Understanding Canada’s Trade and Investment Agreements


Free Trade Agreements (FTAs)

An FTA enables you to compete on a more even playing field with local firms in the FTA partner country. Under an FTA, a range of Canadian goods and services benefit from the reduction or elimination of tariff and non-tariff barriers to trade, such as quotas or technical barriers. It is important to note that each FTA covers different industry sectors and contains different provisions, depending on the FTA partner. For example, some of Canada’s more recent FTAs go beyond “traditional” trade barriers to cover business practices in labour mobility, intellectual property and investment.

Canada has free trade agreements in force with more than 10 countries, which provide a competitive advantage across a wide range of sectors. In addition, we’ve begun negotiations with more than 60 countries, including some of the world’s key markets.

See where Canadian businesses like yours have a competitive advantage.

Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements (FIPAs)

A FIPA provides a transparent and predictable climate for you when your company is ready to invest abroad. FIPAs enable you to invest with greater confidence in the partner country. Canada has consistently supported strong, rules-based investment by negotiating FIPAs.

FIPAs also encourage foreign investment in Canada. Investments by foreign companies in Canada are creating jobs and prosperity across our country.

Canada has concluded or brought into force FIPAs with over 30 countries and is currently negotiating FIPAs with many others. In addition, investment protection is covered in many of our newer FTAs, eliminating the need for separate FIPAs.

See where Canadian businesses like yours can invest with confidence.

Comprendre les ALE et les APIE


Les ALE

Un accord de libre-échange (ALE) vous permet de mener des activités commerciales sur un pied d’égalité avec les entreprises du pays partenaire, dans le marché de ce pays. Les ALE prévoient notamment la réduction ou a suppression des obstacles tarifaires au commerce ou des obstacles non tarifaires, comme les contingents ou les obstacles techniques, pour toute une gamme de produits et de services canadiens. Il est important de souligner que, selon le pays partenaire visé, les ALE couvrent différents secteurs de l’industrie et renferment différentes dispositions. Par exemple, certains ALE récents du Canada comportent des dispositions sur des sujets qui dépassent les obstacles au commerce « traditionnels », comme la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre, la propriété intellectuelle et l’investissement.

Le Canada a conclu des accords de libre-échange avec plus de 10 pays, qui lui procurent des avantages sur le plan concurrentiel dans une vaste gamme de secteurs. En outre, il a amorcé des négociations avec plus de 60 pays, y compris certains marchés mondiaux de premier plan.

Veuillez voir dans quels pays les entreprises canadiennes comme la vôtre ont un avantage concurrentiel.

Les APIE

Un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) offre transparence et prévisibilité aux entreprises prêtes à investir à l’étranger. Les APIE vous permettent d’investir avec plus de confiance dans le pays partenaire. Le Canada a toujours cherché à appuyer des investissements solides fondés sur des règles en négociant des APIE.

Les APIE encouragent également l’investissement étranger au Canada. Cet investissement crée des emplois et de la prospérité dans l’ensemble du pays.

Le Canada a conclu ou mis en vigueur des APIE avec plus de 30 pays et il mène actuellement des négociations avec de nombreux autres pays. Par ailleurs, un grand nombre de ses nouveaux ALE traitent de la protection de l’investissement, de sorte qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de conclure un APIE distinct.

Veuillez voir où les entreprises canadiennes comme la vôtre peuvent investir avec confiance.