Infrastructure Services and Building Products Sector


If your business is in Canada’s infrastructure services and building products sectors, Canada’s free trade agreements (FTAs) and foreign investment promotion and protection (FIPAs) are creating opportunities for firms like yours. The sector consists of architecture, construction and consulting engineering companies, as well as a broad range of firms specializing in green building products and energy efficient technologies. As a $124-billion industry, the sector represents 8 percent of Canada’s GDP and employs over 1 million Canadians. In 2011 Canada exported over $4.3 billion of infrastructure products and services.

Green design, engineering and construction projects in Canada have a worldwide reputation for innovation and excellence. That is why foreign countries are interested in tapping into Canadian expertise and importing Canadian products.

The fast-growing economies of Asia, Latin America and Africa have been the focus of a number of trade missions led by Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, and the need for infrastructure in these countries has not been missed by trade mission participants. In January 2013, Minister Fast led a successful trade mission to fast-growing sub-Saharan Africa, which included a large focus on the infrastructure sector. Shortly before this, in November 2012, Diane Ablonczy, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs), on behalf of Minister Fast, led an infrastructure-specific trade mission to Panama, Peru and Colombia to highlight the many opportunities in these Latin American countries.

Many large infrastructure projects require significant investment, often by governments, and offer significant opportunities for goods and services providers. Government-to-government commercial agreements such as FTAs and FIPAs help Canadian companies compete for these types of infrastructure projects.

For example:

  • The Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement (in effect since August 2009) extends the Canada-Peru Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement and further protects the interests of Canadian investors with binding international arbitration to resolve disputes. Canada’s free trade agreement with Peru strengthens a well-established and growing trade and investment relationship: Canada is one of the top foreign direct investors in Peru.
  • The Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (in effect since August 2011) protects the interests of Canadian companies working on or investing in Colombia’s roads, sea ports, airports and urban mass transit through reciprocal, legally binding rights and obligations, including binding arbitration to resolve disputes.
  • Canada and Jordan have a foreign investment promotion and protection agreement (in effect since December 2009) that includes reciprocal, legally binding rights and obligations, including binding arbitration to resolve disputes when doing business relating to Jordan’s roads, sea ports, airports and urban mass transit network.
  • The Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (in effect since September 1997) provides a competitive advantage for Canadian companies in one of South America’s largest and fastest-growing economies. Over US$60 billion in projects are in the pipeline for Chile, and the country’s adoption of a build-operate-transfer concessions program has enabled the active participation of the private sector.
  • In total Canada has concluded and brought into force FIPAs with over 30 countries and is negotiating with many more. Investments are also covered under many of Canada’s FTAs, including those with Peru, Colombia and Chile, noted above.

For more information about new international business opportunities and how Canada’s FTAs and FIPAs can help your company in a particular market, please contact a trade commissioner or check out the Trade Commissioner Service website. You can also consult our database of international infrastructure projects.

Secteur des services d’infrastructure et des matériaux de construction


Si vous menez des activités dans le secteur canadien des services d’infrastructure et des matériaux de construction, les accords de libre-échange (ALE) et les accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) du Canada créent des occasions d’affaires pour les entreprises comme la vôtre. Ce secteur est composé de cabinets de génie-conseil, de bureaux d’architectes, d’entreprises de construction et d’un vaste éventail de sociétés se spécialisant dans les produits du bâtiment écologique et dans les technologies éconergétiques. Avec une activité d’une valeur de 124 milliards de dollars, ce secteur représente 8 p. 100 du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada et emploie plus de 1 million de Canadiens. En 2011, le Canada a exporté pour plus de 4,3 milliards de dollars de produits et de services d’infrastructure.

Les économies à croissance rapide d’Asie, d’Amérique latine et d’Afrique ont fait l’objet d’un certain nombre de missions commerciales qu’a dirigées le ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast. Les participants aux missions commerciales n’ont pas manqué de constater les besoins en infrastructure de ces pays. En janvier 2013, le ministre Fast a dirigé une mission commerciale fructueuse en Afrique subsaharienne, une région qui connaît une croissance rapide; la mission a essentiellement porté sur le secteur de l’infrastructure. Peu de temps avant, en novembre 2012, la ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques et Affaires consulaires), l’honorable Diane Ablonczy , au nom du ministre Fast, a dirigé une mission commerciale au Panama, au Pérou et en Colombie portant exclusivement sur l’infrastructure, en vue de mettre de l’avant les nombreux débouchés qu’offrent ces pays d’Amérique latine.

Plusieurs grands projets d’infrastructure nécessitent des investissements considérables, souvent de la part des gouvernements, et offrent des occasions très intéressantes pour les fournisseurs de biens et services. Les accords commerciaux conclus entre gouvernements, comme les ALE et les APIE, permettent aux entreprises canadiennes de rivaliser dans le cadre de ce genre de projets d’infrastructure.

Par exemple :

  • L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou  (mis en œuvre en août 2009) va plus loin que l’APIE conclu par les deux pays et protège davantage les intérêts des investisseurs canadiens en prévoyant un arbitrage international contraignant en vue de régler les différends. Cet accord de libre-échange resserre des liens bien établis et de plus en plus importants en matière de commerce et d’investissement; d’ailleurs, à l’heure actuelle, le Canada constitue l’un des principaux investisseurs étrangers au Pérou.
  • L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie  (en vigueur depuis août 2011) protège les intérêts des entreprises canadiennes menant des activités ou effectuant des investissements liés aux secteurs des routes, des ports, des aéroports et des réseaux urbains de transport en commun, et ce, grâce à des droits et des obligations réciproques et ayant force obligatoire, notamment un arbitrage contraignant pour le règlement des différends.
  • Le Canada et la Jordanie ont un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (en vigueur depuis décembre 2009), qui prévoit des droits et des obligations réciproques et ayant force obligatoire, notamment un arbitrage contraignant pour le règlement des différends, dans le cadre de la conduite d’activités liées aux routes, aux ports, aux aéroports et aux réseaux urbains de transport en commun de la Jordanie.
  • L’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (en vigueur depuis septembre 1997) offre aux entreprises canadiennes un avantage concurrentiel sur l’un des marchés les plus importants d’Amérique du Sud, mais aussi l’un de ceux qui affichent l’une des croissances les plus rapides. Des projets de plus de 60 milliards de dollars américains sont en cours au Chili et l’adoption par celui-ci d’un programme de concessions axé sur le modèle « construction, exploitation et transfert » permet la participation active du secteur privé.
  • Le Canada a conclu et adopté des APIE avec plus de 30 pays et il mène actuellement des négociations avec de nombreux autres pays. De nombreux ALE du Canada visent aussi les investissements, notamment ceux avec le Pérou, la Colombie et le Chili mentionnés ci-dessus.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant les nouvelles occasions d’affaires à l’étranger et la façon dont les ALE et les APIE du Canada peuvent aider votre entreprise dans un marché en particulier, veuillez communiquer avec un délégué commercial ou consulter le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux. Vous pouvez également consulter notre base de données sur les projets internationaux dans le secteur des infrastructures.