Language selection

Search

H.E. Lilian Chatterjee, High Commissioner for Canada in Barbados

H.E. Lilian Chatterjee, High Commissioner of Canada in Barbados

Message

Welcome to the High Commission of Canada in Barbados!

It is my honour to represent Canada in the Eastern Caribbean, following in the footsteps of my respected predecessors and building upon my previous - experience as Canada’s Ambassador to the Caribbean Community. I bring with me a deep appreciation for Caribbean culture and a genuine eagerness to explore and engage with the people in the region.

The High Commission of Canada serves 7 sovereign nations – Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines – as well as the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States and 3 British Overseas Territories – Montserrat, Anguilla, and the British Virgin Islands. The Mission in Bridgetown also offers consular services for Sint Maarten, Sint Eustaius and Saaba, and trade services in Martinique and Guadeloupe.

Canada has a longstanding relationship with the countries of the Eastern Caribbean as hemispheric neighbours in the Organization of American States, and as members in the Commonwealth and – in the case of Saint Lucia – La Francophonie. Our shared historic roots, deep commercial ties, and respect for the common values of democracy, human rights and the rule of law, lay the foundation for our strong bilateral relations and close people-to-people ties. Canada is very proud to have a large and vibrant Caribbean Canadian diaspora who have contributed to the political, economic and cultural fabric of the Canadian mosaic.

Canada’s support for the region is demonstrated through our robust international assistance program, which seeks to build a more inclusive global community by working collaboratively with foreign governments, local interlocutors, multilateral partners, and regional agencies, such as Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency and the Caribbean Development Bank.

It is my privilege to act as a liaison between Canada and the people and governments the Eastern Caribbean. In this capacity, the High Commission in Bridgetown will work to advance Canada’s feminist foreign policy by strengthening existing bilateral relations, fostering innovative economic growth, and addressing climate change. I encourage my fellow Canadians, who are visiting the region, to register with us online to receive the latest country-specific travel advice. And, I invite you all to explore this website and to follow us on social media to learn more about Canada’s engagement in the region.

Thank you.

H.E. Lilian Chatterjee
High Commissioner of Canada
Facebook: @CanadaInBarbados
Twitter: @CanHCBarbados, @LilianCGAC
Instagram: @canadabarbad

Biography

Lilian Chatterjee (BJ Hons [Journalism], Carleton University, 1980; MA, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University, 1985) joined the High Commission of Canada in Barbados in January 2021. As Canada’s High Commissioner, Ms. Chatterjee oversees a team of 47 diplomatic and locally-engaged staff, serving 7 sovereign nations, including Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines, as well as the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States and 3 British Overseas Territories (Montserrat, Anguilla, and the British Virgin Islands). The Mission in Bridgetown also offers consular services for Sint Maarten, Sint Eustaius and Saaba, and trade services in Martinique and Guadeloupe. The High Commission of Canada works to strengthen trade and commercial ties; enhance political, academic and cultural links; and assist Canadians visiting or living in the region.

Ms. Chatterjee joined the Canadian International Development Agency in 2003. She was director general for the Canadian Partnership Branch, Communications Branch and Strategic Policy and Performance Branch. At Global Affairs Canada, she served as director general for Social Development Partnerships, in the Partnerships for Development Innovation Branch, and was the director general for Strategic Integration in the Europe, Middle East and Maghreb Branch, and the departmental champion for psychological health and well-being in the workplace. Before becoming High Commissioner in Barbados, Ms. Chatterjee served as Canada’s High Commissioner to Guyana and Ambassador to Suriname and the Caribbean Community (2017 to 2020).

Ms. Chatterjee started her career as a journalist, then worked at the House of Commons and subsequently worked for several international NGOs. She is fluent in English, French and Spanish.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

S.E. Lilian Chatterjee, Haute-commissaire du Canada à la Barbade

S.E. Lilian Chatterjee, Haute-commissaire du Canada à la Barbade

Message

Bienvenue au haut-commissariat du Canada à Bridgetown, à la Barbade!

C'est un honneur pour moi de représenter le Canada dans les Caraïbes orientales, en suivant les traces de mes prédécesseurs respectés et en m'appuyant sur mon expérience en tant qu'ambassadrice du Canada auprès de la Communauté des Caraïbes. J'apporte avec moi une profonde appréciation de la culture caribéenne et un désir sincère d'explorer et de dialoguer avec les gens de la région.

Le haut-commissariat du Canada dessert 7 nations souveraines – Antigua-et-Barbuda, la Barbade, le Commonwealth de la Dominique, la Grenade, Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, Sainte-Lucie et Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines – ainsi que l'Organisation des États des Caraïbes orientales et 3 territoires britanniques d'outre-mer – Montserrat, Anguilla et les îles Vierges britanniques. La mission de Bridgetown offre également des services consulaires pour Saint-Martin, Saint-Eustache et Saaba, ainsi que des services commerciaux en Martinique et en Guadeloupe.

Le Canada entretient des relations de longue date avec les pays des Caraïbes orientales en tant que voisins hémisphériques au sein de l'Organisation des États américains, et en tant que membres du Commonwealth et – dans le cas de Sainte-Lucie – de la Francophonie. Nos racines historiques communes, nos liens commerciaux profonds et notre respect des valeurs communes que sont la démocratie, les droits de la personne et l’état de droit constituent le fondement de nos solides relations bilatérales et de liens étroits entre les personnes. Le Canada est très fier de compter une diaspora canadienne caribéenne importante et dynamique qui a contribué au tissu politique, économique et culturel de la mosaïque canadienne.

Le soutien du Canada à la région est démontré par notre solide programme d'aide internationale, qui vise à bâtir une communauté mondiale plus inclusive en travaillant en collaboration avec les gouvernements étrangers, les interlocuteurs locaux, les partenaires multilatéraux et les organismes régionaux, comme l'Agence de gestion des urgences en cas de catastrophe dans les Caraïbes et la Banque de développement des Caraïbes.

J'ai le privilège d'agir en tant qu'agent de liaison entre le Canada et les populations et gouvernements des Caraïbes orientales. À ce titre, le haut-commissariat à Bridgetown s'efforcera de faire progresser la politique étrangère féministe du Canada en renforçant les relations bilatérales existantes, en favorisant une croissance économique novatrice et en s'attaquant au changement climatique. J'encourage mes concitoyens canadiens qui se rendent dans la région à s'inscrire en ligne pour recevoir les derniers conseils de voyage propres à chaque pays. Et je vous invite tous à explorer ce site Web et à nous suivre sur les médias sociaux pour en savoir plus sur l'engagement du Canada dans la région.

Merci.

S.E. Lilian Chatterjee
Haute-commissaire du Canada
Facebook: @CanadaBarbade
Twitter: @HCCanBarbade, @LilianCGAC
Instagram: @canadabarbad

Biographie

Lilian Chatterjee (BJ Hons [journalisme], Université Carleton, 1980; MA, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Université Carleton, 1985) s'est jointe au haut-commissariat du Canada à la Barbade en janvier 2021. En qualité de haute-commissaire du Canada, Mme Chatterjee supervise une équipe de 47 membres du personnel diplomatique et employés recrutés sur place, au service de 7 nations souveraines, dont Antigua-et-Barbuda, la Barbade, le Commonwealth de la Dominique, la Grenade, Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, Sainte-Lucie et Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines, ainsi que l'Organisation des États des Caraïbes orientales et 3 territoires britanniques d'outre-mer (Montserrat, Anguilla et les îles Vierges britanniques). La Mission de Bridgetown offre également des services consulaires pour Saint-Martin, Saint-Eustache et Saaba, ainsi que des services commerciaux en Martinique et en Guadeloupe. Le haut-commissariat du Canada s'efforce de renforcer les liens commerciaux, d'améliorer les liens politiques, universitaires et culturels et d'aider les Canadiens qui visitent ou vivent dans la région.

Mme Chatterjee a rejoint l'Agence canadienne de développement international en 2003. Elle a été directrice générale de la Direction générale du partenariat canadien, de la Direction générale des communications et de la Direction générale de la politique stratégique et du rendement. À Affaires mondiales Canada, elle a été directrice générale des Partenariats de développement social, au sein du Secteur des partenariats pour l'innovation dans le développement, et directrice générale de l'Intégration stratégique au sein du Secteur de l'Europe, du Moyen-Orient et du Maghreb, ainsi que championne ministérielle de la santé psychologique et du bien-être au travail. Avant de devenir haute-commissaire à la Barbade, Mme Chatterjee a été haute-commissaire du Canada au Guyana et ambassadrice au Suriname et auprès de la Communauté des Caraïbes (2017 à 2020).

Mme Chatterjee a commencé sa carrière en tant que journaliste, puis a travaillé à la Chambre des communes et ensuite pour plusieurs ONG internationales. Elle parle couramment l'anglais, le français et l'espagnol.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: