Language selection

Search

International Donors’ Conference in Solidarity with Venezuelan Refugees and Migrants – Concept Note

PDF version (448 KB)

Issue

Amid the ongoing global pandemic, the Venezuelan refugee and migrant situation continues to result in unprecedented needs across Latin America and the Caribbean. Over 5.6 million Venezuelans have left or fled their homes since 2015, with over 4.6 million remaining in the region.Footnote 1 This is the second largest displacement crisis in the world and needs are growing. This mass exodus is a result of insecurity and lack of access to food, medicine, and essential services in Venezuela.

Venezuelan refugees and migrants have immediate and longer-term needs, including health, protection, food security, COVID-19 vaccinations, documentation, education, access to employment and integration. More than 50% of Venezuelan refugees and migrants only eat one or two meals per day; 25% of children are separated from their families during migration; and 80% have lost their source of income since the onset of the pandemic. Without documentation and access to legal status, many lack access to basic rights and, therefore, are also vulnerable to human trafficking, exploitation, violence and abuse, xenophobia, as well as forced recruitment into armed groups in some contexts. Women and girls experience particular challenges, such as gender-based violence and lack of access to sexual and reproductive health services.

Countries and communities in the region continue to host Venezuelans, as they concurrently face health, social, and economic challenges. The pandemic is expected to continue to pose social and economic pressures on individuals, communities and countries across the region. Notwithstanding the challenges, refugees and migrants bring skills, knowledge, innovation, and networks that enrich their host nations, which helps contribute to their integration into societies. However, host countries and communities require support to meet humanitarian and development needs.

Needs

The response to the needs stemming from the refugee and migrant situation, combined with the significant needs within Venezuela, remains gravely underfunded. The 2020 Regional Refugee and Migrant Response Plan (RMRP) only received about half of the total funding requirements.Footnote 2 The 2021 RMRP appeals for US$1.44 billion to provide humanitarian and development support, through its 159 partners, to 3.3 million refugees and migrants from Venezuela and host communities facing the greatest needs, in 17 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. This is in addition to the appeal for US$762 million to address humanitarian needs inside Venezuela.

Efforts to date

Countries and communities in the region continue to demonstrate leadership in responding to the refugee and migrant situation, including through efforts to regularize the status of Venezuelans to facilitate access to health, social services, education, employment, and integration. These efforts have been supported by various actors and initiatives, including the Quito Process, multilateral development banks (the European Investment Bank (EIB), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the World Bank (WB)) and the Regional Inter-Agency Coordination Platform for Refugees and Migrants from Venezuela (R4V), co-led by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the International Organization for Migration (IOM), which includes 159 partners, comprised of UN agencies, civil society, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), faith- based-organizations, and the Red Cross Movement. The 2021 RMRP, developed by the R4V partners, will continue to support the response to humanitarian and development needs, including those related to COVID-19, in line with regional priorities and complementary to other efforts.

In 2019, the European Union (EU), with the support of UNHCR and IOM, organized a Solidarity Conference to raise awareness of the Venezuelan refugee and migrant situation. Subsequently, in May 2020, the EU and Spain co-hosted the International Donors’ Conference in Solidarity with Venezuelan Refugees and Migrants, co-convened by Canada, Norway, UNHCR and IOM. This Conference resulted in US$2.79 billion in pledges–including US$653 million in grants–a tangible demonstration of the solidarity of the international community to address the urgent needs, exacerbated by COVID-19. Benefitting from this support, R4V partners were able to provide vital assistance to more than 3.18 million refugees and migrants from Venezuela, as well as host communities in 2020. Some 1.9 million people received food assistance; 1.2 million in health assistance; 907,000 received protection, and 657,000 received cash-based assistance.

Canada’s role

Canada will host the next International Donors’ Conference in Solidarity with Venezuelan Refugees and Migrants on June 17, 2021 in collaboration with UNHCR and IOM, co-leads of the R4V Platform. In the lead-up to the conference, Canada is collaborating with various partners, including host countries, donors, multilateral development banks, and the R4V, to enhance international visibility; help ensure existing commitments are honoured; and mobilize additional resources. This includes an event with the IDB on economic integration with private sector support, thematic roundtables organized by the R4V sector leads, and jointly with the EU, a side event with civil society. All events and relevant information will be published in the Calendar of events.

2021 Conference

The 2021 conference will include the participation of donors, host countries, international organizations, international financial institutions (IFIs), the private sector, and civil society. It will also bring forward voices of those impacted by the crisis. The four objectives are:

  1. Highlight progress achieved to date
  2. Raise awareness of key opportunities, areas of priority, and challenges, including the impacts of the crisis on women and girls
  3. Mobilize additional resources
  4. Identify future actions to maintain focus on the crisis and help ensure that commitments are honoured
Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Conférence internationale des donateurs en solidarité avec les réfugiés et les migrants vénézuéliens – Note conceptuelle

Version PDF (448 Ko)

Question

Alors que la pandémie mondiale se poursuit, la crise des réfugiés et des migrants vénézuéliens continue d’engendrer des besoins sans précédent dans la région de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes. Depuis 2015, plus de 5,6 millions de Vénézuéliens ont quitté leur pays, et plus de 4,6 millions d’entre eux restent dans la région.Note de bas de page 1 Il s'agit de la deuxième plus large crise de déplacement au monde et les besoins ne cessent de croître. Cet exode massif est le résultat de l'insécurité et du manque d'accès à de la nourriture, des médicaments et des services essentiels au Venezuela.

Les réfugiés et les migrants vénézuéliens ont des besoins immédiats et à plus long terme, notamment en matière de santé, de protection, de sécurité alimentaire, de vaccinations COVID-19, de documentation, d'éducation, d'accès à l'emploi et d'intégration. Plus de 50 % des réfugiés et migrants vénézuéliens ne mangent qu'un ou deux repas par jour; 25 % des enfants sont séparés de leur famille pendant la migration; et 80 % ont perdu leur source de revenus depuis le début de la pandémie. Sans papiers et sans accès à un statut légal, beaucoup n'ont pas accès aux droits fondamentaux et sont donc également vulnérables à la traite des êtres humains, à l'exploitation, à la violence et aux abus, à la xénophobie, ainsi qu'au recrutement forcé dans des groupes armés dans certains contextes. Les femmes et les filles sont confrontées à des problèmes particuliers, tels que la violence fondée sur le genre et le manque d'accès aux services de santé sexuelle et reproductive.

Les pays et les communautés de la région continuent d'accueillir des Vénézuéliens, tout en étant aux prises avec des problèmes sanitaires, sociaux et économiques. La pandémie continuera à exercer des pressions sociales et économiques sur les individus, les communautés et les pays de la région. Malgré les défis, les réfugiés et les migrants apportent des compétences, des connaissances, des innovations et des réseaux qui enrichissent leurs pays d'accueil, ce qui contribue à leur intégration sociale. Toutefois, les pays et communautés d'accueil ont besoin de soutien pour répondre aux besoins humanitaires et de développement.

Besoins

La réponse aux besoins découlant de la situation des réfugiés et des migrants, combinée aux besoins importants au Venezuela, reste gravement sous-financée. Le Plan régional d’intervention en faveur des réfugiés et des migrants (RMRP) de 2020 n'a reçu qu'environ la moitié du financement total requis.Note de bas de page 2 Dans le cadre du RMRP de 2021, l’objectif est de recueillir 1,44 milliard de dollars américains pour fournir un soutien humanitaire et de développement, par l’intermédiaire de ses 159 partenaires, à 3,3 millions de réfugiés et de migrants du Venezuela ainsi qu’aux communautés d'accueil faisant face aux plus grands besoins, dans 17 pays d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes. Cette somme s'ajoute à l'appel de 762 millions de dollars pour répondre aux besoins humanitaires à l’intérieur du Venezuela.

Efforts à ce jour

Les pays et les communautés de la région continuent de faire preuve de leadership pour répondre à la situation des réfugiés et des migrants, notamment en s'efforçant de régulariser le statut des Vénézuéliens pour faciliter l'accès à la santé, aux services sociaux, à l'éducation, à l'emploi et à l'intégration. Ces efforts ont été soutenus par divers acteurs et initiatives, notamment le Processus de Quito, les banques multilatérales de développement (la Banque européenne d'investissement (BEI), la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID) et la Banque mondiale (BM)) et la Plateforme régionale de coordination inter-agences pour les réfugiés et les migrants du Venezuela (R4V), codirigée par le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) et l'Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM), qui compte 159 partenaires, dont des agences des Nations Unies, la société civile, des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG), des organisations confessionnelles et le Mouvement de la Croix-Rouge. Le RMRP 2021, élaboré par les partenaires du R4V, continuera à soutenir la réponse aux besoins humanitaires et de développement, y compris ceux liés à la COVID-19, conformément aux priorités régionales et en complément d'autres efforts.

En 2019, l’Union européenne (UE), avec le soutien du HCR et de l'OIM, a organisé une Conférence de solidarité pour sensibiliser à la situation des réfugiés et des migrants vénézuéliens. À la suite de cette conférence, en mai 2020, l’Espagne et l’UE ont co-organisé la Conférence internationale des donateurs en solidarité avec les réfugiés et les migrants vénézuéliens, avec le soutien du Canada, de la Norvège, du HCR et de l’OIM. Lors de la conférence de 2020, les donateurs se sont engagés à verser 2,79 milliards de dollars américains, dont 653 millions de dollars américains sous forme de subventions, ce qui constitue une preuve tangible de la solidarité de la communauté internationale pour répondre aux besoins urgents, exacerbés par la pandémie de la COVID-19. Grâce à ce soutien, en 2020, les partenaires de la R4V ont été en mesure d’apporter une aide indispensable à plus de 3,18 millions de réfugiés et de migrants vénézuéliens, ainsi qu’à des communautés d’accueil. Quelque 1,9 million de personnes ont reçu une aide alimentaire; 1,2 million de personnes ont reçu une aide sanitaire, 907 000 personnes ont reçu une aide à la protection; et 657 000 personnes ont reçu une aide en espèces.

Rôle du Canada

Le Canada accueillera la prochaine Conférence internationale des donateurs en solidarité avec les réfugiés et les migrants vénézuéliens le 17 juin 2021, en collaboration avec le HCR et l'OIM, codirecteurs de la plateforme R4V. En préparation à la conférence, le Canada collabore avec divers partenaires, dont les pays hôtes, les donateurs, les banques multilatérales de développement et la plateforme R4V, afin d'accroître la visibilité internationale de la situation, de veiller à ce que les engagements existants soient respectés et de mobiliser des ressources supplémentaires. Cela comprend un événement avec la BID sur l'intégration économique avec le soutien du secteur privé, des tables rondes thématiques organisées par les responsables sectoriels de la R4V, et conjointement avec l'UE, un événement parallèle avec la société civile. Tous les événements et les informations pertinentes seront publiés dans le Calendrier des événements.

Conférence de 2021

La conférence de 2021 inclura la participation des donateurs, des pays hôtes, des organisations internationales, des institutions financières internationales (IFI), du secteur privé et de la société civile. Elle fera également entendre la voix des personnes touchées par la crise. Les quatre objectifs sont les suivants :

  1. Souligner les progrès réalisés à ce jour;
  2. Accroître la sensibilisation aux principales opportunités, aux domaines prioritaires et aux défis, y compris les impacts de la crise sur les femmes et les filles;
  3. Mobiliser des ressources supplémentaires;
  4. Définir des mesures futures pour maintenir l’attention sur la crise et contribuer à assurer le respect des engagements.
Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: