Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Christopher MacLennan

On February 7, 2020, the Prime Minister appointed Christopher MacLennan as the Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs.  Prior to this, Mr. MacLennan was the Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) for Global Issues and Development at Global Affairs Canada.  In that role, he led on Canada’s development assistance efforts through multilateral and global partners, humanitarian assistance and priority foreign policy relationships with the United Nations, the Commonwealth and La Francophonie.  In addition to this, Mr. MacLennan served concurrently as Canada’s G7 foreign affairs sous-sherpa.

Previously, Mr. MacLennan was acting Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet for Priorities and Planning and ADM of Policy Innovation at the Privy Council Office. Prior to that, Mr. MacLennan was Director General for Health and Nutrition at Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.  Mr. MacLennan led the team that organized the Prime Minister’s Saving Every Woman, Every Child Summit on maternal, newborn and child health (MNCH) in 2014.  This work followed his previous role on the G8 Muskoka Initiative on MNCH in 2010.  Prior to this, Mr. MacLennan worked in various capacities at the Canadian International Development Agency, Environment Canada and Human Resources and Skills Development Canada.

Mr. MacLennan holds a Ph.D. from Western University specializing in constitutional development and international human rights and has written numerous publications including Toward the Charter: Canadians and the Demand for a National Bill of Rights, 1929-1960.

Date Modified:

Sous-ministre délégué des Affaires étrangères

Christopher MacLennan

Le 7 février 2020, le premier ministre a nommé Christopher MacLennan au poste de sous-ministre délégué des Affaires étrangères. Auparavant, M. MacLennan a occupé le poste de sous-ministre adjoint, Enjeux mondiaux et développement, à Affaires mondiales Canada. À ce titre, il a dirigé les efforts déployés par le Canada en matière d’aide au développement par l’intermédiaire de partenaires multilatéraux et mondiaux, les initiatives canadiennes relatives à l’aide humanitaire, ainsi que les relations prioritaires du pays au chapitre de la politique étrangère avec les Nations Unies, le Commonwealth et la Francophonie. M. MacLennan a également agi à titre de sous-sherpa des Affaires étrangères du G7 pour le Canada.

Antérieurement, M. MacLennan a assumé les fonctions de secrétaire adjoint par intérim du Cabinet, Priorités et planification, ainsi que celles de sous-ministre adjoint de l’innovation en matière de politiques au Bureau du Conseil privé. Préalablement, il a été directeur général, Santé et nutrition, à Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada. M. MacLennan a dirigé l’équipe qui a organisé le sommet du premier ministre sur la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants (SMNE), intitulé Sauver chaque femme, chaque enfant, en 2014. Ces responsabilités s’inscrivaient dans la continuité du rôle précédent qu’il a joué dans le cadre de l’initiative du G8 de Muskoka sur la SMNE, en 2010. Par ailleurs, M. MacLennan a occupé différents postes à l’Agence canadienne de développement international, à Environnement Canada ainsi qu’à Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada.

M. MacLennan est titulaire d’un doctorat de l’Université Western, avec spécialisation en développement constitutionnel et en droit international en matière de droits de la personne. Il a publié plusieurs ouvrages, dont Toward the Charter: Canadians and the Demand for a National Bill of Rights, 1929-1960.

Date de modification: