Language selection

Search

Trade Commissioner Assistant

Section: International Business Development
Location: Consulate of Canada in Houston, Texas
Postion number: EXT–408620B
Level: LE-05
Starting salary: $52,411 USD plus benefits
Date posted: October 24, 2019
Closing date: November 11, 2019
Employment tenure: Indeterminate

The Consulate of Canada in Houston, Texas is seeking qualified candidates for the position of Trade Commissioner Assistant. Under the general direction of the Senior Trade Commissioner, this position is responsible for supporting the Mission’s Trade Commissioners with the implementation of their international business development and investment programs and activities in the Consulate General’s territory of Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, New Mexico and Texas.

The Trade Commissioner Assistant will need to be a bright, articulate, hardworking individual with a high energy level and outstanding interpersonal skills. The successful candidate will be highly collaborative and a detail-oriented professional who takes on active roles in both day-to-day functions as well as be a key member of the Houston team.

This staffing process may be used to create an eligibility list of qualified candidates for this position and other similar positions, with various tenures, including indeterminate, term, assignment/transfer, and/or acting opportunities at the Consulate General of Canada in Dallas and the Consulate of Canada in Houston.

Open to:

Transfer:

Employees of the Embassy of Canada or any Canadian Consulate in the US currently at this level may apply by requesting a transfer. You will be part of the competition and will be assessed against the rated requirements. You must advise your current supervisor of your interest. Relocation fees will not be paid in any circumstance.

All applicants must:

Note: Failure to provide any of the information required above will result in your application being rejected. All communication relating to this process, including email correspondence may be used in the assessment of qualifications. Supporting documentation will be verified during the process. 

Summary of duties:

1. Administrative Support

2. Research, Knowledge & Information Management Support

3. Event Support

Coordinate logistics for events including but not limited to, receptions, trade exhibitions, conferences and other IBD events

4. Information and Technology Support

Essential requirements:

Candidates must demonstrate clearly how they meet the Education and Experience requirements listed below:

Language requirements:

English (The ability to work in French and/or Spanish would be considered an asset). Please indicate your level of knowledge on your resume.

Education:

A degree from a recognized, accredited university or college in the fields of business, communications, international studies or a combination of education, training and experience (at least two years) in an administrative support role in a professional office environment  

Experience:

Rated requirements:

Candidates who meet the Education and Experience requirements will be assessed on the following qualifications.  The assessment may be a written test, an interview, an in-basket exercise, a skills test, or any combination of these methods.

Knowledge

Abilities

Personal suitability:

Desirable qualifications:  

Selection procedure:

The staffing process will consist of a review of all applications to ensure that applicants meet the essential requirements.  Please note that failure to meet any of the essential requirements eliminates the candidates from further consideration in the competition.  Only those applicants who meet these will be contact by the Consulate General of Canada for an interview or other form of assessment of these Rated Requirements.

The assessment may include an interview, a written test and other tests that will consist of a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant’s knowledge, abilities and personal suitability for the position.

The Consulate General of Canada offers a competitive salary, generous leave and a strong benefits package to include medical, dental, long term and short term disability, and a retirement savings plan to name a few.

The Consulate General of Canada is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.

Method of application:

Applications are to be sent by e-mail to: re-DALAS.Employment@international.gc.ca by 17:00 CST on the closing date. In completing their applications, candidates will confirm that they meet all the essential requirements and take care to relate their work experience to the requirements being assessed.  We thank all applicants, but we will only contact those who pass the initial screening. Candidates must provide contact information so that you can be easily reached (e-mail, phone, mobile, etc.).

Hours of work:

Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with the Locally Engaged Staff (LES) regulations of 37.5 hours per week, with occasional overtime and travel.  The successful candidate must be available to work Monday-Friday from 8:30 to 17:00.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Adjoint(e) à l’expansion des affaires

Section : Commerce
Lieu : Consulat du Canada à Houston
Numéro du poste : EXT-408620B
Echelon : LE-05
Salaire à l’embauche : $ 52,411 USD par année, plus les avantages sociaux.
Date de l’affichage : 24 octobre 2019
Date de clôture : 4 novembre 2019
Durée de l’emploi: dotation anticipée : Indéterminé.

Le consulat du Canada à Houston, Texas, recherche un/une candidat(e) qualifié(e) pour le poste d’adjoint(e) à l’expansion des affaires. Sous la direction générale du délégué commercial principal, la personne titulaire de ce poste apporte du soutien à l’équipe des délégués commerciaux de la Mission et aide à la mise en œuvre des programmes et activités de développement du commerce international et d’investissement sur le territoire du consulat général de l’Arkansas, de la Louisiane, de l’Oklahoma, du Nouveau-Mexique et du Texas.

L’adjoint(e) à l’expansion des affaires devra être brillant(e), articulé(e), travailleur/ travailleuse, doté(e) d’un grand dynamisme et d’excellentes compétences interpersonnelles. Le/la candidat(e) retenu(e) sera un/une professionnel(le) hautement collaboratif/ collaborative et soucieux/soucieuse du détail car assumera des rôles actifs dans les deux fonctions quotidiennes et sera également un membre clé de l'équipe de Houston.

Ce processus concurrentiel de dotation en personnel pourra être utilisé pour établir une liste d’admissibilité de candidat(e)s qualifié(e)s pour ce poste ou des postes similaires pour des périodes diverses : indéterminée, déterminée, affectation / mutation ou intérim au Consulat général du Canada à Dallas et au Consulat du Canada à Houston.

Admissibilité :

Transfer :

Employé(e)s de l’Ambassade du Canada à Washington, D.C ou de tout Consulat du Canada aux Etats-Unis actuellement à ce niveau peuvent demander un transfert. Ces employé(e)s feront parti(e)s du concours, seront évalué(e)s en fonction des exigences cotées et devront informer leur superviseur actuel de leur intérêt. La réinstallation ne sera payée en aucun cas.

Tous les candidat(e)s doivent :

A noter : votre demande sera rejetée si vous ne fournissez pas les informations requises ci-dessus. Toutes les communications relatives à ce processus, y compris la correspondance par courriel, peuvent être utilisées pour évaluer vos qualifications. Les documents fournis seront vérifiés au cours du processus.

Résumé des fonctions :

1. Soutien administratif

2. Soutien à la recherche, à la connaissance et à la gestion de l’information

3. Support évènementiel

Coordonne la logistique pour les évènements, y compris les réceptions, les expositions commerciales, les conférences et autres évènements du département.

4. Support informatique et technologique

Qualifications essentielles :

Le/La candidat(e) doit démontrer clairement comment il/elle satisfait aux exigences en matière d'éducation et d'expérience qui sont énumérées ci-dessous :

Exigences linguistiques :

Maîtrise de l'anglais (oral et écrit); la capacité de travailler en français et/ou en espagnol est considérée comme un atout. Veuillez indiquer votre niveau de connaissance dans chacune des langues sur votre application.

Etudes :

Diplôme d'un établissement reconnu - collège ou université - dans un domaine lié aux fonctions requises par le poste, telles que les affaires, les communications.

Ou une combinaison d’études, de formation et d’expérience (au moins deux ans) dans un rôle de soutien administratif dans un environnement de bureau professionnel.

Expériences :

Exigences cotées :

Le/La candidat (e)s qui satisfait aux exigences en matière de langue, d’études et d’expérience sera évalué(e) selon les qualifications suivantes. L’évaluation peut-être une épreuve écrite, une entrevue ou une combinaison de ces méthodes.

Connaissances :

Compétences :

Qualités personnelles :

Exigences souhaitées :

Procédure de sélection :

Le processus de dotation en personnel consistera en un examen de toutes les candidatures pour s’assurer qu’elles remplissent les exigences essentielles. Veuillez noter que le non-respect de l’une des exigences essentielles élimine toute candidature au concours.

Seuls les candidats ayant posé leur candidature et qui satisfont à toutes les qualifications essentielles seront contactés par le Consulat général du Canada pour une entrevue ou une autre forme d’évaluation des exigences cotées pour le poste. L’évaluation peut comprendre une entrevue, un test écrit et d’autres tests qui consistent en une série de questions conçues pour évaluer les connaissances, les capacités et les qualités personnelles de chaque candidat. Une liste d'admissibilité de candidats qualifiés sera établie pour ce poste et pour des postes similaires. La confirmation du poste est soumise à une autorisation de sécurité.

Le Consulat général du Canada à Dallas offre un salaire concurrentiel, de généreux congés et un bon ensemble d’avantages sociaux qui comprend un régime médical, un régime dentaire, une assurance invalidité de longue durée, ainsi qu’un régime de retraite, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns.

Le Consulat général du Canada à Dallas s’est engagé à mener des processus de sélection inclusifs et sans obstacles.

Pour poser sa candidature :

Les candidatures doivent être envoyées par courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante : re-DALASEmployment/Emploi@international.gc.ca avant 17 heures à la date de clôture. En complétant leurs candidatures, les candidats confirment qu'ils répondent à toutes les exigences essentielles et établissent un lien entre leur expérience de travail et les exigences à évaluer.

Nous remercions tous les candidats mais nous ne contacterons que ceux qui auront passé l’examen initial. Les candidats doivent fournir leurs coordonnées pour être facilement contacté (courrier électronique, téléphone, téléphone portable, etc)

Horaires de travail :

Les heures normales de travail pour ce poste sont conformes aux règlements s’appliquant aux employés recrutés sur place (ERP), soit une semaine de travail de 37,5 heures par semaine, avec des heures supplémentaires et des déplacements occasionnels. Le candidat retenu doit être disponible du lundi au vendredi de 8h30 à 17h00.

Date de modification: