Internships and Volunteer Opportunities for Canadians Abroad

International Youth Internship Program and the International Aboriginal Youth Internships initiative

Are you thinking about going abroad and making a difference?

Canada has a proud tradition of supporting internships and volunteer opportunities in international development. The world needs pioneers who can think creatively about development challenges.

The International Youth Internship Program and International Aboriginal Youth Internships initiative offer unique opportunities for Canadian youth to acquire employment skills, gain valuable international experience and engage as global citizens.

The Volunteer Cooperation Program offers skilled Canadians of all ages the opportunity to share their expertise abroad and help fulfill development needs of local communities.

These three programs are delivered by Global Affairs Canada in collaboration with Canadian civil society organizations that support international development, an important element of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy.

Find out more about the programs and how you can get involved.

2018-2021

Figure 1 - Canadian Bar Association, IYIP Program
 

The International Youth Internship Program (IYIP) offers more than 1,200 Canadian post-secondary graduates between the ages of 19 and 30, the opportunity to gain professional experience in international development, and acquire the skills and knowledge that will prepare them for future employment. Participants will help to reduce poverty, promote human rights and increase sustainable development in 44 countries, while making a valuable contribution to Canada’s feminist international development efforts.

2018-2022

Figure 2 - VIDEA, IAYI initiative
 

The International Aboriginal Youth Internships (IAYI) initiative offers more than 500 Indigenous Canadian youth between the ages of 18 and 35, the opportunity to gain professional experience in international development, and acquire the skills and knowledge that will prepare them for future employment or to further their studies. Participants will help to reduce poverty, promote human rights and increase sustainable development in 16 countries while making a valuable contribution to Canada’s feminist international development efforts.

2015-2020

Figure 3 - Uniterra, a WUSC and CECI Program, VCP
 

The Volunteer Cooperation Program (VCP) offers more than 11,000 Canadian volunteers from all walks of life, the opportunity to lend their skills and expertise to local partners in close to 50 developing countries. In partnership with Canadian organizations, these volunteer placements help to deliver sustainable development results in response to the needs of local communities.

Find out which organizations are recruiting in your country of interest

Click on a country to see which organizations are currently working there through the IYIP, the IAYI or the VCP programs.

IYIP Countries
IAYI Countries
VCP Countries

Discover what former interns and volunteers have to say about their experience

Milaine, SUCO

Milaine participated in a six-month IYIP internship with SUCO in rural Senegal. Working with the local organization AGRECOL Afrique, she applied her knowledge and management skills to strengthening organic agricultural practices in rural communities. Milaine went on to participate as a VCP volunteer with SUCO.

Aboriginal Youth Interns Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean

Audrey, Samuël, Érica-Daphné and Gabrielle are former interns with the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean international solidarity centre. They participated in an Indigenous solidarity project with youth in Ecuador and gained valuable experience in such fields as sustainable agriculture and fair trade.

Noah, EQWIP HUBs

Noah volunteered with the joint Canada World Youth and Youth Challenge International EQWIP HUBs project in El Alto, Bolivia. Working as a facilitation and training assistant, he provided entrepreneurship training, taught market-relevant skills, and helped to prepare Bolivian youth for future careers in business.

Date Modified:

Possibilités de stages et de coopération volontaire à l'étranger pour les Canadiens

Le Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes et l’initiative de Stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones

Envisagez-vous partir à l’étranger pour faire une différence?

Le Canada a toujours été fier d’appuyer des occasions de stage et de coopération volontaire dans le domaine du développement international. Le monde a besoin de pionniers capables de relever de manière créative les défis du développement.

Le Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes et l'initiative de Stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones offrent aux jeunes Canadiens des occasions uniques d'acquérir des compétences professionnelles et une expérience significative à l’internationale, ainsi que de s'engager en tant que citoyens du monde.

Le Programme de coopération volontaire offre aux Canadiens qualifiés de tout âge l'occasion de partager leur expertise à l'étranger et de répondre aux besoins de développement de collectivités locales.

Ces trois programmes sont mis en œuvre par Affaires mondiales Canada en collaboration avec des organisations canadiennes de la société civile qui œuvrent dans le domaine du développement international, un élément important de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les programmes et découvrez comment y participer.

2018-2021

Figure 1 – L’AMIE, Programme PSIJ

Le Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes (PSIJ) offre à plus de 1200 diplômés postsecondaires canadiens l'occasion d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle en développement international ainsi que des compétences et des connaissances qui les prépareront à un emploi futur. Âgés de 19 à 30 ans, les stagiaires prennent part à des projets visant la réduction de la pauvreté, la promotion des droits de la personne et du développement durable dans 44 pays. Ces jeunes contribuent ainsi d’une manière significative aux initiatives du Canada en développement international féministe.

2018-2022

Figure 2 - VIDEA, Initiative SIJA
 

L'initiative de Stages internationaux pour les jeunes Autochtones (SIJA) offre à plus de 500 jeunes Canadiens l'occasion d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle en développement international ainsi que des compétences et des connaissances qui les prépareront à un emploi futur ou à la poursuite de leurs études. Âgés de 18 à 35 ans, les stagiaires prennent part à des projets visant la réduction de la pauvreté, la promotion des droits de la personne et du développement durable dans 16 pays. Ces jeunes contribuent ainsi d’une manière significative aux initiatives du Canada en développement international féministe.

2015-2020

Figure 3 - Uniterra, un programme de l’EUMC et du CECI, Programme de coopération volontaire

Le Programme de coopération volontaire (PCV) offre à plus de 11 000 volontaires canadiens de tous les horizons la possibilité de mettre leurs compétences et leur expertise à la disposition de partenaires locaux dans près de 50 pays en développement. Présentées en partenariat avec des organisations canadiennes, ces occasions de coopération volontaire contribuent à produire des résultats en matière de développement durable pour faire face aux besoins des collectivités locales.

Découvrez quelles organisations recrutent dans votre pays d'intérêt

Cliquez sur un pays pour voir quelles organisations y travaillent actuellement à travers les programmes PSIJ, SIJA ou PCV.

Pays PSIJ
Pays SIJA
Pays PCV

Découvrez ce que d’anciens stagiaires et volontaires ont à dire sur leur expérience

Milaine, SUCO

Milaine a participé à un stage de six mois dans les régions rurales du Sénégal dans le cadre du projet PSIJ avec SUCO. En collaboration avec l'organisation locale AGRECOL Afrique, elle a appliqué ses connaissances et ses compétences en gestion pour renforcer les pratiques agricoles biologiques dans les communautés rurales. Milaine a ensuite participé en tant que volontaire PCV avec SUCO.

Jeunes stagiaires autochtones, Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean

Audrey, Samuël, Érica-Daphné et Gabrielle sont d'anciens stagiaires du Centre de solidarité internationale Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean. Ils ont participé à un projet de solidarité autochtone avec des jeunes en Équateur et ont acquis une riche expérience dans des domaines tels que l'agriculture durable et le commerce équitable.

Noah, CARREFOURs EQWIP

Noah a participé à un des projets CARREFOURs EQWIP en tant que coopérant volontaire. Ces projets sont mis sur pied grâce à l’alliance entre Jeunesse Canada Monde et Youth Challenge International. Travaillant comme assistant en facilitation et en formation à El Alto, en Bolivie, il a offert une formation en entrepreneuriat, a transmis des compétences pertinentes au marché bolivien et a aidé à préparer de jeunes Boliviens à de futures carrières dans le monde des affaires.

Date de modification: