History of Global Affairs Canada

Canada owes much to its diplomats. For the first few decades after Confederation, Great Britain handled Canada’s international responsibilities, but the new country soon needed its own foreign ministry. On June 1, 1909, the new Department of External Affairs opened its doors with a handful of employees in a poky office above a barbershop in downtown Ottawa, Ontario.

As Canada shed its colonial legacy, the department grew apace, periodically transforming itself to reflect the changing international context and the country’s evolving foreign-policy priorities. By the 1930s, Canada had diplomatic posts in London, Paris, Washington, Tokyo and Geneva. Following the Second World War, Canada’s reach became increasingly global, reflecting its postwar commitment to an active internationalism.

After the department merged with the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service in 1982, its operations and mandate expanded in new directions, as seen through its renaming over the years:

  • External Affairs and International Trade Canada (1989 to 1995)
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (1995 to 2013)
  • Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (2013 to 2015), which reflects the department’s amalgamation with the Canadian International Development Agency
  • Global Affairs Canada (2015 to –)

The transformation of the department from little more than a glorified post office into a modern foreign, trade and development ministry has mirrored Canada’s own maturing role in the global community. Throughout the years, the men and women of the department have worked to create a sophisticated foreign service that is capable—in the words of Canada’s most famous diplomat, Lester B. Pearson—of “punching above its weight.”

What are you looking for?

Ministers

Our ministers including their years in office

Deputy ministers

“Punching Above Our Weight”

Canada and the World

A history of Canadian Foreign Policy

Throughout the decades

A photographic timeline of events

Heads of posts abroad

Our heads of posts abroad since 1880

Documents on external relations

Notable diplomat

Ken Taylor and the Canadian Caper

Date Modified:

Histoire d’Affaires mondiales Canada

Le Canada doit beaucoup à ses diplomates. Pendant les premières décennies qui ont suivi la Confédération, la plupart des responsabilités internationales du Canada étaient assumées par la Grande-Bretagne. Cependant, ce jeune pays qu’était le Canada a vite senti le besoin d’avoir son propre ministère chargé des affaires étrangères. Le 1er juin 1909, doté de quelques employés, le nouveau ministère des Affaires extérieures a donc vu le jour dans des locaux exigus situés au-dessus d’un salon de coiffure pour hommes, au centre-ville d’Ottawa, en Ontario.

À mesure que le Canada s’affranchissait de son statut de colonie, le Ministère se transformait selon l’évolution du contexte international et des priorités de la politique étrangère du pays. Dans les années 1930, le Canada avait ses propres missions diplomatiques à Londres, Paris, Washington, Tokyo et Genève. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, son influence s’étendit progressivement sur la scène internationale, mettant en évidence son engagement en faveur d’un internationalisme actif.

Après la fusion du Ministère avec le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada en 1982, ses opérations et son mandat se sont ouverts à de nouveaux horizons, comme le montrent les changements de nom du Ministère au fil des ans :

  • Affaires extérieures et Commerce extérieur Canada (de 1989 à 1995)
  • Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (de 1995 à 2013)
  • Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (de 2013 à 2015), lequel tient compte de la fusion du Ministère avec l’Agence canadienne de développement international
  • Affaires mondiales Canada (depuis 2015)

Le Ministère, qui n’était guère plus qu’un bureau de poste de prestige à ses débuts, est devenu un ministère moderne chargé des affaires étrangères, du commerce et du développement, à l’image du rôle bien établi que le Canada joue au sein de la communauté internationale. Au fil des ans, les femmes et les hommes à l’emploi du Ministère n’ont cessé de travailler à la création d’un service extérieur compétent, qui est capable de « jouer dans la cour des grands », selon l’expression du plus célèbre diplomate canadien, Lester B. Pearson.

Que cherchez-vous?

Ministres

Sous-ministres

« Jouer dans la cour des grands »

Le Canada dans le monde

Au cours des décennies

Une chronologie en photos

Chefs de mission à l’étranger

Documents relatifs aux relations extérieures

Diplomate éminent

Ken Taylor et les évadés d'Iran

Date de modification: