The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, MP

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Represents the riding of Saint-Maurice—Champlain

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne was elected the Member of Parliament for Saint-Maurice—Champlain on October 19, 2015.

Businessman, lawyer and international trade specialist, Minister Champagne has more than 20 years of experience at large international companies in Europe, particularly in the fields of energy, engineering, and innovation.

Minister Champagne earned an LLB and LLM in American law from the Université de Montréal and Case Western Reserve University respectively. During his legal education, Minister Champagne also studied public and private international law at The Hague Academy of International Law in the Netherlands.

He was Vice-President and Senior Counsel of ABB Group, a leader in cutting-edge technology that operates in more than 100 countries. Later, he served as Strategic Development Director, acting General Counsel, and Chief Ethics Officer and Member of the Group Management Committee of AMEC Foster Wheeler, a world leader in the energy sector.

In 2009, Minister Champagne was named Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum. He has also served on several boards over the years and was notably President of the Canadian-Swiss Chamber of Commerce and the Banff Forum.

After his election in 2015, Minister Champagne served as a parliamentary secretary to the Minister of Finance until 2017, when he was appointed Minister of International Trade. During his time as Minister of International Trade, CETA, the Canada – EU trade agreement, entered into force and Canada signed the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). In 2018, he was named Minister of Infrastructure and Communities, overseeing the federal government’s ambitious, $187 billion infrastructure investment plan.

Re-elected on October 21, 2019, Minister Champagne currently serves as Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs

Date Modified:

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne, député

Ministre des Affaires étrangères

Représente la circonscription de Saint-Maurice–Champlain

L’honorable François-Philippe Champagne a été élu député de Saint-Maurice—Champlain le 19 octobre 2015.

Homme d’affaires, avocat et spécialiste du commerce international, le ministre Champagne possède plus de 20 ans d’expérience au sein de grandes entreprises internationales en Europe, plus particulièrement dans les domaines de l’énergie, de l’ingénierie et de l’innovation.

Le ministre Champagne a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit et une maîtrise en droit américain de l'Université de Montréal et de l'Université Case Western Reserve, respectivement. Au cours de sa formation juridique, le ministre Champagne a également étudié le droit international public et privé à l'Académie de droit international de La Haye, aux Pays-Bas.

Il a été vice-président et avocat principal du Groupe ABB, un chef de file dans la technologie de pointe qui mène des activités dans plus de 100 pays. Il a ensuite occupé les postes de directeur du développement stratégique, d’avocat général par intérim et de membre du comité de direction d’AMEC Foster Wheeler, un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de l’énergie.

En 2009, le ministre Champagne a été nommé jeune leader mondial par le Forum économique mondial. Au fil des ans, il a également siégé à plusieurs conseils d'administration et il a été notamment président de la Chambre de commerce canado-suisse et du Banff Forum.

Après son élection en 2015, le ministre Champagne a exercé les fonctions de secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances jusqu'en 2017, date à laquelle il a été nommé ministre du Commerce international. Pendant qu'il était ministre du Commerce international, l’AECG, l'accord commercial entre le Canada et l'Union européenne, est entré en vigueur et le Canada a signé l'Accord global et progressif pour le partenariat transpacifique (PTPGP). En 2018, il a été nommé ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités, supervisant l’ambitieux plan du gouvernement fédéral de plus de 187 milliards de dollars en matière d'investissement dans l'infrastructure.

Réélu le 21 octobre 2019, le ministre Champagne est actuellement ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada.

Date de modification: