Canada-Jordan Trade Deal a Boon to Calgary Firm


View a Canadian Success Story

Calgary firm credits FTA with making it cost competitive in Jordan

Transcript and Alternative Formats

The Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement, which came into force on October 1, 2012, aims to expand trade between the two countries. It eliminates tariffs on most Canadian exports to Jordan and increases opportunities for Canadian companies and workers in sectors such as forestry, machinery, construction equipment, and agriculture and agri-food.

Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises, such as Calgary-based Evans Consoles Corporation, are excited about what the free trade agreement means for trade with the region.

The company designs and manufactures consoles for technology-intensive work environments such as air traffic control centres, surveillance and homeland security centres, and government offices. Evans Consoles, founded in 1980, exports 95 percent of its products around the world.

“There used to be a 20 to 25 percent tax on our product in Jordan,” says Alena Poremsky, International Sales Manager for Evans Consoles for Europe, the Middle East and Africa. The elimination of tariffs will be a huge benefit for Evans Consoles, she says, adding that “we would like to do more business in Jordan.”

Under a contract with the Government of Jordan, the company is installing consoles in the National Center for Security and Crisis Management in Amman. Evans Consoles is furnishing the entire centre, including the control room, meeting rooms, information technology rooms, security rooms and offices. All the consoles were built in Calgary, says Poremsky.

Poremsky says she’s excited about the free trade agreement and the prospect of increasing Evans Consoles’ market share in Jordan. The Middle East accounts for a large portion of Evans Consoles’ international sales. She expects that Evans Consoles’ contract to furnish the National Center for Security and Crisis Management will lead to other projects in the future.

Learn more about the Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement.

L’accord commercial entre le Canada et la Jordanie apporte une aide précieuse à une entreprise de Calgary


Prenez connaissance d'une réussite canadienne exemplaire

Une entreprise de Calgary estime que l’ALE lui permet de rivaliser avec ses concurrents en Jordanie, sur le plan des coûts

Transcription et formats substituts

L’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie, qui est entré en vigueur le 1er octobre 2012, vise à accroître les échanges commerciaux entre les deux pays. Il prévoit la suppression des droits de douane sur la plupart des exportations canadiennes vers la Jordanie et ouvre de nouveaux débouchés pour les entreprises et les travailleurs canadiens dans des secteurs comme la foresterie, les machines, les engins de chantier, l’agriculture et l’agroalimentaire.

Les petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes, comme Evans Consoles Corporation de Calgary, se réjouissent des avantages que procurera l’Accord de libre-échange à l’égard du commerce dans cette région.

L’entreprise conçoit et fabrique des consoles pour des environnements de travail à forte composante technologique, comme les centres de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, les centres chargés de la surveillance et de la sécurité intérieure, ainsi que les bureaux du gouvernement. Fondée en 1980, l’entreprise exporte 95 p. 100 de ses produits partout dans le monde.

« Nos produits étaient assujettis à des droits de 20 à 25 p. 100 en Jordanie, explique Mme Alena Poremsky, directrice des exportations chez Evans Consoles, pour les marchés de l’Europe, du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique. La suppression des droits de douane constituera un immense avantage pour notre entreprise, affirme-t-elle, et nous comptons en profiter pour accroître nos activités sur le marché jordanien. »

Dans le cadre d’un contrat conclu avec le gouvernement de la Jordanie, Evans Consoles installe des consoles au Centre national de la sécurité et de la gestion des crises, situé à Amman. En fait, l’entreprise s’occupe d’équiper tout le centre, y compris la salle de contrôle, les salles de réunion, les salles réservées aux technologies de l’information, les salles de sécurité et les bureaux. Mme Poremsky souligne d’ailleurs que toutes les consoles sont fabriquées à Calgary.

Mme Poremsky est très enthousiaste à l’égard de l’Accord de libre-échange et des possibilités d’accroître la part de marché d’Evans Consoles en Jordanie. Une importante proportion des exportations de l’entreprise est destinée au Moyen-Orient. Mme Poremsky espère que le contrat lié au Centre national de la sécurité et de la gestion des crises conduira à d’autres projets dans l’avenir.

Pour en savoir davantage sur l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie.