Language selection

Search

Mia Yen, Consul General of Canada in Chandigarh, India

Mia Yen, Consul General of Canada in Chandigarh, India

Message

“It is an honour to represent Canadians here and to help grow the dynamic economic, cultural and institutional ties between Canada and India,” Ms. Yen said. “I will work to strengthen and celebrate the remarkable bridge of people that is taking shape between India and Canada, when many people from here are making Canada their new home.”

Biography

Ms. Yen was most recently director general in Ottawa, responsible for foreign service directives which support all Canadian public servants working abroad.

She also served as director of operations in the government’s central interagency Afghanistan task force, as deputy director of the team responsible for South Asia, and as special assistant to several deputy ministers.

Abroad, she worked as legislative analyst at the Canadian embassy in Washington, D.C., and as trade commissioner in Kuala Lumpur. In 2012, she set up Canada’s new embassy in the Myanmar as Canada’s first resident chargée d’affaires, before becoming senior trade commissioner and head of mission administration.

Ms. Yen was born and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia. She attended Simon Fraser University and the University of Western Ontario, respectively, for her undergraduate and graduate studies.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Mia Yen, Consule générale du Canada en Inde à Chandigarh

Mia Yen, Consule générale du Canada en Inde à Chandigarh

Message

« C’est un honneur de représenter les Canadiens ici et d’aider au développement des relations dynamiques existant aux niveaux économique, culturel et institutionnel entre le Canada et l’Inde » a déclaré Mme Yen. « Je m’efforcerai de renforcer et d’honorer ce remarquable pont humain qui prend forme entre l’Inde et le Canada, alors que tant de personnes d’ici décident de s’installer au Canada. »

Biographie

Il y a peu Mme Yen était directrice générale à Ottawa et responsable des Directives de service extérieur qui apportent un soutien à tous les fonctionnaires canadiens travaillant à l’étranger.

Elle a également été directrice des opérations au sein de la force opérationnelle centrale et interorganisationnelle du gouvernement, établie pour l’Afghanistan, en tant que directrice de l’équipe chargée de l’Asie du Sud et en tant qu’adjointe spéciale de divers sous-ministres.

À l’étranger, elle a travaillé comme analyste des lois à l’ambassade du Canada à Washington D.C. et comme déléguée commerciale à Kuala Lumpur. En 2012, elle s’est occupée de l’installation de la nouvelle ambassade du Canada au Myanmar tout d’abord en tant que première chargée d’affaires résidente du Canada puis en tant que déléguée commerciale principale avant de devenir chef de l’administration de la mission.

Mme Yen est née et a grandi à Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique. Elle a étudié à l’Université Simon Fraser ainsi qu’à l’Université de Western Ontario pour sa licence et son master, respectivement.

Date de modification: