Language selection

Search

Susan Harper, Consul General of Canada in Miami, United States

Message

Canada and Florida have worked together to create a number of partnerships in recent years, and it has been a pleasure strengthening those partnerships, and developing new ones. I enjoy representing Canada in Florida, and I look forward to working with all of you in the years to come.

When I meet with people in Florida, most of them refer to the number of Canadians who either live or visit here. That’s not really a surprise when you look at the numbers. Canada is overwhelming the top international source of tourists coming to Florida, with 3.5 million annual visits, and spending almost $5 billion – nearly 40% of all spending by foreign tourists in Florida. Canadians are also top foreign purchasers of residential real estate in Florida. We estimate the residential property portfolio to be around $50 billion, which would mean that Canadians contribute almost $600 million annually in property taxes. Our consular section helps many of the millions of Canadian visitors and snowbirds who come to Florida, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands each year, including by issuing emergency passports and other travel documents; providing certain notarial and certification services; sharing information on voting abroad, old age security and the Canadian Pension Plan; and responding to emergencies such as medical distress cases, arrests/detentions, deaths abroad, and natural disasters.

However, many people in Florida are surprised to learn that, if you combine the tourism element, with our $8B in two-way trade, and Canada’s investment in Florida – almost 500 Canadian-owned companies -- Canada is Florida’s most important economic partner. Over 620,000 jobs depend directly or indirectly on that economic relationship! An increasing number of Canadian companies are expanding their presence and establishing new relationships in Florida, especially in innovative and high-potential sectors including clean technology, aerospace and life sciences. The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service, a key part of our Consulate, is pleased to work with those companies, and others who we believe can help us grow the Canada-Florida commercial relationship by increasing two-way trade; facilitating R&D partnering, commercialization and sourcing of technology; and attracting investment to Canada.

The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service team at the Consulate endeavours to help Canadian organizations successfully export to Florida, establish a presence in this market, tackle market access issues, pursue joint-ventures or other strategic alliances, participate in global value chains, and seek technology and R&D partners. They do this by providing on-the-ground intelligence and practical advice on the market, as well as by providing Canadian companies with qualified business and public sector contacts. Their priority sectors are linked to Florida’s new economic drivers – like “clean tech” environmental technologies, medical and life sciences, and information and communication technologies. Our trade commissioners also actively seek out foreign direct investment (FDI) opportunities for firms wishing to invest in Canada.

While jobs and the economy are important to both of our countries, our partnership goes far beyond that. We work with universities and colleges, non-governmental organizations, sports organizations, and cultural organizations -- and we are glad to see that this collaboration is also growing. Our Canadian Forces personnel serve together with US military at four bases across the state, protecting our shared continent, fighting against terrorism and patrolling international waters in the Caribbean and elsewhere. 10% of all Canadian armed forces in the USA are in Florida. The Canada Border Services Agency works with its counterparts in the United States, and other law enforcement and international border management partners in the region to secure the border, while facilitating the legitimate flow of goods and people. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) working in the region in partnership with international law enforcement agencies, foreign governments and Canadian embassies, maintain a link between Canadian law enforcement and US law enforcement agencies in support of the RCMP's mandate to fight transnational crime.

I am pleased to work with our committed and capable consulate team, to provide excellent service to our Canadian community, and to promote this vibrant and diversified partnership with Florida, Puerto Rice and the US Virgin Islands. It is clear that Canada matters to the region, and that the region matters to Canada.

I invite you to join us on our Facebook page to receive updates on our activities and important events in Canada. You can also follow our consulate Twitter account.

Susan Harper
Consul General

Biography

Susan Harper (Master of Business Administration, Ivey School of Business, Western University; Bachelor of Arts with Honours [Math, English] Queen’s University).

Prior to moving to Miami, Ms. Harper held two consecutive positions in Global Affairs Canada in Ottawa: Director General and Senior Arctic Official (2013-2016) and Director General, Trade Controls and Technical Barriers (2009-2013). In 2004, she had been posted to the Embassy of Canada in Washington DC, where she became Minister (Economic) in 2008. She had previously been Ambassador in Montevideo, Uruguay (2001-2004), after having held trade positions in Yaoundé, Paris and Buenos Aires. Before joining the Government of Canada, Ms. Harper taught at both Cambrian College in Sudbury, and George Brown College in Toronto.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Susan Harper, Consule général du Canada aux États-Unis à Miami

Message

Ces dernières années, le Canada et la Floride ont travaillé ensemble pour créer un grand nombre de partenariats. Cela a été un honneur de renforcer ces partenariats et d’en développer de nouveaux. Je suis fière de représenter le Canada en Floride, et je suis impatiente de travailler avec vous tous dans les années à venir.

La plupart des Floridiens que je rencontre font allusion au grand nombre de Canadiens qui vivent dans cette région ou qui y viennent en visite. Ce n’est pas très étonnant, compte tenu des statistiques. Les Canadiens représentent largement la première source de touristes internationaux en Floride, avec annuellement 3,5 millions de visites et avec près de 5 milliards de dollars de dépenses, soit près de 40 % des dépenses des touristes étrangers dans cet État. Les Canadiens sont également les premiers acheteurs étrangers de biens immobiliers résidentiels en Floride. Nous estimons le parc immobilier résidentiel autour des 50 milliards de dollars, ce qui signifie que les Canadiens contribuent presque pour 600 millions annuellement aux taxes de propriété. Notre consulat vient en aide à une bonne partie des millions de retraités migrateurs et autres visiteurs canadiens qui séjournent en Floride, à Porto Rico et aux Iles Vierges des États-Unis, notamment en délivrant des passeports d’urgence et d’autres documents de voyage, en remplissant certaines fonctions notariales, en fournissant des services de certification, en transmettant des renseignements sur le vote à l’étranger, la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Régime de pensions du Canada et en intervenant dans des situations d’urgence, telles que des problèmes de santé, des arrestations, des détentions, des décès et des catastrophes naturelles.

Bon nombre de Floridiens sont surpris d’apprendre que le Canada est leur plus important partenaire économique. En fait, le tourisme se cumule avec les 8 milliards d’échanges bilatéraux et les investissements de presque 500 entreprises canadiennes en Floride. Plus de 620 000 emplois dépendent directement ou indirectement de ce partenariat économique. Un nombre croissant d’entreprises canadiennes étendent leur présence et établissent de nouvelles relations en Floride, surtout dans des secteurs à fort potentiel axés sur l’innovation, comme les technologies propres, l’aérospatiale et les sciences de la vie. Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada (SDC), un service clef de notre consulat, est fier de travailler avec ces entreprises ainsi qu’avec d’autres partenaires qui nous assurent de pouvoir faire accroître les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Floride en intensifiant les échanges bilatéraux, en facilitant l’établissement de partenariats en recherche-développement, la commercialisation et le repérage de technologies ainsi qu’en attirant des investissements au Canada.

Au consulat, l’équipe du Service des délégués commerciaux s’efforce d’aider les entreprises canadiennes à exporter en Floride, à s’établir sur ce marché, à éliminer les obstacles à l’accès au marché, à poursuivre des projets de coentreprises ou d’autres alliances stratégiques, à intégrer les chaînes de valeur mondiales et à rechercher des partenaires en technologie et en recherche-développement. Pour ce faire, le SDC transmet des renseignements acquis sur le terrain aux entreprises canadiennes, leur donne des conseils pratiques sur les marchés et leur fournit le nom de personnes-ressources qualifiées du milieu des affaires et du secteur public. Ses secteurs prioritaires sont liés aux nouveaux moteurs économiques de la Floride comme par exemple, les technologies environnementales (technologies propres), la médecine et les sciences de la vie ainsi que les technologies de l’information et des communications. En outre, nos délégués commerciaux recherchent activement des possibilités d’investissement direct étranger pour les entreprises qui souhaitent investir au Canada.

Les emplois et l’économie revêtent certes une grande importance pour nos deux pays, mais notre partenariat s’étend bien au-delà de ces seuls secteurs. Nous travaillons avec des universités et des collèges, des organisations non gouvernementales et des organismes à vocation sportive ou culturelle, et nous sommes heureux de voir cette collaboration prendre elle aussi de l’ampleur. Le personnel de nos forces canadiennes travaille aux côtés de militaires américains dans quatre bases disséminées un peu partout dans l’État afin de protéger notre continent, de lutter contre le terrorisme et de patrouiller dans les eaux internationales des Antilles et d’ailleurs. 10 % des forces armées canadiennes aux États-Unis, sont en Floride. L’Agence des Services Frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) collabore avec ses homologues des États-Unis et d’autres partenaires afin de sécuriser la frontière tout en facilitant le flux légitime des biens et des personnes. La Gendarmerie Royale du Canada (GRC) travaille, dans la région, en partenariat avec des forces de l’ordre internationales, des gouvernements étrangers et des ambassades canadiennes afin de maintenir un lien entre les forces de l’ordre américaines et canadiennes et afin d’exécuter son propre mandat de lutte contre la criminalité transfrontalière.

J’ai l’honneur de travailler avec l’équipe dévouée et compétente du consulat, afin d’offrir des services d’excellente qualité à notre communauté canadienne et de promouvoir ce partenariat dynamique et diversifié avec la Floride, Porto Rico et les îles Vierges des États-Unis. Il est évident que le Canada revêt une grande importance pour la région et que la région revêt une grande importance pour le Canada.

Je vous invite à vous abonner à notre page Facebook pour rester au courant de nos activités et des événements importants qui se tiennent au Canada. Vous pouvez également suivre le consulat sur son compte Twitter.

Susan Harper
Consule générale

Biographie

Susan Harper (maîtrise en administration des affaires, Ivey School of Business, Western University; baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation [mathématiques et anglais], Queen’s University).

Avant son arrivée à Miami, Mme Harper a occupé deux postes consécutifs au sein d’Affaires mondiales Canada: directrice générale et haute représentante pour l’Arctique (2013-2016) et directrice générale de la Réglementation commerciale et des Obstacles techniques (2009-2013). En 2004, elle a été affectée à l’ambassade du Canada à Washington DC, où en 2008-2009, elle a exercé les fonctions de ministre de l’Économie. Elle avait été auparavant ambassadrice à Montevideo, en Uruguay (2001-2004), après avoir occupé des postes liés au commerce à Yaoundé, à Paris et à Buenos Aires. Avant de joindre le Gouvernement du Canada, Mme Harper a enseigné au Collège Cambrian de Sudbury et au Collège George Brown de Toronto.

Date de modification: