The Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement

Creating valuable opportunities for Canadian businesses like yours


The Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement gives Canadian producers and exporters a competitive advantage in one of the most like-minded economies in Latin America and the Caribbean. Peru is also a fast-growing economy with GDP growth of 6.9 percent in 2011, and its central bank is forecasting growth of close to 6 percent in 2012. The agreement eliminates all tariffs on Canadian industrial products and eliminates or reduces tariffs on the majority of Canadian agricultural and agri-food products.

Learn more about the free trade agreement with Peru and discover your next market today.

Canada-Peru Trade Relations

Peru is Canada’s third-largest trading partner in Latin America and the Caribbean. In 2011 the value of Canadian exports to Peru reached $516 million, an increase of 36 percent over 2008, the year before the agreement came into force. Peru is also the third-largest destination for Canadian direct investment in South and Central America. 

Thanks to the free trade agreement, successful democratic elections and a rapidly expanding economy, Peru continues to attract the attention of an increasing number of Canadian businesses.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Agriculture and Agri-food

The agreement eliminates or reduces tariffs (which previously ranged up to 25 percent) on the majority of agricultural and agri-food exports from Canada, giving Canadian producers and exporters a competitive advantage. Particularly valuable opportunities exist for Canadian exporters of:

  • durum wheat
  • malting barley and malt
  • pulses
  • canary seed
  • animal feed preparations
  • linseed
  • pork
  • certain live cattle and beef 

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Mining and Oil and Gas

The agreement eliminates tariffs (which previously ranged up to 12 percent) on Canadian mining and oil and gas equipment. Peru has Latin America’s largest reserves of zinc, lead, silver and gold, and it needs a wide range of mining equipment (borers, crushers, drills and specialty vehicles), along with engineering, geophysical and metallurgy services.

Opportunities for Canadian Companies in Information and Communications Technology (ICT)

The agreement eliminates tariffs (which previously ranged up to 12 percent) on Canadian ITC products. Particularly valuable opportunities exist as Peru continues to develop its ITC infrastructure. Canada is well positioned to take advantage of this growth sector as a supplier of cutting-edge technology and services in niche markets such as wireless communications, customized software solutions, geomatics and health-related solutions.

Investment

The Canada-Peru Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) that had been in force since June 2007 was updated and integrated into the free trade agreement. The move provided Canadian investors with greater stability, transparency and protection for their investments, and provided binding international arbitration to resolve disputes. The previous FIPA and the investment provisions of the free trade agreement have helped make Canada one of the most important sources of foreign direct investment in Peru’s mining sector. Particularly valuable investment opportunities include those in:

  • mining (gold and iron)
  • infrastructure (roads, irrigation systems and ports)
  • telecommunications (telephony, wireless and Internet services)
  • oil and gas (Peru’s natural gas industry is growing dramatically)

“Any time you get a free trade agreement, immediately the importers and the government look at your country as being a friendly country. So it helps,” says Arthur Bergan, Chairman of the Board at International Road Dynamics Inc. Read the full success story.

For more information about new business opportunities or how the free trade and investment agreements can help your company in Peru, check out market facts for Peru on the Trade Commissioner Service website or contact a trade commissioner.

Additional Information

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments about these free trade and investment agreements, please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Trade Policy and Negotiations Division I (TPE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa ON  K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou

Créer des occasions d’affaires avantageuses pour les entreprises canadiennes comme la vôtre


L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou donne aux producteurs et aux exportateurs canadiens un avantage concurrentiel dans l’un des pays d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes ayant le plus d’affinités avec le Canada. Le Pérou est également une économie qui connaît une expansion rapide : la croissance du PIB y a été de 6,9 p. 100 en 2011 et la Banque centrale péruvienne prévoit une croissance de près de 6 p. 100 en 2012. L’Accord supprime tous les droits de douane sur les produits industriels canadiens et supprime ou réduit les droits de douane sur la majorité des produits agricoles et agroalimentaires du Canada.

Familiarisez-vous avec l’accord de libre-échange avec le Pérou et découvrez dès aujourd’hui votre prochain marché.

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Pérou

Le Pérou est le troisième plus important partenaire commercial du Canada en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes. En 2011, la valeur des exportations canadiennes vers le Pérou a atteint 516 millions de dollars, soit une augmentation de 36 p. 100 par rapport à 2008, année qui a précédé l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord. Le Pérou est également la troisième destination de l’investissement direct canadien en Amérique du Sud et en Amérique centrale.

Grâce à l’Accord de libre-échange, à l’organisation réussie d’élections démocratiques et à une économie en plein essor, le Pérou continue d’attirer l’attention d’un nombre croissant d’entreprises canadiennes.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire

L’Accord supprime ou réduit les droits de douane (qui auparavant atteignaient jusqu’à 25 p. 100) sur la majorité des exportations agricoles et agroalimentaires du Canada, ce qui donne un avantage concurrentiel aux producteurs et aux exportateurs canadiens. Des débouchés particulièrement intéressants s’offrent aux exportateurs canadiens des produits suivants :

  • blé dur
  • orge de brasserie et malt
  • légumineuses
  • graines à canaris
  • préparations alimentaires pour animaux
  • graines de lin
  • porc
  • certaines catégories de bétail et bœuf vivants

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur minier et le secteur du pétrole et du gaz

L’Accord supprime les droits de douane (qui auparavant atteignaient jusqu’à 12 p. 100) sur les équipements canadiens destinés à l’exploitation minière et au secteur du pétrole et du gaz. Le Pérou possède les plus vastes réserves de zinc, de plomb, d’argent et d’or de l’Amérique latine, et a besoin d’une large gamme d’équipements miniers (fleurets, concasseurs, trépans et véhicules spécialisés), ainsi que de services d’ingénierie, de services de géophysique et de métallurgie.

Débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes du secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC)

L’Accord supprime les droits de douane (qui auparavant atteignaient jusqu’à 12 p. 100) sur les produits canadiens des TIC. Des débouchés particulièrement intéressants se présentent à mesure que le Pérou développe son infrastructure des TIC. Le Canada est bien placé pour tirer parti de ce secteur en croissance en tant que fournisseur de technologies de pointe et de services dans des marchés à créneaux tels que les communications sans fil, les solutions logicielles personnalisées, les solutions liées à la géomatique et à la santé.

Investissement

L’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) entre le Canada et le Pérou, qui est entré en vigueur en juin 2007, a été mis à jour et intégré à l’Accord de libre-échange. Cette démarche a assuré aux investisseurs canadiens une stabilité, une transparence et une protection accrues pour leurs investissements tout en prévoyant un mécanisme d’arbitrage international pour le règlement des différends. Le précédent APIE et les dispositions relatives à l’investissement de l’Accord de libre-échange ont contribué à faire du Canada l’une des sources les plus importantes d’investissement direct étranger dans le secteur minier au Pérou. Des possibilités d’investissement particulièrement intéressantes s’offrent notamment dans les domaines suivants :

  • exploitation minière (or et fer)
  • infrastructure (routes, systèmes d’irrigation et ports)
  • télécommunications (téléphonie, sans fil et services Internet)
  • pétrole et gaz (l’industrie du gaz naturel au Pérou connaît une croissance spectaculaire)

« Chaque fois qu’un accord de libre-échange est conclu, les importateurs et le gouvernement du pays partenaire considèrent immédiatement votre pays comme un allié, ce qui est avantageux », affirme M. Arthur Bergan, président du conseil d’administration d’International Road Dynamics Inc. Lire le récit intégral de cette réussite exemplaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les nouvelles occasions d’affaires ou sur la manière dont l’Accord de libre-échange et l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers peuvent aider votre entreprise au Pérou, veuillez consulter les faits sur le marché au Pérou sur le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux, ou communiquez avec un délégué commercial.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Communiquez avec nous

Si vous avez des questions ou commentaires au sujet de cet accord de libre-échange et de cet accord sur les investissements, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca