The North American Free Trade Agreement

Creating valuable opportunities for Canadian businesses like yours


The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) represents one of the largest free-trade areas in the world, with some 455 million consumers. Of these, about 34 million live in Canada, 309 million in the United States and 112 million in Mexico. The agreement gives Canadian companies a competitive advantage in two of the world’s biggest economies, eliminating tariffs on virtually all goods traded between Canada, the U.S. and Mexico. NAFTA, in conjunction with highly efficient border processes, supports the world’s first fully integrated continental supply chain.

Learn more about NAFTA and discover your next market today.

NAFTA Trade Relations

In 2011 merchandise trade between the NAFTA partners surpassed $1 trillion. Since NAFTA came into force in 1994, Canada-U.S. merchandise trade has more than doubled, while trade between Canada and Mexico has increased more than sixfold.

The NAFTA partners exchange about $2.7 billion in merchandise with each other every day. That’s about $114 million per hour. The combined GDP of Canada, the U.S. and Mexico was more than $17.8 trillion in 2011, up from about $10 trillion in 1993.

In 2011 Canada-U.S. two-way trade in goods and services was $716 billion, with close to $2 billion worth of goods and services crossing the border every day on average. Canada’s merchandise trade with Mexico surpassed $30 billion in 2011.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in the U.S.

The U.S. and Canada enjoy the world’s most lucrative and longest-lasting trade relationship. Opportunities for Canadian exporters are particularly strong in:

  • agriculture and agri-food
  • information and communications technologies
  • life sciences (medical devices, health information technologies, pharmaceuticals)
  • environmental industries (water treatment, green building, renewable energy)
  • aerospace and defence
  • automotive
  • energy
  • consumer goods

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Mexico

Opportunities for Canadian exporters are particularly strong in:

  • automobile and advanced manufacturing
  • agriculture and agri-food
  • mining and metals
  • clean technologies (water, waste-water treatment, renewable energy and bioenergy)
  • information and communications technologies

Investment

NAFTA establishes a framework of rules and processes that create favourable conditions for investors from each of the three countries, ensuring all NAFTA investors are accorded generally similar treatment throughout the trading bloc. Under the agreement, investors in each country are protected by reciprocal, legally binding rights and obligations, as well as an independent tribunal to resolve investment disputes.

“We actually opened our office in 2000... and since then we’ve actually grown our Mexico business five times,” says Rosalind Wilson, General Director of Canadian Pacific Railway Limited in Mexico and former president of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Mexico. Read the full success story.

For more information about new business opportunities or how NAFTA can help your company in the United States or Mexico, check out market facts and reports for the United States or Mexico on the Trade Commissioner Service website or contact a trade commissioner.

Additional Information

Canada’s Relations with Mexico and the U.S.

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments about this free trade agreement, please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Trade Policy and Negotiations Division I (TPE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa ON  K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain

Créer des occasions d’affaires avantageuses pour les entreprises canadiennes comme la vôtre


L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) englobe l’une des plus vastes zones de libre-échange du monde, comptant quelque 455 millions de consommateurs, dont 34 millions vivent au Canada, 309 millions aux États-Unis et 112 millions au Mexique. L’Accord donne aux entreprises canadiennes un avantage concurrentiel au sein de deux des plus grandes économies de la planète, supprimant les droits de douane sur pratiquement tous les produits échangés entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique. L’ALENA, conjugué à des processus frontaliers particulièrement efficaces, soutient la première chaîne d’approvisionnement continentale totalement intégrée du monde.

Familiarisez-vous avec l’ALENA et découvrez dès aujourd’hui votre prochain marché.

Les relations commerciales au sein de l’ALENA

En 2011, le commerce de marchandises entre les partenaires de l’ALENA a dépassé 1 billion de dollars. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord en 1994, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et les États-Unis a plus que doublé, tandis que le commerce entre le Canada et le Mexique a été multiplié par six.

La valeur des échanges commerciaux de marchandises entre les différents partenaires de l’ALENA s’élève à environ 2,7 milliards de dollars chaque jour, soit environ 114 millions de dollars par heure. Le PIB combiné du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique totalisait plus de 17,8 billions de dollars en 2011; en 1993, il représentait 10 billions de dollars.

En 2011, le commerce bilatéral des marchandises et des services entre le Canada et les États-Unis totalisait 716 milliards de dollars : la valeur des biens et des services traversant chaque jour la frontière frôlait ainsi les 2 milliards de dollars en moyenne. Le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et le Mexique a été supérieur à 30 milliards de dollars en 2011.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes aux États-Unis

Les États-Unis et le Canada entretiennent les relations commerciales les plus lucratives et les plus durables à l’échelle mondiale. Des débouchés particulièrement intéressants s’offrent aux exportateurs canadiens dans les domaines suivants :

  • agriculture et agroalimentaire
  • technologies de l’information et des communications
  • sciences de la vie (dispositifs médicaux, technologies de l’information sur la santé, produits pharmaceutiques)
  • industries environnementales (traitement de l’eau, construction écologique, énergie renouvelable)
  • aérospatiale et défense
  • automobile
  • énergie
  • biens de consommation

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes au Mexique

Des débouchés particulièrement intéressants s’offrent aux exportateurs canadiens dans les domaines suivants :

  • automobile et fabrication avancée
  • agriculture et agroalimentaire
  • mines et métaux
  • technologies propres (eau, traitement des eaux usées, énergie renouvelable et bioénergie)
  • technologies de l’information et des communications

Investissement

L’ALENA établit un cadre de règles et de processus qui créent des conditions favorables pour les investisseurs de chacun des trois pays, faisant en sorte que tous les investisseurs régis par l’ALENA se voient accorder en général un traitement semblable à l’échelle du bloc commercial. En vertu de l’Accord, les investisseurs de chacun des pays sont protégés par des droits et obligations réciproques, juridiquement contraignants, et par un tribunal indépendant chargé du règlement des différends en matière d’investissement.

« Nous avons ouvert notre bureau au Mexique en 2000 [...] et depuis lors, notre chiffre d’affaires y a quintuplé », précise Mme Rosalind Wilson, directrice générale de Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique Limitée (Mexique) et ex-présidente de la Chambre de commerce canado-mexicaine. Lire le récit intégral de cette réussite exemplaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les nouvelles occasions d’affaires ou sur la manière dont l’ALENA peut aider votre entreprise aux États-Unis ou au Mexique, veuillez consulter les faits sur le marché et les études de marché pour les États-Unis ou le Mexique sur le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux, ou communiquez avec un délégué commercial.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Relations du Canada avec le Mexique et les États-Unis

Communiquez avec nous

Si vous avez des questions ou commentaires au sujet de cet accord de libre-échange, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca