Language selection

Search

Michael Elliott, Ambassador of Canada to Mali

Michael Elliott, Ambassador of Canada to Mali

Message

Aw ni Sogoma! Hello!

Welcome to the Embassy of Canada to Mali’s website.

It is an honour and a great privilege for me to represent Canada, as Ambassador to Mali, this country of the great Sahel.

Since 1969, Canada and Mali have enjoyed a fruitful and multidimensional relationship. In 2019, Canada and Mali celebrate 50 years of diplomatic relations. Canada is an important partner for Mali in terms of international development assistance, humanitarian assistance, peace and security programming, promotion of gender equality and trade promotion.

Mali has great wealth. Its population is diverse and its youth represents great potential. Mali has a rich culture of arts, crafts, music and unique rhythms, magnificent architecture and landscapes, great natural resources and a complex history filled with empires and kingdoms, religious and academic influences...

However, Mali is also affected by a complex development and security situation. Canada remains concerned regarding the devastating effects of conflict on populations and is working with its partners to bring peace and security to Mali. There can be no sustainable development without security and no security without sustainable development.

Within this framework, Canada is supporting several initiatives in Mali in close collaboration with the state and its international partners, with the ultimate objective to contribute to the creation of a climate conducive to lasting peace and inclusive governance that promotes prosperity, inclusion and the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals.

Canadian bilateral cooperation, of which Mali is one of the main beneficiaries in the world, remains an important asset for Mali's development and aims to reduce poverty by combining our feminist international assistance policy. The main sectors of development programmes focus on human dignity, inclusive growth and inclusive governance.

In addition, Canada supports peace and reconciliation in Mali through programs that provide a range of activities that promote stabilization and encourage dialogue. Canada also supports the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali, MINUSMA, through police and military deployments, significant financial support to the MINUSMA Trust Fund and through strengthening its gender unit.

Finally, our commercial and economic relations are strong and vary according to the sector. It is in the mining sector where Canadian firms are best appreciated. Today, this sector represents about 66% of Mali's exports and contribute more than 10% to the Malian government's budget.

Given its significant support, Canada is among the top five bilateral donors to Mali, and Mali is the second largest recipient of Canadian international assistance in Africa.

Rest assured that Canada will continue to be a friend of Mali and will stand with Malians in consolidating democracy and good governance, promoting human rights, particularly those of women and girls, sustainable economic growth and peaceful and harmonious "vivre ensemble".

I invite you to explore this website to learn more about Canada and its bilateral relationship with Mali. I also encourage you to follow us on social media to stay connected and informed about our various activities and achievements (Facebook - CanadainMali, Twitter - @CanEmbMali).

His Excellency Michael Elliott
Ambassador of Canada to Mali

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Michael Elliot, Ambassadeur du Canada au Mali

Michael Elliot, Ambassadeur du Canada au Mali

Message

Aw ni Sogoma ! Bonjour !

Bienvenue sur le site Web de l’Ambassade du Canada au Mali.

C’est pour moi, un honneur et un grand privilège de représenter mon pays « le Canada » en qualité d’Ambassadeur auprès de ce pays du grand Sahel, « Le Mali ».

Depuis 1969, le Canada et le Mali entretiennent des relations fructueuses et multidimensionnelles; en 2019, nous célébrons 50 ans de relations diplomatiques. Le Canada est un partenaire important pour le Mali en termes d’aide internationale, d’aide humanitaire, de programmation de paix et sécurité, de promotion de l’égalité des genres et de promotion des échanges commerciaux.

Le Mali possède de grandes richesses. Sa population est diverse et sa jeunesse représente un grand potentiel. Le Mali possède une culture des arts, de l’artisanat, de la musique et des rythmes uniques, une architecture et des paysages magnifiques, de grandes richesses naturelles et une histoire complexe remplie d’empires et de royaumes, d’influences religieuses et académiques…

Mais le Mali est également affecté par une situation complexe de développement et de sécurité. Le Canada demeure préoccupé par les effets dévastateurs des conflits sur les populations et travaille avec ses partenaires pour ramener la paix et la sécurité au Mali. Il ne peut y avoir de développement durable sans sécurité ni de sécurité sans développement durable.

Dans ce cadre, le Canada supporte plusieurs initiatives au Mali en collaboration étroite avec le pays et ses partenaires internationaux, dont l’objectif ultime est de contribuer à mettre en place un climat propice à une paix durable et une gouvernance inclusive favorisant la prospérité, l’inclusion et l’atteinte des Objectifs de développement durable.

La coopération bilatérale canadienne, dont le Mali est un des principaux bénéficiaires dans le monde, demeure un atout important pour le développement du Mali et s’applique à réduire la pauvreté en y associant notre politique d’aide internationale féministe. Les principaux secteurs des programmes de développement sont axés sur la dignité humaine, la croissance au service de tous et la gouvernance inclusive.

De plus, le Canada soutient la paix et la réconciliation au Mali à travers des programmes qui appuient une gamme d’activités favorisant la stabilisation et encourageant le dialogue. Le Canada appuie également la mission d’opérations de paix des Nations unies au Mali, la MINUSMA, à travers des déploiements policiers et militaires, un support financier important au Fonds fiduciaire de la MINUSMA, et un renforcement de son unité genre.

Enfin, nos relations commerciales et économiques sont fortes et varient en fonction des domaines. Mais c’est dans le secteur minier que s’apprécie le mieux l’importance des firmes canadiennes, qui représentent aujourd’hui environ 66% des exportations du Mali et qui contribuent à plus de 10 % du budget de l’État malien.

Compte tenu de son appui important, le Canada figure parmi les cinq principaux bailleurs de fonds bilatéraux au Mali, et le Mali est le deuxième bénéficiaire de l’aide internationale du Canada en Afrique.

Soyez rassurés que le Canada continuera d’être un ami du Mali et sera aux côtés des Maliens et des Maliennes pour la consolidation de la démocratie et de la bonne gouvernance, pour la promotion des droits de la personne, notamment celles des femmes et des filles, pour une croissance économique durable et pour un « vivre ensemble » paisible et harmonieux.

Je vous invite à explorer ce site Web pour en apprendre davantage sur le Canada et ses liens bilatéraux avec le Mali. Je vous encourage également à nous suivre sur les médias sociaux pour rester connectés et informés de nos différentes activités et réalisations (Facebook - CanadaauMali, Twitter - @AmbCanMali).

Son Excellence M. Michael Elliott
Ambassadeur du Canada au Mali

Date de modification: