The Canada-EFTA Free Trade Agreement

Creating valuable opportunities for Canadian businesses like yours.


Canada has a free trade agreement with the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), a trading bloc consisting of Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. The agreement gives Canadian producers and exporters a competitive advantage in those four countries. It eliminates tariffs on selected Canadian industrial goods exports and eliminates or reduces tariffs on selected Canadian agricultural and agri-food products.

Learn more about the free trade agreement with EFTA and discover your next market today.

Canada-EFTA Trade Relations

Representing some of the wealthiest and most sophisticated economies in the world, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland together make up the eighth-largest destination for Canadian exports. In 2011 trade between Canada and the EFTA countries totalled $11.5 billion, a 15.4-percent increase from 2010.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Agriculture and Agri-food

Exporters of a range of Canadian agricultural and agri-food products enjoy preferential access to the EFTA markets thanks to reduced or eliminated tariffs under the agreement. During its free trade negotiations with EFTA, Canada established separate two-way agriculture agreements with each of the EFTA states. For example, Iceland reduced its tariffs on Canadian frozen french fries by about 30 percent, while Norway decreased its tariffs by 15 percent. The agreement also provides tariff concessions for Canadian agricultural and agri-food products such as durum wheat, frozen blueberries, canola oil, beer and horse meat.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Industrial Goods

The agreement eliminates all tariffs on industrial products—some had been as high as 20 percent—providing a competitive advantage for Canadian companies, including those that export infrastructure and building products such as:

  • steel structures
  • aluminum structures
  • doors and windows
  • nuts and bolts
  • prefabricated buildings
  • aluminum bars

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Consumer Products

The agreement eliminated the 10-percent tariff that had been charged on most Canadian exports of apparel, making those products more competitive in this lucrative market. Canadian manufacturers of cosmetics, textiles and other consumer products also benefit from the reduction or elimination of tariffs.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Other Sectors

The agreement provides for tariff elimination on a wide variety of products, creating competitive advantages for Canadian exporters of a variety of other goods, including:

  • crude petroleum
  • nickel
  • pharmaceutical products
  • forest products
  • pulp and paper products
  • motor vehicles
  • aerospace products
  • scientific and precision instruments
  • cathode ray tubes

Investment

The Canada-EFTA Free Trade Agreement does not contain specific investment provisions. However, as part of their efforts to gradually develop and broaden their cooperation, the partners have agreed to work together on creating the most favourable conditions for expanding investment between them.

“We work as best as possible to achieve global price parity, and this agreement helps us better achieve that,” says Dani Reiss, CEO of Canada Goose. Read the full success story.

For more information about new business opportunities or how the free trade agreement can help your company in the EFTA countries, check out market facts and reports for Iceland, Norway or Switzerland on the Trade Commissioner Service website or contact a trade commissioner.

Additional Information

Canada’s Relations with Individual EFTA States

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments about this free trade agreement, please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Trade Policy and Negotiations Division I (TPE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa ON  K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

L’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’AELE

Créer des occasions d’affaires avantageuses pour les entreprises canadiennes comme la vôtre


Le Canada est lié par un accord de libre-échange avec les pays de l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE), un bloc commercial qui regroupe l’Islande, le Liechtenstein, la Norvège et la Suisse. L’Accord donne aux producteurs et aux exportateurs canadiens un avantage concurrentiel dans ces quatre pays. Il supprime les droits de douane sur les exportations de produits industriels canadiens et supprime ou réduit les droits de douane sur certains produits agricoles et agroalimentaires canadiens.

Familiarisez-vous avec l’accord de libre-échange avec l’AELE et découvrez dès aujourd’hui votre prochain marché.

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et l’AELE

L’Islande, le Liechtenstein, la Norvège et la Suisse représentent quelques-uns des pays les plus riches et figurent parmi les économies les plus avancées du monde; ensemble, ils constituent, en importance, la huitième destination des exportations canadiennes. En 2011, le commerce entre le Canada et les pays de l’AELE totalisait 11,5 milliards de dollars, soit une augmentation de 15,4 p. 100 par rapport à 2010.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire

Les exportateurs de divers produits agricoles et agroalimentaires canadiens bénéficient d’un accès préférentiel sur les marchés de l’AELE grâce à la réduction ou à la suppression des droits de douane en vertu de l’Accord. Durant les négociations en vue de la conclusion de l’accord de libre-échange avec l’AELE, le Canada a signé un accord bilatéral distinct sur l’agriculture avec chacun des États membres de l’AELE. Par exemple, l’Islande a réduit d’environ 30 p. 100 ses droits de douane sur les frites surgelées canadiennes, tandis que la Norvège a réduit les siens de 15 p. 100. L’Accord prévoit également des concessions tarifaires pour les produits agricoles et agroalimentaires canadiens tels que le blé dur, les bleuets congelés, l’huile de canola, la bière et la viande de cheval.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur des produits industriels

L’Accord supprime tous les droits de douane sur les produits industriels — certains atteignaient auparavant jusqu’à 20 p. 100 —, ce qui donne un avantage concurrentiel aux entreprises canadiennes, notamment celles qui exportent des produits d’infrastructure et de construction dont les suivants :

  • structures d’acier
  • structures en aluminium
  • portes et fenêtres
  • écrous et boulons
  • constructions préfabriquées
  • barres d’aluminium

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur des produits de consommation

L’Accord a supprimé le droit de douane de 10 p. 100 qui était perçu sur la plupart des exportations canadiennes de vêtements, ce qui rend ces produits plus compétitifs sur ce marché lucratif. Les fabricants canadiens de cosmétiques, de textiles et d’autres produits de consommation bénéficient également de la réduction ou de la suppression des droits de douane.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans d’autres secteurs

L’Accord prévoit la suppression des droits de douane sur un large éventail de produits, ce qui confère un avantage concurrentiel aux exportateurs canadiens de plusieurs autres produits, notamment les suivants :

  • pétrole brut
  • nickel
  • produits pharmaceutiques
  • produits forestiers
  • produits de pâtes et papier
  • véhicules motorisés
  • produits de l’aérospatiale
  • instruments scientifiques et de précision
  • tubes à rayons cathodiques

Investissement

L’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’AELE ne renferme pas de dispositions particulières en matière d’investissement. Cependant, dans le cadre de leurs efforts visant à renforcer et à élargir graduellement leur collaboration, les partenaires ont convenu de travailler de concert à l’établissement des conditions les plus favorables à l’expansion des investissements entre le Canada et les pays de l’AELE.

« Nous nous efforçons d’offrir les mêmes prix partout dans le monde et l’accord de libre-échange nous aide à y parvenir », affirme M. Dani Reiss, PDG de Canada Goose. Lire le récit intégral de cette réussite exemplaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les nouvelles occasions d’affaires ou sur la manière dont l’Accord de libre-échange peut aider votre entreprise dans les pays de l’AELE, veuillez consulter les faits sur le marché et les études de marché pour l’Islande, la Norvège ou la Suisse sur le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux, ou communiquez avec un délégué commercial.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Les relations du Canada avec chacun des pays membres de l’AELE

Communiquez avec nous

Si vous avez des questions ou commentaires au sujet de cet accord de libre‑échange, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca