Benefits for Businesses

The Government of Canada is committed to providing Canadian businesspeople and investors like you with the tools, access and support you need to reach and succeed in global markets. Free trade agreements and foreign investment promotion and protection agreements help firms compete internationally across a range of sectors. By reducing or eliminating tariffs, such agreements help level the international playing field and open up opportunities for businesses like yours. See how your business can benefit.


Agriculture and Fishing Products Sector

Canadian agriculture and fishing companies are looking beyond the border for new business opportunities, and they are finding them. In 2011, Canada is a leading exporter of agricultural and fishing products in the world, with exports valued at $21.38 billion.

Consumer Products Sector

From years of experience, Canada’s consumer products sector has developed globally recognized skills and techniques, especially in the apparel, textiles and personal care subsectors.

Forestry Sector

The forestry sector is an important part of the Canadian economy. As an $11.8 billion industry, it represents 7.1 percent of Canada’s manufacturing GDP.

Information and Communications Technology Sector

Consisting mainly of small and medium-sized companies, Canada’s ICT sector generates $168 billion in revenues annually and is recognized as a world leader in many areas. Exports are growing rapidly, especially in the Asia-Pacific region and European Union.

Infrastructure Services and Building Products Sector

The Canadian infrastructure services sector comprises architecture, construction and consulting engineering companies and also includes a broad range of greenbuilding products and energy efficient technologies who stand to benefit through increased exports to new and emerging markets.

Machinery Sector

The world understands that Canadian machinery manufacturers produce quality products worth investing in. At the end of 2011, Canada’s machinery and equipment manufacturing sector had attracted $3.3 billion worth of foreign direct investment, 38 percent more than in 2005.

Mining Sector

The mining industry forms one of Canada’s oldest, most productive and profitable sectors. It is a sector where Canadian knowledge, technology, expertise and corporate leadership play a significant international role, while also producing solid benefits here at home.

Oil and Gas Sector

From years of experience, Canada’s oil and gas sector has developed globally recognized skills and techniques, especially for working in harsh climates and cold water. Consequently, Canadian technology and expertise are in demand around the world.

Avantages pour les entreprises

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à offrir aux gens d’affaires et aux investisseurs canadiens comme vous, les outils, l’accès et le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour accéder aux marchés mondiaux et y réussir. Les accords de libre-échange (ALE) et les accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) aident les entreprises à affronter la concurrence sur la scène internationale dans un large éventail de secteurs. En réduisant ou en supprimant les droits de douane, ces accords contribuent à assurer l’égalité des chances à l’échelle mondiale et ouvrent des débouchés pour les entreprises comme la vôtre. Voyez comment votre entreprise peut en tirer parti.


Secteur des produits de l’agriculture et de la pêche

Les entreprises agricoles et les entreprises de pêche canadiennes cherchent et trouvent de nouvelles occasions d’affaires à l’extérieur de nos frontières. En 2011, le Canada a été un chef de file mondial des exportations de produits agricoles et de la pêche : celles-ci se sont chiffrées à 21,38 milliards de dollars.

Secteur des produits de consommation

Au fil de longues années d’expérience, le secteur des produits de consommation du Canada a perfectionné ses compétences et ses techniques qui jouissent maintenant d’une renommée mondiale, en particulier dans les sous-secteurs des vêtements, des textiles et des produits de soins personnels.

Secteur de la foresterie

Le secteur forestier joue un grand rôle dans l’économie canadienne. Cette industrie, dont la valeur s’établit à 11,8 milliards de dollars, représente 7,1 p. 100 du produit intérieur brut manufacturier du Canada.

Secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications

Le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications du Canada, qui regroupe principalement des petites et des moyennes entreprises, génère des revenus annuels de 168 milliards de dollars et est reconnu comme un chef de file mondial dans un grand nombre de domaines. Les exportations connaissent une expansion rapide, en particulier vers la région de l’Asie-Pacifique et l’Union européenne.

Secteur des services d’infrastructure et des matériaux de construction

Le secteur canadien des services d’infrastructure regroupe des cabinets de génie-conseil, des bureaux d’architectes et des entreprises de construction. Il présente un large éventail de produits pour la construction de bâtiments écologiques et de technologies d’efficacité énergétique, lesquels ont de bonnes chances de bénéficier de l’augmentation des exportations vers les nouveaux marchés et les marchés émergents.

Secteur des machines

Les investisseurs étrangers comprennent que les fabricants canadiens de machines proposent des produits de qualité qui valent l’investissement. En 2011, le secteur de la fabrication de machines et d’équipement du Canada a attiré des investissements étrangers directs totalisant 3,3 milliards de dollars, soit 38 p. 100 de plus qu’en 2005.

Secteur de l’exploitation minière

L’industrie minière canadienne représente l’un des secteurs les plus anciens, les plus productifs et les plus rentables du pays. C’est un secteur où le savoir, la technologie, l’expertise et le rôle prépondérant des entreprises du Canada jouent un rôle important à l’échelle internationale, sans compter des retombées considérables sur le plan national.

Secteur du pétrole et du gaz

Au fil de longues années d’expérience, le secteur du pétrole et du gaz du Canada a perfectionné ses compétences et ses techniques qui jouissent maintenant d’une renommée mondiale, en particulier pour les travaux dans des conditions climatiques difficiles et en eau froide. Par conséquent, les technologies et le savoir-faire canadiens sont très recherchés partout dans le monde.