Language selection

Search

Canada-Curaçao relations

Bilateral relations

Curaçao is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Netherlands is responsible for the conduct of Curaçao’s foreign affairs, including with Canada.

Tourism is the most important sector in the Curaçaoan economy. In 2018, approximately 21,000 Canadians visited Curaçao, making Canada the third largest tourist market for the island (in terms of stayovers). According to Statistics Canada, 961 tourists from Curaçao visited Canada in 2018. Direct flights between Canada and Curaçao operate year-round.

Education ties between the two countries continue to expand. The Curaçaoan Ministry of Education has signed Memoranda of Understanding with Bishop’s University and Brock University in Canada.   

Canada and Curaçao maintain a Tax Information Exchange Agreement and Air Transport Agreement. The Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Customs Matters is also applicable to Curaçao.

Canada is represented in Curaçao by the Embassy of Canada to the Kingdom of the Netherlands in The Hague. Curaçao is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Ottawa and its Consulates in Toronto and Vancouver. Practical matters, such as consular assistance to Canadians in Curaçao and Canada-Curaçao trade and investment files, are covered by the Embassy of Canada in Bogota, Colombia due to its geographic proximity to the island. Canada has an Honorary Consul in Curaçao, who represents Canada’s consular interests there.

Trade relations

Bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Curaçao is limited, totalling $15.1 million in 2018. Merchandise exports to Curaçao amounted to $15 million and included machinery, pharmaceuticals, and electric machinery. Canada also imported $80 thousand worth of merchandise from Curaçao in 2018. A limited number of Canadian companies are active in the clean technology, agriculture and construction sectors in Curaçao.

Related links

Operations

Through Operation CARIBBE, Canada cooperates with Curaçao in the multinational anti-drug campaign Operation Martillo, which targets illicit trafficking routes in the Caribbean. Canada Border Services Agency and the RCMP also maintain a working relationship with their Curaçaoan counterparts. Through its Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program, Canada supports INTERPOL’s cybercrime capacity building efforts in the Caribbean, including Curaçao.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Curaçao

Relations bilatérales

Curaçao est un État constitutif du Royaume des Pays-Bas, de sorte que ce dernier est responsable de la conduite de ses relations internationales, y compris avec le Canada.

Le tourisme est le secteur le plus important de l’économie du Curaçao. En 2018, quelque 21 000 Canadiens s’y sont rendus, ce qui fait du Canada sa troisième source de touristes (en termes de séjours). Selon Statistique Canada, 961 touristes de Curaçao ont visité le Canada en 2018. Des vols directs assurent la liaison entre les deux pays à longueur d’année.

Dans le domaine de l’éducation, les liens entre les deux pays continuent de se développer. Le ministère de l’Éducation du Curaçao a signé un protocole d’entente avec deux universités canadiennes : l’Université Bishop et l’Université Brock.

Le Canada et Curaçao ont un Accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux et un Accord bilatéral sur le transport aérien. L’Accord d’assistance mutuelle administrative en matière douanière entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement du Royaume des Pays-Bas s’applique également au Curaçao.

Le Canada y est représenté par son ambassade à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas. Curaçao est représenté au Canada par l’ambassade des Pays-Bas à Ottawa et par ses consulats à Toronto et Vancouver. En raison de sa proximité géographique avec l’île, l’ambassade du Canada à Bogota (Colombie) est chargée des affaires courantes, comme l’aide consulaire aux Canadiens à Curaçao ainsi que le commerce et les investissements bilatéraux avec ce dernier. Le consul honoraire du Canada à Curaçao représente également les intérêts consulaires canadiens.

Relations commerciales

Les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises entre le Canada et Curaçao sont limités. En 2018, ils se sont chiffrés à 15,1 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers ce pays se sont élevées à 15,0 millions de dollars. Elles comprenaient des machines et appareils électriques, des machineries et des produits pharmaceutiques. La même année, le Canada a importé des marchandises d’une valeur de 80 mille de dollars en provenance de ce marché. Un certain nombre d’entreprises canadiennes y sont présentes et œuvrent principalement dans les secteurs des technologies propres, de l’agriculture et de la construction.

Liens connexes

Opérations

Dans le cadre de l’opération CARIBBE, le Canada et Curaçao coopèrent à l’opération Martillo, une campagne multinationale visant à surveiller les routes servant au trafic illicite de stupéfiants dans les Caraïbes. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et la GRC entretiennent également des relations de travail avec leurs homologues du Curaçao. Dans le cadre de son Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PARCLC), le Canada aide à renforcer les capacités de lutte contre la cybercriminalité d’Interpol dans les Caraïbes, y compris à Curaçao.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: