Results around the world – Afghanistan

Afghanistan is a deeply fragile and conflict-affected state. Ongoing conflict for over 35 years has had a destabilizing effect on social cohesion, exacerbating ethnic divisions and weakening government institutions and rule of law. Poverty is deep and widespread, and social indicators are still at very low levels.

Despite significant improvements since 2001, Afghan women still face huge challenges and violence against women is pervasive. Patriarchal society strictly controls the life of a vast majority of Afghan women. This results in restricted freedom of movement and limited access to education, health care, justice and employment.

Integrated into all Canadian programming in Afghanistan is a “Women’s and Girls’ Rights First” approach. Canada supports programming that:

Further, Canada supports the Government of Afghanistan in its efforts to eliminate all known landmines and other explosive remnants of war from Afghanistan by 2023. This is in line with its commitments under the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention. In addition, Canada supports needs-based, gender-responsive humanitarian action to help save lives , alleviate suffering and support the dignity of those affected by crises.

Key results

Date Modified:

Résultats dans le monde – Afghanistan

L’Afghanistan est un État extrêmement fragile et touché par les conflits. Le conflit en cours, qui dure depuis plus de 35 ans, a eu un effet déstabilisant sur la cohésion sociale; il a exacerbé les divisions ethniques et affaibli les institutions gouvernementales et l’état de droit. La pauvreté est grande et généralisée, et les indicateurs sociaux sont encore à des niveaux très faibles.

Malgré des améliorations importantes depuis 2001, les femmes afghanes sont toujours confrontées à d’énormes défis, et la violence à leur endroit est omniprésente. La société patriarcale contrôle strictement la vie de la grande majorité des femmes afghanes. Il en résulte une liberté de mouvement restreinte et un accès limité à l’éducation, aux soins de santé, à la justice et à l’emploi.

L’approche axée sur les droits des femmes et des filles d’abord est intégrée à toutes les activités du programme canadien en Afghanistan. Le Canada soutient les activités qui :

De plus, le Canada appuie le gouvernement de l’Afghanistan dans ses efforts pour éliminer toutes les mines terrestres et autres restes explosifs de guerre connus de l’Afghanistan d’ici 2023. Ces efforts sont conformes à ses engagements au titre de la Convention sur l’interdiction des mines antipersonnel. De plus, le Canada appuie les actions humanitaires fondées sur les besoins et sexospécifiques afin de sauver des vies, d’alléger les souffrances et de soutenir la dignité des personnes touchées par les crises.

Principaux résultats

Date de modification: