Language selection

Search

Canada-Sint Maarten relations

Canada’s areas of action

Bilateral relationship

Sint Maarten is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Netherlands is responsible for the conduct of Sint Maarten’s foreign affairs, including with Canada.

Canada is represented in Sint Maarten by the Embassy of Canada to the Kingdom of the Netherlands in The Hague.  Sint Maarten is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Ottawa and its Consulates in Toronto and Vancouver. Practical matters, such as consular assistance to Canadians in Sint Maarten and Canada-Sint Maarten trade and investment files, are covered by the High Commission of Canada in Barbados. Canada has an Honorary Consul in Sint Maarten to help represent Canadian interests there.

Tourism is the most important sector in Sint Maarten’s economy, which continues to recover from the devastating impact of Hurricane Irma in 2017. In 2017, approximately 39,000 Canadians visited Sint Maarten (down from 57,000 in 2016), making Canada the second largest tourist market (in terms of arrivals) for the island. Canadian airlines have resumed direct flights between Canada and Sint Maarten.

Bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Sint Maarten is limited, totalling $5.9 million in 2017, the bulk of which consisted of Canadian exports, including beverages, machinery, and motor vehicles & parts. A limited number of Canadian companies are active in the tourism and infrastructure sectors in Sint Maarten.

Through Operation CARIBBE, Canada cooperates with Sint Maarten in the multinational anti-drug campaign Operation Martillo, which targets illicit trafficking routes in the Caribbean. Canada Border Services Agency and the RCMP also maintain a working relationship with their Sint Maartener counterparts. Through its Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program, Canada supports INTERPOL’s cybercrime capacity building efforts in the Caribbean, including Sint Maarten.  

In addition, Canada and Sint Maarten maintain a Tax Information Exchange Agreement. The Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Customs Matters is also applicable to Sint Maarten.

 

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Sint Maarten

Domaines d’intervention du Canada

Relations bilatérales

Sint Maarten est un État constitutif du Royaume des Pays-Bas, de sorte que ce dernier est responsable de la conduite de ses relations internationales, y compris avec le Canada.

Le Canada y est représenté par son ambassade à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas. Sint Maarten est représenté au Canada par l’ambassade des Pays-Bas à Ottawa et par ses consulats à Toronto et Vancouver. Le haut-commissariat du Canada à la Barbade est chargé des affaires courantes, comme l’aide consulaire aux Canadiens à Sint Maarten ainsi que le commerce et les investissements bilatéraux avec ce dernier. Le consul honoraire du Canada à Sint Maarten  représente également les intérêts consulaires canadiens.

Le tourisme est le secteur le plus important de l’économie de Sint Maarten, qui continue de se remettre des effets dévastateurs de l’ouragan Irma, en 2017. Cette année-là, quelque 39 000 Canadiens s’y sont rendus (contre 57 000 en 2016), ce qui fait du Canada sa deuxième source de touristes (en termes d’arrivées). Les transporteurs aériens canadiens ont repris les vols directs entre les deux pays.

Les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises entre le Canada et Sint Maarten sont limités. En 2017, ils se sont chiffrés à 5,9 millions de dollars. Il s’agissait surtout d’exportations canadiennes, y compris des boissons, des machines et appareils ainsi que des véhicules automobiles et des pièces. Un certain nombre d’entreprises canadiennes sont présentes sur ce marché, notamment dans les secteurs du tourisme et de l’infrastructure.

Dans le cadre de l’opération CARIBBE, le Canada et Sint Maarten coopèrent à l’opération Martillo, une campagne multinationale visant à surveiller les routes servant au trafic illicite de stupéfiants dans les Caraïbes. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et la GRC entretiennent également des relations de travail avec leurs homologues de Sint Maarten. Dans le cadre de son Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PARCLC), le Canada aide à renforcer les capacités de lutte contre la cybercriminalité d’Interpol dans les Caraïbes, y compris à Sint Maarten. 

En outre, le Canada et Sint Maarten ont un Accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux. L’Accord d’assistance mutuelle administrative en matière douanière entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement du Royaume des Pays-Bas s’applique également à Sint Maarten.

 

Date de modification: