The Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement

Creating valuable opportunities for Canadian businesses like yours


Colombia is an established market for Canadian businesses, with a rapidly growing economy that posted GDP growth of 5.9 percent in 2011. Canada’s free trade agreement with Colombia gives Canadian companies a competitive advantage in that country. It eliminates or reduces tariffs on most Canadian agricultural and agri-food, oil and gas, and mining products and promotes a more stable and predictable climate for Canadian investment.

Learn more about the free trade agreement with Colombia and discover your next market today.

Canada-Colombia Trade Relations

Colombia is Canada’s third-largest merchandise export destination in Latin America and the Caribbean and the fifth-largest destination for Canadian direct investment in the region. Colombians are interested in doing business with Canadian firms, reflecting an increasing awareness of Canada as a source of technology and quality products.

The free trade agreement opens up many opportunities for Canadian businesses in Colombia across a variety of sectors, as outlined below.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Agriculture and Agri-food

The agreement eliminates or reduces tariffs (which previously ranged up to 108 percent) on nearly all Canadian agricultural and agri-food exports. Particularly valuable opportunities exist for Canadian exporters of:

  • wheat and barley
  • pulses
  • liquor
  • canary seed
  • canola oil
  • animal feed  
  • beef and pork
  • processed and high-value food products

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Mining and Oil and Gas

The agreement eliminates tariffs on Canadian exports of most equipment and services used in the mining and oil and gas sectors, including that used in exploration. Demand in Colombia is strong for engineering, geophysical and mapping services. The agreement also facilitates access for temporary foreign workers.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Information and Communications Technology (ICT)

The agreement eliminates nearly all tariffs (which previously ranged up to 20 percent) on Canadian ITC products and services. Particularly valuable opportunities exist for Canadian exporters of computer hardware and software, networking solutions, telecommunications equipment and e-services.

Investment

The agreement makes Colombia very attractive for Canadian investors. Under it, Canadian investments in Colombia are protected by reciprocal, legally binding rights and obligations, as well as international arbitration to resolve disputes. The agreement also improves access to services and government procurement markets. Especially valuable opportunities exist for Canadian investors in the following sectors:

  • agriculture and agri-food
  • forestry, pulp and paper
  • plastics
  • shoe manufacturing
  • printing
  • mining (nickel, coal, gold, copper), oil and gas
  • environmental services (waste management, water treatment)
  • infrastructure (roads, sea ports, airports, urban mass transit)

“We really needed to level the playing field,” says Jacques Pomerleau, President of Canada Pork International, the industry association that represents Canada’s pork producers. “Now, we have transparent and stable access to a very important market, and that is great news for Canadian companies.” Read the full success story.

For more information about new business opportunities or how the free trade agreement can help your company in Colombia, check out market facts and reports for Colombia on the Trade Commissioner Service website or contact a trade commissioner.

Additional Information       

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments about this free trade agreement, please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Trade Policy and Negotiations Division I (TPE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa ON  K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie

Créer des occasions d’affaires avantageuses pour les entreprises canadiennes comme la vôtre


La Colombie est un marché bien établi pour les entreprises canadiennes. L’économie y connaît une expansion rapide, et le taux de croissance du PIB y a été de 5,9 p. 100 en 2011. L’accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Colombie donne aux entreprises canadiennes un avantage concurrentiel dans ce pays. Il supprime ou réduit les droits de douane sur la plupart des produits agricoles et agroalimentaires, des produits pétroliers et gaziers, et des produits miniers du Canada, tout en favorisant un climat stable et prévisible pour l’investissement canadien.

Familiarisez-vous avec l’accord de libre-échange avec la Colombie et découvrez dès aujourd’hui votre prochain marché.

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Colombie

La Colombie est la troisième destination des exportations de marchandises du Canada en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, et la cinquième, par ordre d’importance, de l’investissement direct canadien dans la région. Les Colombiens souhaitent faire des affaires avec les entreprises canadiennes, ce qui reflète une sensibilisation croissante à l’égard du Canada en tant que source de technologie et de produits de qualité.

L’Accord de libre-échange ouvre un grand nombre de débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes en Colombie, dans divers secteurs, comme il est indiqué ci-dessous.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire

L’Accord supprime ou réduit les droits de douane (qui auparavant atteignaient jusqu’à 108 p. 100) sur la quasi-totalité des exportations agricoles et agroalimentaires canadiennes. Des débouchés particulièrement intéressants s’offrent aux exportateurs canadiens de :

  • blé et orge
  • légumineuses
  • alcools
  • graines à canaris
  • huile de canola
  • aliments pour animaux
  • bœuf et porc
  • produits alimentaires transformés ou de grande valeur

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur minier et le secteur du pétrole et du gaz

L’Accord supprime les droits de douane sur la plupart des équipements et services exportés par le Canada et utilisés dans les secteurs de l’exploitation minière et du pétrole et du gaz, y compris ceux utilisés dans l’exploration. Il existe en Colombie une forte demande de services d’ingénierie, de services de géophysique et de services de cartographie. L’Accord facilite également l’accès des travailleurs étrangers temporaires.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC)

L’Accord supprime presque tous les droits de douane (qui auparavant atteignaient jusqu’à 20 p. 100) sur les produits et services canadiens des TIC. Des débouchés particulièrement intéressants s’offrent aux exportateurs canadiens de matériel informatique et de logiciels, de solutions de réseautage, d’équipement de télécommunications et de services électroniques.

Investissement

L’Accord rend la Colombie particulièrement attrayante pour les investisseurs canadiens. En vertu de l’Accord, les investissements canadiens en Colombie sont protégés par des droits et obligations réciproques, juridiquement contraignants, et par le recours à l’arbitrage international pour régler les différends. L’Accord améliore également l’accès aux marchés de services et aux marchés publics. Des débouchés particulièrement intéressants s’offrent aux investisseurs canadiens dans les secteurs suivants :

  • agriculture et agroalimentaire
  • foresterie, pâtes et papier
  • matières plastiques
  • fabrication de chaussures
  • impression
  • exploitation minière (nickel, charbon, or, cuivre), pétrole et gaz
  • services environnementaux (gestion des déchets, traitement de l’eau)
  • infrastructure (routes, ports de mer, aéroports, transport en commun urbain)

« Nous devions absolument équilibrer le rapport de force », affirme M. Jacques Pomerleau, président de Canada Porc International (l’association qui représente les producteurs canadiens de porc). « Aujourd’hui, nous disposons d’un accès transparent et stable à un marché très important et il s’agit d’une très bonne nouvelle pour les entreprises canadiennes. » Lire le récit intégral de cette réussite exemplaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les nouvelles occasions d’affaires ou sur la manière dont l’Accord de libre-échange peut aider votre entreprise en Colombie, veuillez consulter les faits sur le marché et les études de marché pour la Colombie sur le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux, ou communiquez avec un délégué commercial.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Communiquez avec nous

Si vous avez des questions ou commentaires au sujet de cet accord de libre-échange, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca