Background Information: Support to Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises in Ukraine

This call for proposals seeks to enhance small and medium-sized enterprise (SME) competitiveness and growth in selected regions of Ukraine and responds to Canada's recent commitments to help restore economic stability in Ukraine. It is also aligned with the overall objective of the Ukraine Development Strategy of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) to promote sustainable economic growth in a strengthened democracy. DFATD's Ukraine Development Program contributes to maintaining economic stability and promoting sustainable economic growth, with the objective of increased and more inclusive private-sector-led growth, investment, and job creation. To achieve this, Canada prioritizes support to the innovation and growth of SMEs and the facilitation of effective and participatory local economic development. Strong growth in SMEs can contribute to poverty reduction and cushion the harsh impacts of the economic and political transition that Ukraine is now experiencing. Support to Ukrainian SMEs, especially those managed by women, can help them become a driving force for economic growth through the adoption of new technologies and modern business management practices, attraction of investment, and exploration of new markets.

Context

Ukraine achieved independence in August 1991 upon the dissolution of the Soviet Union. However, 24 years later, it is still struggling to consolidate democracy within a functioning free-market economy. From 1992 to 2012, Ukraine's gross national income (GNI) per capita (in current US dollars) increased from US$1,420 to US$3,500. By comparison, over the same period, Poland's GNI per capita increased from US$2,030 to US$12,660 as a result of deep and broad democratic and economic reforms. According to the World Bank, the stunted condition of the private sector in Ukraine is one of the main explanations of its poor growth performance.

Ukraine: key facts and figures

Table 1: Key facts and figures

Region: Eastern Europe
Administrative division: 24 oblasts (regions), one autonomous republic of Crimea, and two cities with special status.
Income category: Lower middle income
Population: 45,489,600
GNI per capita: US$3,960
Doing Business 2015 rank: 96
SMEs out of all enterprises (2013): 99.8 percent
SME turnover (2013): 57.6 percent
SME employment (2013): 67.8 percent

1

SME sector

SMEs constitute 99.8 percent of Ukrainian enterprises, but their contribution to the economy is estimated at only 15 percent of the country's GDP, compared to the European average of 50-70  percent. The SME sector is very heterogeneous, dominated by single entrepreneurs and microbusinesses which have low productivity and remain confined to local markets. Ineffective state policies and failure to implement key business reforms at both national and local levels have discouraged private sector development, foreign and domestic investments, and job creation in Ukraine.

An innovative SME sector can contribute to productivity growth, challenge the current oligarchic networks in Ukraine and enhance the country's competitiveness in the global markets.

In 2012, the Government of Ukraine brought its classification of SMEs into alignment with the European Union (EU) definition for comparability of statistics, although the EU definition uses three criteria (annual number of employees, turnover or balance sheet total) instead of two. The SME definition in Ukraine is summarized in the table below.

Table 2: Classification of SMEs in Ukraine
Enterprise categoryAverage annual number of employeesAverage annual gross income from sales (at the National Bank of Ukraine rate)
Single/micro0–10≤€2 million
Small10–50≤€10 million
Medium51–250≤€50 million
Large>250>€50 million

The SME sector in Ukraine has the potential to facilitate economic growth, investment and job creation. Entrepreneurship is an effective mechanism of poverty reduction that stimulates the creation of a middle class through people's self-employment and small-enterprise development.

Business environment and economic framework in Ukraine

In addition to a number of adverse economic and political factors such as macroeconomic instability, the military crisis in the east of Ukraine, and the annexation of Crimea by the Russian Federation, the SME sector analysis defines a number of specific conditions and challenges that impede SME development in Ukraine:

  • Corruption and fraud in business and public authorities
  • Unfavourable regulatory framework and high administrative burden
  • Limited access to finance
  • Outdated and ineffective business-support infrastructure
  • Inefficiency of business protection in courts
  • Low entrepreneurial culture and literacy
  • Monopolization of markets and lack of competition
  • Lack of comprehensive state policy in support of SMEs

Nevertheless, there are significant opportunities to strengthen SMEs due to a well-qualified labour force and the entrepreneurial nature of Ukraine's population. Ukraine has universal literacy and high school enrolment: the combined gross enrolment ratio in education for both sexes was 90 percent in 2009, higher than in some Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries.Footnote 1

Prospects for deregulation and SME development

The Government of Ukraine has committed to undertaking a number of fundamental reforms to restore the macroeconomic and financial stability of the country and facilitate economic growth. In particular, it has begun to implement a broad-based deregulation and entrepreneurship development reform to enhance economic dynamics and to facilitate investment. The Parliament of Ukraine is considering improvements to the law on state assistance for the development of SMEs in Ukraine. The state oversight institutions are undergoing a major reform to eliminate excessive regulatory procedures and streamline government-to-business processes. In particular, the government's newly established Office of the Business Ombudsman is a step forward in the fight against corruption. It will work to create a fair, friendly business environment, improve transparency in regional business practices, develop local entrepreneurship, and attract investors. A new State Regulatory Service was set up in December 2014.

Gender equality

The SME sector is an important pathway to greater social and gender equality in Ukraine. In Ukraine, women represent 50.9 percent of all self-employed individuals. Women head 26 percent of small enterprises, 15 percent of medium-sized enterprises and 12 percent of large enterprises. Women-led or -owned enterprises predominantly represent trade and services, including the hotel and restaurant business. Such enterprises are usually smaller in size, in comparison to those led by men, and generate less profit irrespective of the economy sector or their size. Women entrepreneurs often face more regulatory barriers, higher rates of administrative inspections (for example, fire and sanitary inspections) and have more problems accessing credit. Apart from the gender dimension, SMEs have an important social role: they are an important enabler of the development and consolidation of a wider middle class in Ukraine, a social force that will hold an enduring interest in transparent and accountable governance.

Environment

SMEs and local economies are inseparably linked to environmental sustainability. SMEs function within the opportunities and constraints of local ecosystems, affecting the natural environment. The majority of Ukrainian enterprises do not have any environmental programs, "green" projects, or special recycling programs. The smaller the company, the less likely it is to have an environmental policy. Only about 10 percent of Ukrainian SMEs have clearly defined ecological standards, while in large companies, the percentage is as much as 40 percent. Big businesses quite often engage in environmental security projects, although they do not allocate substantial budgets for that. The use of alternative energy sources is not very common.

Governance

Governance is the fundamental crosscutting theme for all Canadian development programming in Ukraine. Canada's objectives for integrating a governance perspective into its international assistance programming are to:

  • enhance the accountability and transparency of partner countries' institutions and processes;
  • support citizens' participation to ensure ownership and sustainability in social and economic development processes; and
  • strengthen the capacity for equitable service delivery.

A strong capacity to manage public finances, respect legal contracts and deliver services, combined with transparency and accountability to citizens, are key factors to strengthen prospects for economic growth. DFATD's Sustainable Economic Growth Strategy addresses governance-related barriers to growing businesses and investing in people by focusing on building legislative and regulatory frameworks that enable sustainable growth.

Donor environment and aid effectiveness

A number of donors and international financial institutions are engaged in promoting sustainable economic growth in Ukraine. The United States Agency for International Development (USAID) works to develop private sector competitiveness by improving the business enabling environment, private sector capacity and workforce development. Significant support to Ukrainian SME associations is provided through the Center for International Private Enterprise office in Ukraine.

The EU provides capacity building support to government institutions and supports reforms as part of the prerequisites for implementing the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement and the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Agreement. Support to institutions responsible for the business enabling environment is an important part of this work. In 2011, Ukraine joined the EU's Small Business Act cooperation framework and is getting technical assistance for its implementation through the OECD, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and European Training Foundation.

The World Bank Group, and the International Financial Corporation (IFC) in particular, is working to improve the business enabling environment in Ukraine. The IFC provides customized advice on improving and simplifying regulations, encouraging and retaining investment, and helping foster competitive markets, economic growth, and job creation.

The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) provides advice and mentoring to enterprises via the Business Advisory Services mechanism and Enterprise Growth Programme (EGP). These focus on strengthening companies' organization, management, operations, sales, marketing and finance. The EBRD contributes to the development of a sustainable infrastructure of business advisory services, as well as the improvement of the policy and regulatory environment for business through policy dialogue. As part of the EBRD's Gender Action Plan, the bank supports women's entrepreneurship through financial institution projects that increase access to finance for women-owned SMEs and women entrepreneurs, as well as addressing barriers that impede their access to credit, particularly in rural areas.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Education at a Glance, OECD Indicators 2010

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Document d'information : Aide aux petites et moyennes entreprises en Ukraine

Cet appel de propositions vise à promouvoir la compétitivité et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) dans certaines régions de l'Ukraine et à donner suite au récent engagement du Canada à aider à y rétablir la stabilité économique. L'appel s'inscrit aussi dans le contexte de l'objectif global de la stratégie de développement de l'Ukraine d'Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD), qui consiste à promouvoir une croissance économique durable dans une démocratie renforcée. Le Programme de développement de l'Ukraine du MAECD contribue à maintenir la stabilité économique et à promouvoir la croissance économique durable dans le contexte de l'objectif qui consiste à accroître et à rendre plus inclusifs la croissance, l'investissement et la création d'emplois pilotés par le secteur privé. À cette fin, le Canada veut avant tout appuyer l'innovation et la croissance des PME et faciliter le développement économique local efficace et participatif. La croissance robuste des PME peut contribuer à réduire la pauvreté et à atténuer les répercussions difficiles de la transition économique et politique que vit actuellement l'Ukraine. L'appui accordé aux PME ukrainiennes, et en particulier à celles qui sont dirigées par une femme, vise à les aider à devenir une force motrice de la croissance économique en adoptant des technologies nouvelles et des pratiques modernes de gestion des affaires, en attirant des investissements et en explorant de nouveaux marchés.

Contexte

L'Ukraine a obtenu son indépendance en août 1991 lors de la dissolution de l'Union soviétique. Toutefois, 24 ans plus tard, le pays s'efforce encore de consolider la démocratie dans une économie de marché libre fonctionnelle. De 1992 à 2012, le revenu national brut (RNB) par habitant de l'Ukraine (en dollars américains courants) est passé de 1 420 $ à 3 500 $. En guise de comparaison, au cours de la même période, le RNB par habitant de la Pologne (en dollars américains courants) est passé de 2 030 $ à 12 660 $ à la suite de réformes démocratiques et économiques profondes et de grande envergure. Selon la Banque mondiale, l'atrophie du secteur privé en Ukraine est l'une des principales causes de son faible rendement de croissance.

Ukraine : Principaux faits et chiffres

Tableau 1 : Principaux faits et chiffres

Région : Europe de l'Est
Divisions administratives : 24 oblats (régions), une république autonome de Crimée et deux villes qui ont un statut spécial.
Catégorie de revenu : Revenu intermédiaire inférieur
Population : 45 489 600 d'habitants
RNB par habitant : 3 960 $US
Classement 2015 sur le plan des affaires : 96
PME sur toutes les entreprises (2013) : 99,8 %
Roulement des PME (2013) : 57,6 %
Emploi dans les PME (2013) : 67,8 %

1

Secteur des PME

Les PME constituent 99,8 % des entreprises ukrainiennes, mais leur contribution à l'économie est estimée à 15 % seulement du PIB national, comparativement à une moyenne de 50 à 70 % en Europe. Le secteur des PME est très hétérogène, dominé par des entrepreneurs indépendants et des microentreprises qui ont une productivité faible et restent confinés aux marchés locaux. L'inefficacité des politiques nationales et l'incapacité d'instaurer des réformes clés des milieux d'affaires à l'échelle nationale et locale ont découragé le développement du secteur privé, les investissements étrangers et nationaux et la création d'emplois en Ukraine.

Un secteur des PME novateur peut contribuer à la croissance de la productivité, remettre en question les réseaux oligarchiques actuels en Ukraine et rehausser la compétitivité nationale sur les marchés mondiaux. En 2012, le gouvernement de l'Ukraine a harmonisé sa classification des PME avec la définition de l'Union européenne (UE) pour rendre les statistiques comparables, même si la définition de l'UE est basée sur trois critères (nombre annuel d'employés, chiffre d'affaires ou bilan) au lieu de deux. Le tableau qui suit résume la définition des PME en Ukraine.

Tableau 2 : Classification des PME en Ukraine
Catégorie d'entrepriseNombre annuel moyen d'employésChiffres d'affaires brut annuel moyen (au taux de la Banque Nationale de l'Ukraine)
Autonome/Micro0–10≤2 millions €
Petite10–50≤10 millions €
Moyenne51–250≤0 millions €
Grande>250>50 millions €

Le secteur des PME en Ukraine pourrait faciliter la croissance économique, l'investissement et la création d'emplois. L'entrepreneuriat constitue un moyen efficace de lutter contre la pauvreté qui favorise la création d'une classe moyenne par le travail autonome et la création de petites entreprises.

Les milieux d'affaires et le cadre économique en Ukraine

Outre un certain nombre de facteurs économiques et politiques indésirables comme l'instabilité macroéconomique, la crise militaire dans l'Est de l'Ukraine et l'annexation de la Crimée par la Fédération de Russie, l'analyse du secteur des PME révèle des conditions et des défis en particulier qui entravent le développement des PME en Ukraine :

  • La corruption et la fraude dans les milieux d'affaires et les pouvoirs publics
  • Le cadre de réglementation défavorable et la lourdeur du fardeau administratif
  • L'accès limité au financement
  • Une infrastructure de soutien des entreprises désuète et inefficace
  • L'inefficience de la protection des entreprises devant les tribunaux
  • La faiblesse de la culture d'entreprise et de la littératie
  • La monopolisation des marchés et le manque de concurrence
  • L'absence de politiques nationales intégrées pour appuyer les PME

Il existe néanmoins d'importantes possibilités de renforcer le secteur des PME grâce à une population active très qualifiée et à l'esprit d'entrepreneuriat de la population de l'Ukraine. L'Ukraine pratique la littératie universelle et les études secondaires : le taux brut d'inscription combiné pour les deux sexes s'établissait à 90 % en 2009, ce qui dépasse le taux de certains pays de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE)Note de bas de page 1.

Perspectives de déréglementation et de développement des PME

Le gouvernement de l'Ukraine s'est engagé à entreprendre des réformes fondamentales afin de rétablir la stabilité macroéconomique et financière nationale et de faciliter la croissance économique. Il a lancé plus particulièrement une réforme générale de la déréglementation et du développement de l'entrepreneuriat afin de promouvoir la dynamique économique et de faciliter l'investissement. Le Parlement de l'Ukraine étudie des améliorations de la loi sur l'aide publique au développement des PME en Ukraine. Les institutions nationales de surveillance ont lancé une réforme majeure pour éliminer les procédures réglementaires excessives et simplifier les processus entre l'État et les milieux d'affaires. Le Bureau de l'ombudsman des affaires que vient de créer le gouvernement constitue plus particulièrement un pas dans la bonne voie pour lutter contre la corruption. Le Bureau cherchera à créer un milieu d'affaires équitable et accueillant, à rendre les pratiques d'affaires régionales plus transparentes, à développer l'entrepreneuriat local et à attirer des investisseurs. L'État a créé un nouveau service de réglementation en décembre 2014.

Égalité entre les sexes

Le secteur des PME constitue une voie importante d'accès à une plus grande égalité sociale et entre les sexes en Ukraine, où les femmes constituent 50,9 % des travailleurs autonomes et dirigent 26 % des petites entreprises, 15 % des PME et 12 % des grandes entreprises. Les entreprises dirigées par une femme ou appartenant à une femme représentent avant tout les secteurs du commerce et des services, y compris celui de l'hôtellerie et de la restauration. Ces entreprises sont habituellement plus petites que celles que dirigent des hommes et sont moins rentables, quels que soient le secteur de l'économie ou leur taille. Les femmes entrepreneures ont plus d'obstacles réglementaires à surmonter, doivent faire face à des taux plus élevés d'inspections administratives (par exemple, inspections de la protection incendie et des conditions sanitaires) et ont plus de difficulté à obtenir du crédit. Outre la dimension genre, les PME ont un important rôle social à jouer : elles constituent un important facteur d'habilitation de l'apparition et de l'implantation d'une classe moyenne plus étendue en Ukraine, force sociale qui s'intéressera toujours à une gouvernance transparente et redditionnelle.

Environnement

Les PME, les économies locales et la viabilité de l'environnement sont inséparables. Les PME œuvrent dans le contexte des possibilités et des contraintes des écosystèmes locaux et ont une incidence sur le milieu naturel. Les entreprises ukrainiennes n'ont en majorité pas de programmes environnementaux, de projets « écologiques » ou de programmes de recyclage spéciaux. Plus l'entreprise est petite, moins elle est susceptible d'avoir une politique environnementale. Environ 10 % seulement des PME ukrainiennes ont des normes écologiques précises, tandis que dans les grandes entreprises, le pourcentage peut atteindre 40 %. Les grandes entreprises se lancent très souvent dans des projets de sécurité environnementale, même si elles n'y affectent pas des budgets importants. Le recours aux sources d'énergie de remplacement n'est pas très répandu.

Gouvernance

La gouvernance est le thème transversal prédominant pour tous les programmes de développement canadiens en Ukraine. Les objectifs du Canada en matière d'intégration de la gouvernance dans ses programmes d'aide internationale consistent à :

  • accroître la responsabilisation et la transparence des processus et des institutions des pays partenaires;
  • favoriser la participation des citoyens afin d'assurer la prise en charge et la viabilité des processus de développement socioéconomique;
  • renforcer la capacité de fournir des services équitables.

Une solide capacité de gérer les finances publiques, de respecter des contrats au sens de la loi et de fournir des services, combinée à la transparence et à la reddition de comptes envers les citoyens, est essentielle à l'amélioration des perspectives de croissance économique. La Stratégie du MAECD sur la croissance économique durable en développement s'attaque aux obstacles de gouvernance à l'expansion des entreprises et aux investissements dans le capital humain en mettant en place les cadres législatifs et juridiques qui facilitent la croissance économique durable.

Environnement des donateurs et efficacité de l'aide

Un certain nombre de donateurs et d'institutions financières internationales participent à la promotion de la croissance économique durable en Ukraine. L'Agence américaine pour le développement international (USAID) cherche à développer la compétitivité du secteur privé en améliorant le contexte favorable aux entreprises, la capacité du secteur privé et le perfectionnement de la population active. Le Bureau du centre de l'entreprise privée internationale en Ukraine accorde un appui important aux associations de PME ukrainiennes.

L'UE aide les institutions publiques à renforcer leur capacité et appuie les réformes dans le contexte des conditions préalables à la mise en œuvre de l'Accord d'association UE-Ukraine et de l'Accord de libre-échange global. L'appui accordé aux institutions chargées de l'environnement propice aux milieux d'affaires constitue un élément important du travail. En 2011, l'Ukraine a adhéré au cadre de coopération prévu par la Loi sur la petite entreprise de l'UE et le pays obtient de l'aide technique pour la mettre en œuvre par l'entremise de l'OCDE, de la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement et de la Fondation européenne pour la formation.

Le Groupe de la Banque mondiale et la Société financière internationale (SFI) en particulier cherchent à améliorer l'environnement propice aux milieux d'affaires en Ukraine. La SFI fournit des services sur mesure pour améliorer et simplifier la réglementation, encourager et garder les investissements et aider à favoriser les marchés concurrentiels, la croissance économique et la création d'emplois.

La Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement (BERD) offre aux entreprises des services de conseil et de mentorat dans le contexte du mécanisme des services-conseils aux entreprises et du Programme de croissance des entreprises (PCE). Ces programmes visent avant tout à renforcer l'organisation, la gestion, les opérations, les ventes, le marketing et les finances des sociétés. La BERD contribue à la création d'une infrastructure durable de services-conseils aux entreprises, ainsi qu'à l'amélioration du contexte stratégique et réglementaire pour les milieux d'affaires grâce au dialogue stratégique. Dans le contexte de son Plan d'action sur les genres, la BERD appuie l'entrepreneuriat des femmes par des projets d'institutions financières qui ouvrent davantage l'accès au financement pour les PME possédées par une femme et pour les femmes entrepreneures, et s'attaque aux obstacles qui les empêchent d'obtenir du crédit, particulièrement en région rurale.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Regard sur l'éducation. Les indicateurs de l'OCDE 2010

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1