Language selection

Search

Canada-Russia relations

Bilateral relations

Diplomatic relations between Canada and the Russian Federation – previously the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) – were formally established on June 12, 1942. Canada is represented in the Russian Federation through an Embassy in Moscow and an Honorary Consulate in Vladivostok. The Russian Federation is represented in Canada through an Embassy in Ottawa, Consulates-General in Toronto and Montreal and Honorary Consuls in several other Canadian cities.

Canada’s diplomatic engagement with Russia is focused on issues where we face common challenges, such as the Arctic, and for the purposes of advancing Canadian interests and values. Our engagement also includes speaking clearly and directly to Russia about its unacceptable actions, including in Ukraine, Syria and elsewhere. Canada remains concerned by Russia’s pattern of behaviour that undermines the rules-based international order, and continues to condemn Russia’s illegal annexation and attempted occupation of Crimea, as well as its ongoing support to the insurgency in eastern Ukraine.

Sanctions

Sanctions have been imposed under the Special Economic Measures Act in order to respond to Russia’s violation of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine, and grave human rights violations committed in Russia.

For information on Canada’s response to the situation in Ukraine, please consult the following web pages at the Department of Global Affairs Canada in Ottawa:

Trade relations

The Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) in Russia still operates despite trade restrictions from sanctions under the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA).

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Russie

Relations bilatérales

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Fédération de Russie – auparavant l’Union des républiques socialistes soviétiques (URSS) – ont été officiellement établies le 12 juin 1942. Le Canada est représenté dans la Fédération de Russie par une ambassade à Moscou et un consulat honoraire à Vladivostok. La Fédération de Russie est quant à elle représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa, des consulats généraux à Toronto et Montréal et des consuls honoraires dans plusieurs autres villes canadiennes.

Les relations diplomatiques du Canada avec la Russie se poursuivent à l’égard de questions d’intérêt commun, comme celle de l'Arctique. De plus, les efforts diplomatiques visent à promouvoir les intérêts et valeurs canadiens. Nos relations impliquent de discuter clairement et directement avec la Russie au sujet de ses interventions inacceptables en Ukraine, en Syrie et ailleurs dans le monde. Le Canada demeure préoccupé par le comportement systématique de la Russie qui mine l'ordre international fondé sur des règles et continue de condamner l'annexion illégale et la tentative d'occupation de la Crimée par la Russie, ainsi que soutien continu de la Russie vis-à-vis l'insurrection dans l'est de l'Ukraine.

Sanctions

Des sanctions liées à la Russie ont été imposées en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales afin de répondre à la violation de la souveraineté et de l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine par la Russie, ainsi que les graves violations des droits de la personne qui ont été commises en Russie.

Pour en savoir plus sur la position du Canada face à la situation en Ukraine, veuillez consulter les pages Web suivantes du ministère des Affaires mondiales Canada, à Ottawa :

Relations commerciales

Le service des délégués commerciaux (SDC) en Russie continue de fonctionner, malgré les restrictions commerciales imposées par les sanctions en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales (LMES).

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: