Language selection

Search

Commercial Officer – Ontario

Position Title: Commercial Officer - Ontario
Section: Ontario International – San Francisco Trade & Investment Office
Location: Consulate General of Canada in San Francisco
Position Number: EXT-403211
Level: LE-07
Starting Salary: $79,711 USD, plus benefits
Tenure:  Indeterminate
Competition No.: SFRAN_2019_06
Posting Date: November 11, 2019
Closing Date: December 2, 2019 (5:00 PM PST)

Summary of Position:

The province of Ontario generates 40% of Canada’s GDP and is home to the second largest tech sector in North America. The Ontario Government has a network of representational offices, Ontario International - Trade and Investment Offices (TIOs), in cities around the world. They are co-located in Canadian diplomatic missions, composed of a Canadian Diplomat (Head of the TIO) and a locally engaged team. Measured by quantitative results, TIOs are mandated to build commercial and cultural relations between Ontario and the host country in three ways: 1) Export Promotion; 2) Foreign Direct Investment Attraction; and 3) Partnership Development.

The Commercial Officer (Ontario) is a local employee of the Government of Canada but works with and reports to the Head of Program at the Ontario Trade and Investment Office (TIO). Under the general direction of the Head of Program, the Commercial Officer (Ontario) contributes to the commercial success of Ontario companies in the territory covered by the Trade and Investment Office. This includes support to exporters, but also innovation, Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) into Ontario as well as advocacy.

Some responsibilities include but are not limited to:

Essential Requirements:

Candidates must demonstrate clearly in their cover letter how they meet the Education and Experience requirements listed below:

Language:

luency in English (oral and written). The ability to work in French is considered an asset. 

Education:

Bachelor's Degree from an accredited college or university in a business, economics, or a field related to the duties of the position.

Experience:

*Recent experience is defined as work experience in the last 5 years.

Rated Requirements:

Candidates who meet the Education and Experience requirements will be assessed on the following qualifications. The assessment may be an interview, a written test, an interview, and other tests that will consist of a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant’s knowledge, abilities, and personal suitability for this position

Knowledge:

Abilities:

Personal Suitability:

Conditions of Employment (must be met):

The successful candidate will be required to obtain Government of Canada Reliability Status (RS), which includes a criminal, and credit background check.

Selection Procedure:

The staffing process will consist of a review of all applications to ensure that applicants meet the Essential Requirements. Please note that failure to meet any of the essential requirements eliminates candidates from further consideration in the competition.  Only those applicants who meet these will be contacted by the Human Resources Section for an in- person interview and/or other form(s) of assessment (a written test, an in-basket exercise, and /or a skills test) of the Rated Requirements for the position.  All candidates are required to show proof of legal status to live and work in the US.  Reference verifications may also be carried out.
The Consulate General of Canada in San Francisco is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.
The Consulate General of Canada in San Francisco offers a competitive salary, generous leave and a strong benefits package to include medical, dental, long term disability, and a pension  plan to name a few.

Method of Application:

Applications are to be sent by e-mail to: SFRANJobOpportunities@international.gc.ca by the closing date and time. Your application must include a detailed cover letter (as outlined above) and curriculum vitae.  When submitting your application by email, on subject line of email write only your last name in all caps followed by this competition number: SFRAN_2019_6.  For example, if your name were Susan Jones, you would write: JONES –SFRAN_2019_6. Hard copy applications will not be accepted.

Please ensure that your application includes a valid, functional email address that accepts messages from unknown users.

Hours of Work:

Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with Locally-Engaged Staff (LES) regulations of 37.5 hours per week. The successful candidate must be willing to work evenings, some weekends and holiday events.

Travel:

The position will also require some business travel within the office’s territory, as well as possible trips to Canada.

 

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Agent(e) commercial(e) principal(e) – Ontario

Titre du poste: Agent(e) commercial(e) Ontario
Section: Ontario International - Bureau du commerce et de l’investissement, San Francisco
Lieu: Consulat général du Canada, San Francisco
No du poste: EXT- 403211
Niveau: LE-07
Salaire de départ: 79 711 $US plus des avantages
Durée: Indéterminé
Concours No: SFRAN_2019_06
Date d'affichage: 11 novembre 2019
Date de clôture: 2 décembre 2019 (5 :00 PM PST)

Résumé Du Poste:

La province de l’Ontario génère 40% du PIB du Canada, et elle est le foyer du deuxième plus important secteur technologique en Amérique du Nord. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario dispose d’un réseau de bureaux de représentation – Ontario International,  Bureaux du commerce et de l’investissement (BCI) – et ces bureaux sont installés dans des villes du monde entier. Ils sont situés dans des missions diplomatiques du Canada, composés d’un diplomate canadien (chef du BCI) et d’une équipe recrutée sur place. Évalués selon leurs résultats quantitatifs, les BCI ont pour mandat d’édifier des relations commerciales et culturelles entre l’Ontario et le pays hôte, et ce, de trois façons: 1) promotion des exportations; 2) attraction des investissements directs étrangers; et 3) développement de partenariats.

L’agent(e) commercial(e) (Ontario) est un(e) employé(e) local(e) du gouvernement du Canada, mais il/elle travaille avec le chef de programme du Bureau du commerce et de l’investissement de l’Ontario (BCI) et en relève. Sous la direction générale du chef de programme, l’agent(e) commercial(e) (Ontario) contribue au succès commercial des entreprises ontariennes situées dans le territoire couvert par le Bureau du commerce et de l’investissement. Cela comprend le soutien aux exportateurs, mais aussi l’innovation, les investissements directs étrangers (IDE) en Ontario ainsi que la défense des intérêts.
Certaines responsabilités incluent, mais ne se limitent pas à:

Qualifications Essentielles:

Les candidat(e)s doivent démontrer clairement dans leur lettre comment ils/elles répondent aux exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience qui sont énumérées ci-dessous:

Exigence linguistique:

Maîtrise de l’anglais (oral et écrit).  La capacité de travailler en français est considérée comme un atout.

Études:

accalauréat d’un établissement reconnu – collège ou université – dans le domaine des affaires, de l’économie ou dans un domaine lié aux fonctions du poste.

Experience:

Exigences cotées:

Les candidat(e)s qui remplissent les exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience seront évalué(e)s sur les qualifications suivantes. L’évaluation peut inclure une entrevue, un test écrit et d’autres tests qui comprendront une série de questions conçues pour évaluer les connaissances, les capacités et les qualités personnelles de chaque candidat(e) pour ce poste.

Connaissance:

Capacités:

Qualités personnelles:

Conditions d’emploi (doivent être remplies):

La personne retenue devra obtenir la cote de fiabilité du gouvernement du Canada, ce qui comprend une vérification des antécédents criminels et de crédit.

Procédure de sélection:

Le processus de dotation en personnel comprendra un examen de toutes les candidatures afin de s’assurer que les personnes qui postulent répondent aux exigences essentielles. Veuillez noter que le défaut à remplir l’une ou l’autre des qualifications essentielles élimine les candidat(e)s d’un examen plus poussé dans le cadre du concours. La Section des ressources humaines ne communiquera qu’avec les personnes qui ont postulé et qui remplissent ces critères afin de fixer une entrevue en personne ou faire subir toute autre forme d’évaluation (test écrit, exercice de la corbeille ou test de compétences) des exigences cotées pour le poste. Toutes les personnes qui postulent doivent fournir une preuve de leur statut juridique leur permettant de vivre et de travailler aux États-Unis. Des vérifications des références peuvent également être effectuées.

Le Consulat général du Canada à San Francisco s’est engagé à mener des processus de sélection inclusifs et ouverts

Le consulat général offre un salaire concurrentiel, de généreux congés et un bon ensemble d’avantages sociaux comprenant un régime de soins médicaux, dentaires, d’invalidité de longue durée et d’épargne-retraite.

Pour Postuler:

Les candidatures doivent être envoyées par e-mail à: SFRANJobOpportunities@international.gc.ca
par la date de clôture. Votre demande doit comprendre une lettre de motivation détaillée (tel que décrit ci-dessus) et un curriculum vitae. Lorsque vous soumettez votre demande par courriel, sur la ligne d'objet du courriel écrire que votre nom de famille en majuscules suivies par ce numéro de la concurrence: SFRAN_2019_06. Par exemple, si votre nom est Susan Jones, vous écrire: JONES-SFRAN_2019_06. Les candidatures sur papier ne seront pas acceptées.

Veuillez vous assurer que votre candidature comprend une adresse de courriel valide et fonctionnelle qui accepte les messages d’utilisateurs inconnus.

Heures de travail:

Les heures ouvrables normales pour ce poste sont conformes aux règlements s’appliquant aux employés recrutés sur place (ERP), soit 37,5 heures par semaine. La personne retenue doit être disposée à travailler le soir, lors de certains week-ends et congés.

Voyage:

Le poste exigera également certains voyages d’affaires sur le territoire du bureau, ainsi que de possibles déplacements au Canada.

 

Date de modification: