Media independence and sustainability

Mira Milosevic, Global Forum for Media Development

Acknowledgement and disclaimer: The views and positions expressed in this report are solely those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development or the Government of Canada. The report is in its original language.

Executive summary

In only two decades, changes in the political, technological, social, and business environment have compromised sustainability and, thus, the independence of journalism and news media globally. With the COVID-19 pandemic amplifying the crisis, the coming years will be decisive for the future of journalism.

One of the main pillars of financial stability for many newsrooms—advertising revenue—is fast disappearing. Audiences are increasingly accessing news through their phones and mobile devices. Quality news and journalism is disadvantaged by the incentives and economies-of-scale model that digital platforms are pursuing.

While still an essential part of the revenue mix, digital circulation revenue will not address the gap left by advertising decline. Existing subsidies and support mechanisms are considered insufficient to address market failure and the lack of local reporting, and to preserve journalism as a public good. These trends are the most pronounced in less developed parts of the world and resource-poor settings. At present, there are no firmly established market mechanisms that transform the social value of professional, accountability journalism into an equivalent monetary return for news media.Footnote 1 Without new public funding, regulation of digital markets, and international support systems for non-profit media, independent professional journalism is in danger of becoming an expensive luxury rather than a universal public good.

Introduction

Democracy and fundamental freedoms are deteriorating globally.Footnote 2 More than 90% of the world’s population lives in countries where the level of press freedom is regarded as problematic, difficult or very serious.Footnote 3 Systems that underpin professional production of news and reliable information face challenges even in the most advanced democracies. The coming decade will be decisive for the future of journalism, with the pandemic amplifying converging crises, including the demise of journalism’s economic model.Footnote 4

From 2009 until the present day, close to 200 radio stations have gone off-air in Venezuela, creating large areas without local news.Footnote 5 More than 30 million people in Brazil live in “news deserts” - municipalities that do not have news outlets.Footnote 6 At least one-third of Canadian journalism jobs have disappeared since 2010,Footnote 7 while the United States has lost 2,100 newspapers in 15 years.Footnote 8 The pandemicFootnote 9 and subsequent global economic falloutFootnote 10 have significantly accelerated this trend.Footnote 11

How market failure leads to deterioration of media freedom and independence

Collapsing advertising revenue: Advertising revenue for newspapers globally has been in free fall since 2008, plunging from $103 billionFootnote 12 to $49 billion in 2019.Footnote 13 Due to COVID-19, this figure is likely to decline by a further 25% in 2020.Footnote 14 While the overall online advertising market is expected to continue growing at a compound annual rate of around 20%,Footnote 15 digital ad revenue largely circumvents news publishers.Footnote 16

This decoupling of advertising and journalism content is a result of two long-term trends. Firstly, by taking advantage of high market concentration, large platforms and intermediaries have captured the digital advertising marketFootnote 17 and other critical digital business segments,Footnote 18 and compromised market plurality and quality of our information ecosystem.Footnote 19 Secondly, firms that specialize in ad tech allow advertisers to block their adsFootnote 20 from appearing next to anything a brand considers “controversial,”Footnote 21 including journalism and news content.Footnote 22

Profound changes in news distribution and consumption: Audiences are increasingly accessing news through their mobile devices,Footnote 23 social media and messaging platforms.Footnote 24 Users consider social media less trustworthy, impartial and accurate than other major news platforms. However, due to availability, reach, and the current system of incentives and recommendations, quality content is relatively disadvantaged in the economies-of-scale model that platforms are pursuing.

Ownership concentration and media capture: A small number of individuals and organizations control increasing shares of news media production, distribution, data collection and advertising channels.Footnote 25 Research shows that newspapers and local media are among the most vulnerable. A significant threat to editorial independence in a growing number of countries across the world is “media capture”Footnote 26—a form of media control achieved through collusion between governments and powerful interest groups.Footnote 27

What are the opportunities to address the gap for journalism funding?

Digital markets for news: While it would be easy to dismiss digital advertising and declare it irrelevant for the revenue portfolio for journalism and news media,Footnote 28 the future of our overall information system is intrinsically linked with digital markets and how the Internet is governed. Authorities in AustraliaFootnote 29, EuropeFootnote 30 and the U.S.Footnote 31 are setting the stage for future regulation.Footnote 32

On the consumption side, the pandemic has substantially increased demand for trustworthy media, with television news and online sources seeing significant audience growth.Footnote 33 News publishers are building lasting relationships with readers willing to pay for online content in the form of subscriptions, memberships,Footnote 34 access to premium articles, donations or micropayments.Footnote 35

However, even in countries with higher levels of payment, “winner-takes-most” dynamics are persisting for digital news.Footnote 36 While still an essential part of the revenue mix, digital circulation revenue, estimated at only US$5 billion in 2019,Footnote 37 will not address the overall gap left by advertising decline.Footnote 38 In addition, relying mostly on subscription and membership models raises the question of whether all segments of society will have access to independent journalism and reliable information.

Public funding, subsidies, and cross-subsidies: Subsidies and different models of state aid have been historically used in Europe and other regions,Footnote 39 mainly to secure media pluralismFootnote 40 and local reporting,Footnote 41 and to maintain competition.

Existing subsidies and support mechanisms are insufficient to address the dearth of local reporting and the failure of the market, and to preserve journalism as a public good. The Cairncross Review in the U.K. has called for direct and indirect subsidies, tax relief and other forms of financial incentives.Footnote 42

One of the forms of media that still has strong public funding is public service media.Footnote 43 This model is increasingly under attackFootnote 44 and has unfortunately been less successful in other regions.Footnote 45 The problem remains that in many countries, governments use their budgetary influence to capture the media.Footnote 46

Philanthropy and donor support: Support for journalism and independent media in developing democracies, post-conflict regions, or those plagued by media capture has been a fixture in international development since the fall of the Soviet Union. Today, official development aid (ODA) funding for media development is around US$500 million per year.Footnote 47 In the most developed markets, philanthropy plays an increasingly vital role in providing support for non-profit news. Between 2010 and 2015, more than 32,000 grants totalling US$1.8 billion were awarded to non-profit journalism outlets.Footnote 48

A combination of commercial income, audience contributions and donor funding is rapidly becoming the new, hybrid business modelFootnote 49 for the independent, non-profit journalism sector.Footnote 50

The urgent need to address gaps in funding for journalism is described in a feasibility study for the International Fund for Public Interest Media (IFPIM).Footnote 51 Numerous other initiativesFootnote 52 are looking at ways to drive systemic change,Footnote 53 scale funding,Footnote 54 and eliminate the obstacles that stand in the way of effective collaboration,Footnote 55 knowledge-sharing,Footnote 56 and creating scalable systemsFootnote 57 for supporting non-profit news organizations.Footnote 58

Recommendations

Without new public funding, regulation of digital markets, and international support systems for non-profit media, independent professional journalism is in danger of becoming an expensive luxury rather than a universal public good.

The press freedom and media development communities have joined journalism and media organizations to call on the international community,Footnote 59 U.S. government,Footnote 60 E.U. member statesFootnote 61 and others to adopt ambitious policies and budgets that correspond to the urgency and scale of the crisis. Recommendations include:

  • Firmly positioning the support for the sector within overall international development assistance and governance support and scaling funding available to journalism and media, especially in low and middle-income countries.Footnote 62
  • Creating mechanisms to support local public interest journalism (especially in “news deserts” and areas where the public is underserved), accountability and investigative reporting, as well as innovation related to new hybrid business models. Greater institutional/core support, capacity building and flexible, longer-term funding are needed.Footnote 63
  • Addressing digital market failure and the regulatory disparity between digital platforms and heavily regulated media businesses with affirmative action for journalism content visibility, media diversity and plurality.Footnote 64
Date Modified:

Indépendance et pérennité des médias d’information

Mira Milosevic, Forum mondial pour le développement des médias

Avis : Les vues et les positions exprimées dans le présent rapport n’engagent que les auteurs et ne représentent pas nécessairement celles du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement ou du gouvernement du Canada. Ce document est la traduction de la version originale anglaise.

Résumé

En deux décennies à peine, les changements qui sont survenus dans l’environnement politique, technologique, social et commercial ont mis en danger la pérennité et, par conséquent, l’indépendance du journalisme et des médias d’information à l’échelle mondiale. Comme cette crise est amplifiée par la pandémie de COVID-19, les prochaines années seront décisives pour l’avenir du journalisme.

Les recettes publicitaires, un des piliers de la stabilité financière de nombreuses salles de presse, disparaissent rapidement. Les utilisateurs accèdent de plus en plus aux nouvelles depuis leur téléphone ou leur appareil mobile. Les incitatifs et le modèle d’économies d’échelle qui sont l’apanage des plateformes numériques pénalisent la qualité de l’information et du journalisme.

Bien qu’ils constituent encore une part essentielle des sources de financement, les revenus tirés de la diffusion numérique ne combleront pas les manques à gagner laissés par le déclin de la publicité. Les subventions et les mécanismes de soutien actuels ne sont pas considérés comme étant suffisants pour pallier la défaillance du marché et la pénurie de journalisme local, ni pour garantir que le journalisme demeure un bien public. Ces tendances sont les plus prononcées dans les endroits les moins développés du monde et dans les contextes pauvres en ressources. À l’heure actuelle, il n’existe aucun mécanisme de marché solidement établi pour convertir la valeur sociale du journalisme professionnel et responsable en un rendement monétaire équivalent pour les médias d’information.Note de bas de page 1

En l’absence de nouveaux financements publics, d’une réglementation des marchés numériques et de systèmes internationaux de soutien pour les médias à but non lucratif, le journalisme professionnel indépendant court le risque de devenir un luxe inabordable, plutôt qu’un bien public universel.

Introduction

La démocratie et les libertés fondamentales se dégradent à l’échelle mondialeNote de bas de page 2. Plus de 90 % de la population mondiale vit dans des pays où la liberté des médias a atteint un niveau considéré comme problématique, inquiétant ou très graveNote de bas de page 3. Les systèmes qui soutiennent la production professionnelle de nouvelles et d’information fiable font face à des défis, même dans les démocraties les plus avancées. La prochaine décennie sera décisive pour l’avenir du journalisme, étant donné que la pandémie amplifie les crises qui se conjuguent, notamment l’effondrement du modèle économique journalistiqueNote de bas de page 4.

Entre 2009 et aujourd’hui, la fermeture de près de 200 stations de radio au Venezuela a créé de vastes zones dépourvues de nouvelles localeNote de bas de page 5. Au Brésil, plus de 30 millions de personnes vivent dans un « désert médiatique », c’est-à-dire des municipalités qui n'ont pas d’organe médiatiqueNote de bas de page 6 . Au moins un tiers des emplois de journalistes au Canada ont disparu depuis 2010Note de bas de page 7, tandis que les États-Unis ont perdu 2 100 journaux en 15 ansNote de bas de page 8. La pandémieNote de bas de page 9 et ses répercussions économiques mondialesNote de bas de page 10 ont considérablement accéléré cette tendanceNote de bas de page 11.

Une dégradation de la liberté et de l’indépendance de la presse due à la défaillance du marché

Effondrement des recettes publicitaires : Depuis 2008, les recettes publicitaires des journaux sont en chute libre dans le monde entier. Elles ont dégringolé de 103 à 49 milliardsNote de bas de page 12 de dollars en 2019Note de bas de page 13. En raison de la COVID‑19, ce montant devrait encore chuter de 25 % en 2020.Note de bas de page 14 Même s’il est prévu que l’ensemble du marché de la publicité en ligne continuera sa croissance à un taux annuel composé d’environ 20 %Note de bas de page 15, les recettes publicitaires numériques échappent largement aux éditeurs de presseNote de bas de page 16.

Cette dissociation entre la publicité et le contenu journalistique est le résultat de deux tendances à long terme. Premièrement, en profitant de la forte concentration du marché, les grandes plateformes et les intermédiaires ont capté le marché de la publicité numériqueNote de bas de page 17 et d’autres secteurs d’activité numériques essentielsNote de bas de page 18, et ils ont compromis la diversité et la qualité du marché de notre écosystème d’informationNote de bas de page 19. Deuxièmement, les entreprises spécialisées en technologies publicitaires permettent aux annonceurs d’empêcher que leurs publicitésNote de bas de page 20 apparaissent à proximité de toute information que ceux-ci considèrent comme controverséeNote de bas de page 21, y compris de contenus journalistiques ou de nouvellesNote de bas de page 22.

Changements profonds dans la diffusion et la consommation de nouvelles : Les utilisateurs accèdent de plus en plus aux nouvelles depuis leur appareil mobileNote de bas de page 23, les médias sociaux et les plateformes de messagerieNote de bas de page 24. Ils considèrent que les médias sociaux sont moins crédibles, objectifs et exacts que d’autres grandes plateformes médiatiques. Toutefois, en raison de la disponibilité et de l’accessibilité de l’information, ainsi que du système actuel d’incitatifs et de recommandations, le modèle d’économies d’échelle adopté par les plateformes est plutôt pénalisant pour la qualité du contenu.

Concentration de la propriété et captation des médias : Une poignée d’individus et d’organisations contrôlent des parts de plus en plus importantes de la production, de la diffusion, de la collecte de données et des chaînes publicitaires des médias d’informationNote de bas de page 25. La recherche démontre que les journaux et les médias locaux figurent parmi ceux qui sont les plus vulnérables. L’une des principales menaces qui pèsent sur l’indépendance éditoriale dans un nombre croissant de pays partout dans le monde est la captation des médiasNote de bas de page 26 — une forme de contrôle qui résulte de la collusion entre des gouvernements et de puissants groupes d’intérêtsNote de bas de page 27.

Quelles sont les possibilités pour combler les lacunes du financement du journalisme?

Marchés numériques pour les nouvelles : S’il est vrai qu’il serait facile de rejeter la publicité numérique et de décréter qu’elle n’est pas pertinente dans le portefeuille des recettes du journalisme et des médias d’informationNote de bas de page 28, l’avenir de l’ensemble de notre système d’information est intrinsèquement lié aux marchés numériques et à la manière dont l’Internet est régi. En AustralieNote de bas de page 29, en EuropeNote de bas de page 30 et aux États-UnisNote de bas de page 31, les autorités ouvrent la voie à de futures réglementationsNote de bas de page 32.

Du côté des consommateurs, la demande de nouvelles crédibles a fortement augmenté à cause de la pandémie, et elle s’est accompagnée d’une croissance considérable de l’auditoire des journaux télévisés et des sources d’information en ligneNote de bas de page 33. Les éditeurs de presse établissent des relations durables avec des lecteurs prêts à payer pour obtenir du contenu en ligne sous la forme d’abonnements, d’adhésionsNote de bas de page 34, d’accès à des articles payants, de dons ou de micropaiementsNote de bas de page 35.

Cependant, même dans les pays où les niveaux de paiement sont élevés, le journalisme numérique demeure aux prises avec une dynamique qui ne laisse guère que des miettes aux salles de presseNote de bas de page 36. Bien qu’ils constituent encore une part essentielle des sources de financement, les revenus de la diffusion numérique, estimés à seulement 5 milliards de dollars en 2019Note de bas de page 37, ne combleront pas le manque à gagner global laissé par le déclin de la publicitéNote de bas de page 38. De plus, la dépendance quasi exclusive aux abonnements et aux adhésions soulève la question de savoir si tous les segments de la société auront accès à un journalisme indépendant et à une information fiable.

Financement public, subventions et subventions croisées : Dans le passé, des subventions et différents modèles d’aides publiques ont été utilisés en Europe et dans d’autres régionsNote de bas de page 39, principalement pour maintenir la diversité des médiasNote de bas de page 40, le journalisme localNote de bas de page 41 et la concurrence.

Les subventions et les mécanismes de soutien actuels ne suffisent ni à pallier la pénurie de journalisme local et la défaillance du marché, ni à garantir que le journalisme demeure un bien public. Le rapport Cairncross Review au Royaume-Uni a demandé des subventions directes et indirectes, des allégements fiscaux et d’autres formes d’incitatifs financiersNote de bas de page 42.

Les médias de service publicNote de bas de page 43 sont une forme de médias qui bénéficie encore d’un financement public solide. Ce modèle fait de plus en plus l’objet d’attaquesNote de bas de page 44 et a malheureusement connu moins de succès dans d’autres régionsNote de bas de page 45. Le problème demeure que, dans de nombreux pays, les gouvernements se servent de leur influence budgétaire pour pratiquer la captation des médiasNote de bas de page 46.

Philanthropie et soutien des donateurs : Dans les démocraties en développement, les régions qui sortent d’un conflit ou celles qui sont en proie à la captation des médias, le soutien au journalisme et aux médias indépendants est un élément incontournable du développement international depuis la chute de l’Union soviétique. Aujourd’hui, l’aide publique au développement (APD) qui finance le développement des médias représente environ 500 millions de dollars américains par anNote de bas de page 47. Dans les marchés les plus développés, la philanthropie joue un rôle de plus en plus vital dans le soutien à l’information à but non lucratif. Entre 2010 et 2015, plus de 32 000 subventions totalisant 1,8 milliard de dollars américains ont été accordées à des organismes de journalisme à but non lucratifNote de bas de page 48.

Une combinaison de recettes commerciales, de contributions des utilisateurs et de financement de donateurs est rapidement en train de devenir le nouveau modèle commercial hybrideNote de bas de page 49 du secteur du journalisme indépendant et à but non lucratifNote de bas de page 50.

Le besoin urgent de combler le manque de financement du journalisme est décrit dans une étude de faisabilité pour le Fonds international pour les médias d’intérêt publicNote de bas de page 51. De nombreuses autres initiativesNote de bas de page 52 cherchent des moyens de susciter des changements systémiques Note de bas de page 53 et des financements à grande échelleNote de bas de page 54, d’éliminer les obstacles qui entravent une collaboration efficaceNote de bas de page 55 et le partage des connaissancesNote de bas de page 56, ainsi que de créer des systèmes évolutifsNote de bas de page 57 pour soutenir les organisations de presse à but non lucratifNote de bas de page 58.

Recommandations

En l’absence de nouveaux financements publics, d’une réglementation des marchés numériques et de systèmes internationaux de soutien pour les médias à but non lucratif, le journalisme professionnel indépendant court le risque de devenir un luxe inabordable plutôt qu’un bien public universel.

Les communautés liées à la liberté et au développement des médias se sont jointes aux organisations journalistiques et médiatiques pour exhorter, entre autres, la communauté internationaleNote de bas de page 59, le gouvernement des États-UnisNote de bas de page 60 et les États membres de l’Union européenneNote de bas de page 61 à adopter des politiques et des budgets ambitieux qui correspondent à l’urgence et à l’ampleur de la crise. Parmi les recommandations figurent :

  • Positionner fermement le soutien au secteur dans le cadre de l’aide générale au développement international et de l’appui à la gouvernance, et élargir à plus grande échelle le financement pour le journalisme et les médias, surtout dans les pays à revenu faible et moyenNote de bas de page 62.
  • Créer des mécanismes pour soutenir le journalisme d’intérêt public local (surtout dans les « déserts médiatiques » et les zones où le public est mal desservi), la responsabilisation et le journalisme d’enquête, ainsi que l’innovation liée aux nouveaux modèles commerciaux hybrides. Le renforcement du soutien institutionnel et du soutien de base, le développement des capacités et les financements flexibles à long termeNote de bas de page 63 sont nécessaires.
  • Pallier la défaillance du marché numérique et la disparité de réglementation entre les plateformes numériques et les entreprises de médias fortement réglementées par des actions positives en faveur de la visibilité du contenu journalistique, de la diversité et de la pluralité des médiasNote de bas de page 64.
Date de modification: