Language selection

Search

Intercultural effectiveness

The Centre for Learning in Intercultural Effectiveness and International Assistance Policy supports the development of intercultural competencies to facilitate successful and sustainable international relations, and foster inclusive teams and organizations.

It focuses on supporting Global Affairs Canada programs and collaborating with individuals and groups from across government, non-governmental organizations, academic institutions and the private sector.

Consult the list of courses in the course catalogue.

To learn about terms and new concepts consult the intercultural glossary.

Course design and development services

The centre provides expertise in domestic and international projects and programs and can help your organization develop training and learning solutions. The scope ranges from needs analysis and project start-up to project implementation and evaluation by identifying the best approach for your unique requirements.

Services offered include the development and delivery of thematic workshops, classroom courses and online learning solutions.

Clients also benefit from an extensive network of subject matter experts and country resource persons who act as learning consultants, bringing specialized knowledge to the learning process.

The centre’s instructional designers and facilitators use adult education principles to provide meaningful and relevant training:

A listing of over 150 countries contains advice on key intercultural issues from a Canadian and local point of view.

A number of additional online courses and tools related to intercultural learning, diversity and inclusion, and country-specific cultural exploration are available to registered participants.

Publications

A Profile of the Interculturally Effective Person

Thomas Vulpe, Daniel Kealey, David Protheroe and Doug MacDonald

This ground-breaking study moves beyond such vague characteristics as "adaptability", "tolerance", and "sensitivity" to a detailed description of the actual behaviours exhibited by the interculturally effective person. A Profile of the Interculturally Effective Person is a comprehensive intercultural competency profile that is long overdue and a valuable addition to the library of HR professionals, trainers, and international managers.

Order free copy

Cross-Cultural Effectiveness - A Study of Canadian Technical Advisors Overseas

Daniel J. Kealey, Ph.D.

Does previous overseas experience guarantee success? Is culture shock something to be avoided? Can you select for intercultural effectiveness? Can you train for intercultural skills? A seminal work in the intercultural field, Cross-Cultural Effectiveness' findings challenge commonly held beliefs about what it takes to be effective in living and working in a new culture. The study defines the interpersonal skills and pre-departure attitudes which are predictive of overseas success and links these to the practical issues of selection and training. Cross-Cultural Effectiveness, first published in 1990 and updated and revised for this 2001 edition, is a must read for anyone involved in the international and intercultural fields.

Order free copy

Contact information

Telephone (toll free in Canada): 1-800-852-9211
Fax (toll free in Canada): 1-877-723-1604
Email: cultures@international.gc.ca

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Efficacité interculturelle

Le Centre d’apprentissage en efficacité interculturelle et sur la politique d’aide internationale est axé sur le développement des compétences interculturelles dans le but de faciliter des relations internationales fructueuses et durables, ainsi que l'intégration des équipes et des organisations.

Nous nous concentrons sur le soutien aux programmes d'Affaires mondiales Canada et collaborons avec des personnes et des groupes du gouvernement, d’organisations non gouvernementales, d’établissements universitaires et du secteur privé.

Consultez la liste des cours dans le Répertoire des cours.

Pour en savoir plus sur les termes et les nouveaux concepts, consultez le glossaire interculturel.

Services de conception et d’élaboration de cours

Nous mettons notre expertise à votre disposition dans le cadre de projets et de programmes nationaux et internationaux, et pouvons aider votre organisation à élaborer des solutions de formation et d'apprentissage. Notre champ d'action s'étend de l'analyse des besoins et du démarrage du projet, jusqu’à la mise en œuvre et à l'évaluation de projet au moyen de l'approche la mieux adaptée à vos besoins particuliers.

Nos services comprennent l'élaboration et la prestation d'ateliers thématiques, de cours en classe et de solutions d'apprentissage en ligne.

Nos clients profitent aussi de notre vaste réseau d'experts en la matière et de personnes-ressources qui agissent comme consultants en apprentissage, en apportant leurs connaissances spécialisées sur les pays au processus d'apprentissage.

Nos concepteurs et formateurs suivent les principes de l'éducation des adultes pour offrir une formation significative et pertinente.

Une liste de plus de 150 pays contient des conseils sur des questions interculturelles clés d'un point de vue canadien et local.

Certains outils et cours en ligne supplémentaires en matière d'apprentissage interculturel, de diversité et d'inclusion, ainsi que d'exploration culturelle propre à chaque pays sont mis à la disposition des participants inscrits.

Publications

Profil de la personne efficace sur le plan interculturel

Thomas Vulpe, Daniel Kealey, David Protheroe et Doug MacDonald

Cette étude innovatrice va au-delà des caractéristiques générales sur « l’adaptabilité », la « tolérance » et la « sensibilité », en fournissant une description détaillée des comportements réels démontrés par une personne efficace sur le plan interculturel. Le Profil de la personne efficace sur le plan interculturel est un profil de compétences interculturelles complet, attendu depuis longtemps et une addition précieuse à la bibliothèque des professionnels des ressources humaines, de la formation et de la gestion internationale.

Commandez cette publication sans frais

L’efficacité interculturelle - une étude des conseillers techniques canadiens à l’étranger

Daniel J. Kealey, Ph.D.

L’expérience antérieure à l’étranger garantit-elle le succès ? Le choc culturel est-il à éviter ? Peut-on faire de la sélection en efficacité interculturelle ? Peut-on faire de la formation en compétences interculturelles ? Cette recherche fait école dans le domaine interculturel. Les conclusions de L’efficacité interculturelle remettent en question les opinions généralement répandues sur les conditions requises pour vivre et travailler efficacement dans une nouvelle culture. L’étude décrit les compétences interpersonnelles et les attitudes avant le départ qui rendent prévisible le succès à l’étranger. Elle fait le lien entre celles-ci et les questions pratiques de sélection et de formation. L’efficacité interculturelle, éditée en 1990 et mise à jour et revue dans cette édition 2001, est un incontournable pour toute personne impliquée dans les domaines international et interculturel.

Commandez cette publication sans frais

Pour communiquer avec nous

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1-800-852-9211
Télécopieur (sans frais au Canada) : 1-877-723-1604
Courriel : cultures@international.gc.ca

Date de modification: