in 200 forest-dependent communities from coast to coast and directly employing 133,895 Canadians. That is why the Government of Canada is ensuring that the needs of companies in this sector are addressed in government-to-government commercial agreements such as free trade agreements.

For example:

  • Canada’s wood exports to the European Union faced average tariffs of 2.2 percent with peaks up to 10 percent between 2009 and 2011. A Canada-European Union comprehensive economic and trade agreement could benefit this sector significantly by removing tariffs and other barriers to trade.
  • Government efforts to facilitate trade between Canada and China could result in better market access for Canadian companies. Canada’s lumber exports to China have grown remarkably in recent years (up more than sixfold over the past five years to over $1.4 billion) and are beginning to expand to higher-value products.
  • The comprehensive economic partnership agreement (CEPA) Canada is negotiating with India could help unlock the significant potential of that market for Canadian exporters. Canada is a key player in India’s imports of wood pulp, selling nearly $100 million in 2012; with a CEPA in place, this figure is expected to grow and new opportunities in other forest products and processes will open up.
  • The Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) welcomes Canada’s negotiations toward a free trade agreement with Japan—the third-largest international market for Canada’s forest products. The FPAC agrees that eliminating tariff and non-tariff barriers to the Japanese market will give Canadian companies a “leg-up” on the competition.
  • The Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement (implemented in October 2012) eliminates tariffs (which ranged up to 30 percent) on most of Canada’s forest products exports to Jordan.

For more information about new international business opportunities and how Canada’s FTAs and FIPAs can help your company in a particular market, please contact a trade commissioner or check out the Trade Commissioner Service website.

Secteur de la foresterie


Si vous menez des activités dans le secteur canadien de la foresterie, les accords de libre-échange (ALE) et les accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) du Canada créent des occasions d’affaires pour les entreprises comme la vôtre. Ce secteur comprend la foresterie et l’exploitation forestière ainsi que les activités connexes à la foresterie et à la fabrication des produits du bois.

Les entreprises canadiennes de produits forestiers cherchent et trouvent de nouveaux débouchés à l’extérieur de nos frontières. Pendant une longue période, les États-Unis et l'Europe de l'Ouest ont constitué les principaux marchés des produits forestiers canadiens. Or, au cours des dernières années, le Canada a changé ses priorités en matière d’exportation en concentrant ses efforts sur l’innovation et en cherchant de nouveaux marchés d’exportation. À présent, la Chine, l'Inde et certains autres pays d'Asie constituent de nouveaux marchés prenant de plus en plus d’importance pour les produits forestiers canadiens.

Le secteur de la foresterie joue un grand rôle dans l'économie canadienne. Avec une activité d’une valeur de 11,8 milliards de dollars, il représente 7,1 p. 100 du produit intérieur brut (PIB) manufacturier du Canada. Il s’agit d’un employeur d’importance dans toutes les régions rurales, avec une présence dans 200 communautés tributaires de la forêt partout au Canada et employant directement 133 895 Canadiens. C’est la raison pour laquelle le gouvernement du Canada veille à ce que les besoins des entreprises de ce secteur soient pris en compte dans les accords commerciaux bilatéraux, comme les ALE, qu’il signe avec d’autres gouvernements.

Par exemple :

  • De 2009 à 2011, les exportations canadiennes de bois à destination de l’Union européenne étaient assujetties à des droits moyens de 2,2 p. 100, qui pouvaient atteindre parfois jusqu’à 10 p. 100. Un accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne pourrait avoir des retombées positives considérables pour ce secteur en supprimant les droits de douane et d’autres obstacles au commerce.
  • Les efforts que déploie le gouvernement pour faciliter les échanges avec la Chine pourraient permettre d’améliorer l’accès des entreprises canadiennes à ce marché. Les exportations canadiennes de bois d’œuvre à destination de la Chine ont affiché une croissance importante au cours des dernières années (elles ont plus que sextuplé au cours des cinq dernières années pour atteindre plus de 1,4 milliard de dollars) et commencent à porter sur des produits de plus grande valeur.
  • L’accord de partenariat économique global que le Canada négocie actuellement avec l’Inde pourrait donner l’occasion aux entreprises canadiennes d’accéder au potentiel considérable de ce marché. Le Canada est un partenaire clé de l’Inde en ce qui concerne l’importation de la pâte de bois, les échanges s’étant élevés à près de 100 millions de dollars en 2012. Un accord de partenariat économique global permettrait d’accroître ces échanges et d’offrir de nouveaux débouchés pour d’autres processus et produits forestiers.
  • L’Association des produits forestiers du Canada (APFC) se réjouit à l’idée de la conclusion possible d’un accord de libre- échange entre le Canada et le Japon, le troisième marché en importance pour les produits forestiers canadiens. L’APFC convient que la suppression des droits de douane et des obstacles non tarifaires à destination du marché japonais donnera une longueur d’avance aux entreprises canadiennes.
  • L’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Jordanie (en vigueur depuis octobre 2012) prévoit la suppression des droits de douane (qui pouvaient atteindre jusqu’à 30 p. 100) sur la plupart des exportations canadiennes de produits forestiers à destination de la Jordanie.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les nouvelles occasions d’affaires à l’étranger et sur la manière dont les ALE et les APIE du Canada peuvent aider votre entreprise dans un marché en particulier, veuillez communiquer avec un délégué commercial ou consulter le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux.